The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection has received nine applications for consideration to fill the vacancy in the Supreme Court, Seat G, resulting from the retirement of Justice Nancy M. Saitta.

The applicants for the open seat are:

  • Michael Edward Buckley, 66, Las Vegas, Attorney
  • Elissa F. Cadish, 52, Las Vegas, Judge
  • Harriet E. Cummings, 56, Carson City, Attorney
  • Chris William Davis, 56, Las Vegas, Attorney
  • Mark Ralph Denton, 65, Las Vegas, Judge
  • Susan Holland Johnson, 57, Henderson, Judge
  • Michael King Powell, 68, Gardnerville, Attorney
  • Lidia S. Stiglich, 46, Reno, Judge
  • Paul Gordon Taggart, 50, Washoe Valley, Attorney

The appointment process is open to all Nevada attorneys with two years of residency and 15 years of legal experience. The next step is for the Commission to conduct background investigations, accept public comment, and interview each of the applicants.

All of the applications, with the exceptions of medical records and personal identification information, will be available within the next few days on the Supreme Court website at:

The Commission invites written public comments about the qualifications of the applicants. As noted in the rules of the Commission on Judicial Selection, letters may remain confidential if requested by the letter writer; however, the contents may be discussed with the applicant during executive session. Anonymous letters may not be considered at the discretion of the Commissioners.

Submit written comments regarding the applicants by 5 p.m. on October 14 to:

Robin Sweet Secretary
Commission on Judicial Selection

Nevada Supreme Court
201 S. Carson St., Suite 250
Carson City, Nevada, 89701

The Commission will deliberate and nominate three finalists for each open seat. Those names will be submitted to Governor Brian Sandoval for the appointment.

The Commission is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county. No temporary members are selected for this statewide position.