With the appointment of the Honorable Egan Walker to the Second Judicial District Court, Dept. 7, a vacancy now exists in the Second Judicial District Court, Dept. 2. The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection will accept applications for this judicial opening until Feb. 2, 2018. Application materials can be found at http://nvcourts.link/NVJudicialSelection.

Nevada attorneys with 10 years of legal experience and two years of Nevada residency are eligible to apply. In addition to the applications, the Commission will direct background investigations, accept public comment, and interview each of the applicants.

Judge Walker was appointed last year to Dept. 7 by Governor Brian Sandoval following the death of Judge Patrick Flanagan.

Interviews to fill the vacant position are scheduled for March 11 and, if necessary, March 12 at the Nevada Supreme Court in Carson City. Interviews for each applicant will be open to the public. Once the interviews are complete, the Commission will consider and recommend three finalists, whose names will be submitted to Governor Sandoval for the appointment.

The Commission invites written public comments about the applicant qualifications. Commission rules allow letters to remain confidential if requested by the letter writer. However, the Commission may discuss the contents of the letter with the applicant during executive session. Anonymous letters may not be considered at the discretion of the Commissioners.

Submit written comments regarding the applicants by 5 p.m. on March 9 to:

Ms. Robin Sweet
Secretary, Commission on Judicial Selection
Nevada Supreme Court
201 S. Carson St., Suite 250
Carson City, Nevada, 89701-4702

The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection is composed of seven permanent members – the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county. For District Court vacancies, two temporary members are appointed from the judicial district where the vacancy occurs – a non-attorney by the Governor and an attorney by the State Bar – bringing the Commission membership to nine.