About the AOC

The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) provides Nevada's court system with the programs and skills required to provide all Nevadan's with timely and efficient justice. The AOC provides continuity and improvement in the Nevada judiciary through:

  • Continuously examining the processes and effectiveness of the Judicial Branch.
  • Providing leadership in ensuring access to timely and cost effective justice in the State Courts.
  • Implementing policy goals set forth by the Supreme Court and aiding the Court in fulfilling its role as the leader of an independent and co-equal branch of government.

Legislative action in 1973 and 1975, and subsequent approval by Nevadans in the 1976 general election, amended Article 6 of the Nevada Constitution to give administrative control of the courts to the Judicial Branch. The 1977 Legislature approved funding of the AOC and tasked it to provide data processing, gather court statistics, and provide fiscal and personnel administration.

On June 29, 1977, Chief Justice Cameron M. Batjer joined Justices John C. Mowbray, G.R. Thompson, E.M. Gunderson, and Noel Manoukian, in appointing John C. De Graff, Esq. as the first director of the AOC. Besides De Graff, William M. Brown served as deputy director, David R. Frank, Esq. served as legal advisor, and Lynn Baker served as programs coordinator.

From a staff of four in 1977, the Administrative Office of the Courts has grown into an organization today of more than 60 professionals providing support to Nevada's judiciary. The AOC develops and maintains information technology essential for managing courts, provides judicial education, trains and certifies court interpreters, and manages programs designed to improve access to justice, provide family permanency, and achieve conflict resolution. Katherine Stocks serves as the current director and state court administrator.