The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection has made applications available for attorneys interested in filling judicial seats currently open in Clark County’s Eighth Judicial District Court, Departments 6, 9, and G.

Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience and two years of Nevada residency are encouraged to apply for the opening. Applications are due by 5 p.m., February 8, 2019, and can be found at

The openings are the result of the retirements of the Honorable Jennifer P. Togliatti and the Honorable Cynthia Dianne Steel, and the election of the Honorable Elissa F. Cadish to the Nevada Supreme Court.

Pursuant to Commission Rules, applicants can only apply for one judicial opening and must indicate their choice on the application. Applicants cannot change departments once they have applied.

Interviews to fill the vacant position are scheduled for March 11-13 (as necessary), at the Nevada Supreme Court Building in Las Vegas, and will be open to the public.

Following the application deadline, the Commission will conduct background investigations and interview each of the applicants. The Commission will then deliberate and nominate up to three finalists for each opening to Governor Steve Sisolak.

The Commission is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county.

For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.