The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection named three finalists to fill the open seat in Dept. 29 of the Eighth Judicial District Court, Chief Justice Ron D. Parraguirre announced.

Mark L. Gentile, David M. Jones, and Esther C. RodriguezMark L. Gentile, David M. Jones, and Esther C. Rodriguez

The nominees were selected following interviews by the Commission Oct. 24-25, 2016 in Las Vegas. The names of the finalists have been sent to Governor Brian Sandoval, who will appoint the new judge from those named on the list.

The Commission’s three nominees for the open position, in alphabetical order, are:

Eighth Judicial District Court - Department 29

  • Mark L. Gentile, 56, Attorney, Gentile Law Group
  • David M. Jones, 50, Attorney, David M. Jones, Esq.
  • Esther C. Rodriguez, 50, Attorney, Rodriguez Law Offices, P.C.

A total of eight attorneys submitted applications for the vacancy. Applicants have to be Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience, two of those in Nevada. The vacancy follows the death of District Judge Susan W. Scann.

The Commission’s interviews were open to the public. Two public comment periods were provided to anyone interested in providing input to the Commission.

In selecting the finalists, the Commission considered the applicants’ interviews along with information in comprehensive applications about education, law practice, business involvement, community involvement, and professional and personal conduct. The Commission also considered letters of reference and public statements during the interview process.

The Commission is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county.

For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.

State Court Administrator Robin Sweet
Administrative Office of the Courts