7 Attorneys Apply to Fill Vacancy in the Eighth Judicial District

January 11, 2024

Chief Justice Elissa Cadish announced this afternoon the Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection received 7 applications from individuals who wish to fill the judicial opening in Department 27 of the Eighth Judicial District Court.

This Commission will nominate a panel of three to fill the vacancy. Department 27 is vacant through the resignation of the Honorable Nancy Allf in January of this year. The applicants in alphabetical order are as follows:

Eighth Judicial District Department 27



City of Residence


Job Title

David Reed Clayson


Las Vegas

David Reed Clayson

Short Trial Judge, Arbitrator and Mediator

Tracy Ip Hibbetts


Las Vegas

Office of the District Attorney, Clark County

Chief Deputy District Attorney

Alexandra McCleod


Las Vegas

Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker

Of Counsel

Erika Mendoza


Las Vegas

Clark County District Attorneys Office- Gun Crimes Unit

Chief Deputy District Attorney

Robert Allen Stephens


Las Vegas

Clark County District Attorneys Office

Chief Deputy District Attorney

Timothy P. Thomas


Las Vegas

Law Office of Timothy P. Thomas, LLC

Managing Member

Steven Morris


Boulder City

Steven L. Morris, Ltd.


Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience, including two years of Nevada practice were encouraged to apply for the opening.  Interviews to fill this vacancy will be held in mid- February, in Las Vegas. Interviews will be streamed live through the Supreme Court’s YouTube channel and are open to the public. After the interviews, the Commission will nominate three finalists to Governor Joe Lombardo.

The Commission is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party and cannot appoint two members from the same county. For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.