A total of six attorneys have applied to the Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection to fill the open judicial seat in Dept. 1 of the Second Judicial District Court in Reno. The applicants seek to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Janet J. Berry.

The applicants for the open judicial seat are:

  • Wesley Ayres, 57, Reno, Second Judicial District Court
  • Richard F. Cornell, 64, Reno, Law Offices of Richard F. Cornell
  • Kathleen Drakulich, 56, Reno, McDonald Carano
  • James Keller, 45, Reno, United States Attorney Office
  • Douglas R. Rands, 58, Reno, Rands, South and Gardner
  • Gregory Shannon, 61, Reno, Second Judicial District Court

Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience and two years of Nevada residency were eligible to apply for the judgeship. Applicants furnished resumes and confidential information. The Commission will now direct background investigations, accept public comment, and interview each of the applicants.

The applications, with the exceptions of confidential information such as medical records and personal identification information, may be viewed on the Supreme Court website at: http://nvcourts.link/NVJudicialSelection. Interviews to fill the vacant position are tentatively scheduled for the week of June 19, at the Nevada Supreme Court in Carson City, and will be open to the public.

Public comments about the applicant qualifications and letters supporting a candidate are sought prior to the interviews. Commission rules allow letters to remain confidential if requested by the letter writer. However, the Commission may discuss the contents of the letter with the applicant during executive session. Anonymous letters may not be considered at the discretion of the Commissioners.

Submit written comments by 5 p.m. on June 9, 2017 to:

Ms. Robin Sweet
Secretary, Commission on Judicial Selection
Nevada Supreme Court
201 S. Carson St., Suite 250
Carson City, Nevada, 89701

Once the interviews are complete, the Commission will consider and recommend three finalists, whose names will be submitted to Governor Brian Sandoval for the appointment.

Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection

The Commission is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county.

Commission Members:

  • Justice Michael A. Cherry, Carson City, Supreme Court Chief Justice, Chair (Constitutional appointee)
  • Valerie Cooney, Carson City, past executive director, Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans (State Bar appointee) 
  • Jeffrey Gilbert, Henderson, veteran gaming executive (Governor appointee) 
  • Jesse Gutierrez, Sparks, former executive director, Nevada Hispanic Services (Governor appointee) 
  • Gregory Kamer, Esq., Las Vegas, attorney, Kramer Zuker Abbott (State Bar appointee) 
  • Jasmine Mehta, Esq., Reno, Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners (State Bar appointee) 
  • Leslie Williams, Schurz, administrative assistant for Washoe County Senior Services (Governor appointee)

For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.