Commission on Juvenile Justice Reform

Status: Inactive

Years  Active: 2012 -2015

Mission:  comprehensive evaluation of the juvenile justice system, focusing on optimizing facility organization, resource allocation, and judicial protocols to enhance effectiveness and prioritize funding.

The Commission on Statewide Juvenile Justice Reform commenced its substantive review of the juvenile justice system in Nevada by studying Nevada’s deep end commitment system of placement. The Commission studied and evaluated the continuum of care, including the possible reorganization of Nevada’s correctional commitment facilities to determine whether smaller, regional facilities were most effective and assessed whether limiting state commitments to the most seriously offending youth should be considered. It cataloged the availability and needs of regional based facilities and programs; redirected more state commitment funds to community-based services and commitment alternatives; implemented judicial protocols for entry of findings and reviews addressing least restrictive placements and reasonable efforts findings; and identified long-term funding stabilization plans to prioritize juvenile justice funding in the State of Nevada.

The Honorable James Hardesty
Nevada Supreme Court
The Honorable Nancy Saitta
Nevada Supreme Court
The Honorable Adam Laxalt
Office of Attorney General
The Honorable Steve Dobrescu 
Seventh Judicial District Court
The Honorable Alvin Kacin
Fourth Judicial District Court
The Honorable Thomas Stockard 
Tenth Judicial District Court
The Honorable William O. Voy 
Eighth Judicial District Court
The Honorable Egan Walker
Second Judicial District Court
The Honorable James E. Wilson, Jr. 
First Judicial District Court
The Honorable Nathan Tod Young
Ninth Judicial District Court
Ross Armstrong 
Department of Child and Family Services 
Ben Bianchi
Carson City Juvenile Services
Frank Cervantes
Washoe County Department of Juvenile Services
Brigid Duffy
Clark County District Attorney's Office
Lynette Gust
White Pine County Juvenile Probation Department
Assemblyman John Hambrick
Nevada Legislature
Lawrence Howell
Rite of Passage
James Kingera 
Nevada Youth Parole Bureau
Coleen Lawrence 
Department of Health and Human Services 
Jack Martin 
Clark County Juvenile Services
Carlos McDade 
Clark County School District
E.K. McDaniel 
Nevada Department of Corrections     
Tom Metscher
Esmeralda/Nye County Juvenile Probation
Assemblyman James Ohrenschall
Nevada Legislature
Michael Pedersen 
Elko County Juvenile Probation Department
Michael Pomi 
The Children’s Cabinet
Tami Richardson
Churchill County Juvenile Probation Department
Susan Roske 
Clark County Public Defender’s Office
Pauline Salla 
Humboldt County Juvenile Probation Department 
Roger W. Sayre 
Lyon County Juvenile Probation Department
Kevin Schiller
Office of the County Manager - Washoe County
Curtis Schlepp
Mineral County Juvenile Probation
Scott Shick 
Douglas County Juvenile Probation Department
Ryan Sullivan 
Washoe County Public Defender’s Office
Jeff Wells 
County Manager’s Office-Clark County
Holly Welborn 
American Civil Liberties Union of Nevada 
Jo Lee Wickes 
Washoe County District Attorney’s Office
Administrative Office of the Court Staff  
Vicki Elefante 
Administrative Office of the Courts
John McCormick
Administrative Office of the Courts