Commission on Judicial Selection Reopens Vacancy for Clark County Judicial Position

LAS VEGAS, NV, February 8, 2023 – Today, the Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection conducted interviews of the four applicants for Department C. After multiple ballots the Commission was unable to reach a majority as to three names to submit to the Governor and the Chair declared an impasse. Pursuant to Rule 9.D.4, the Commission voted unanimously to disqualify all applicants and begin the application and selection process anew. The Commission will provide updates on the vacancy in Department C through its website and via press release.

Today’s meeting was part of a series of nominating processes. The Commission convened yesterday and selected three nominees for Department 7. The Commission will convene over the next two days to interview 19 more applicants for vacancies in Departments 29, N, and O.


About the Commission on Judicial Selection

The Nevada Commission on Judicial Selection is composed of seven permanent
members and two temporary members for each selection - the Supreme Court Chief Justice, three non-attorneys appointed by the Governor, and three attorneys appointed by the State Bar of Nevada. Neither the Governor nor the State Bar may appoint more than two permanent members from the same political party, and cannot appoint two members from the same county. During each Commission’s Selection process, two temporary members are appointed by the Governor and State Bar respectively. Temporary Commissions expire at the conclusion of each selection process.

To view the public portions of the judicial application or for more information on the Commission on Judicial Selection, please visit the Commission's webpage at

About the Nevada Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Nevada is the highest court of the Nevada Judicial branch. There are seven Justices on the court who serve six-year terms, with one Justice serving as Chief Justice. To learn more about Nevada’s judicial branch, visit

Emma Williams
The Ferraro Group