Commission on Judicial Selection to Decide Next Steps

The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection announced this afternoon only one person filed an application to fill the judicial vacancy in the Second Judicial District Court, Dept. 2, made vacant by the appointment in November of Judge Egan Walker to the Second Judicial District Court, Dept. 7.

The lone applicant is Dixie Grossman, 42, a court master in the Second Judicial District Court – Family Division.

The Commission has scheduled a Feb. 14, 2018 meeting to determine the next steps. The options, according to the Commission rules, are interview Ms. Grossman before forwarding her name to Governor Brian Sandoval, forward her name to the Governor without an interview, or start the judicial selection process again and seek other applicants.

Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience and two years of Nevada residency were eligible to apply.

The Supreme Court website at: contains Ms. Grossman’s application. Confidential information, such as medical records and personal identification information, has been redacted.

Interviews to fill the vacant position were tentatively scheduled for March 12 and March 13, if necessary, at the Nevada Supreme Court in Carson City. If an interview of Ms. Grossman proceeds, the process will be open to the public.

The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county.

Commission Members:

  • Justice Michael L. Douglas, Carson City, Supreme Court Chief Justice, Chair (Constitutional appointee) 
  • Valerie Cooney, Carson City, past executive director, Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans (State Bar appointee) 
  • Jeffrey Gilbert, Henderson, veteran gaming executive (Governor appointee) 
  • Jesse Gutierrez, Sparks, former executive director, Nevada Hispanic Services (Governor appointee) 
  • Gregory Kamer, Esq., Las Vegas, attorney, Kramer Zuker Abbott (State Bar appointee) 
  • Jasmine Mehta, Esq., Reno, Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners (State Bar appointee) 
  • Leslie Williams, Schurz, Division Director Finance and Administration, Washoe County Social Services (Governor appointee)

For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.

Temporary Commission Members:

  • Wendy Damonte, Reno, Vice President of Advocacy and Community Partnership, Renown Hospital (Governor appointee) 
  • Rost Olsen, Sparks, staff attorney, Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans (State Bar appointee)