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Useful Contact Information 
 
Nevada Supreme Court: 
Administrative Office of the Courts 
201 South Carson Street, Suite 250 
Carson City, NV 89701 
775-684-1700 
775-684-1723 
www.nevadajudiciary.us 
 
Joan Neuffer 
Deputy Director Legal Division 
775-684-1701 
jneuffer@nvcourts.nv.gov 
 
R. Ben Graham 
Governmental Relations Advisory 
702-528-2677 
bengraham4@gmail.com 
 
John McCormick 
Rural Courts Coordinator 
775-687-9813 
jmccormick@nvcourts.nv.gov 
 
Child Welfare: 
Supreme Court, AOC 
CIP Program 
Sheryl Overstreet 
775-687-9809 
soverstreet@nvcourts.nv.gov 
 
NV Division of Child & Family Services 
4126 Technology Way, 3rd Floor  
Carson City, NV 89706  
775-684-4400             
774-684-4455 Fax 
www.dcfs.state.nv.us 
 
Common Interest Communities: 
NV Real Estate Ombudsman 
2501 East Sahara Avenue, Suite 202 
Las Vegas, Nevada 89104-4137 
702-486-4480 
Toll Free Phone 1-877-829-9907 
www.red.state.nv.us 

 
 
 
Construction Defect: 
Contractors’ Board 
Southern NV 
2310 Corporate Circle, Ste. 200 
Henderson, NV  89074  
702-486-1100  
702 486-1190 Fax  
 
Contractors’ Board 
Northern NV  
9670 Gateway Drive, Ste 100 
Reno, NV 89521  
775-688-1141 
775-688-1271 Fax 
www.nvcontractorsboard.com 
 
Consumer Protection/Fraud/Crime: 
Attorney General’s Office 
Northern NV 
100 N Carson St 
Carson City, NV 89701-4717 
(775) 684-1100 
  
Attorney General’s Office 
Southern NV 
555 E Washington Ave 
Suite 3900 
Las Vegas, NV 89101 
(702) 486-3420 
www.ag.state.nv.us 
 
NV. Dept. of Business and Industry 
702-486-7355 
www.fightfraud.nv.gov 
 
Domestic Violence: 
Supreme Court, AOC 
TPO Forms 
Sheila MacDonald 
775-687-9808 
smacdonald@nvcourts.nv.gov 
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NV Domestic Violence Ombudsman 
Kareen Prentice 
775-688-1872 
kprentice@ag.nv.gov 
 
Foreclosures: 
Supreme Court Foreclosure Mediation 
Program 
775-687-9816 (Northern Nevada) 
702-486-9380 (Southern Nevada) 
888-421-3004 (Only available from 
outside of the 702 area code) 
foreclose@nvcourts.nv.gov 
 
NV Dept. of Business and Industry 
Foreclosure Help 
702-486-2750 (Southern Nevada) 
211 (Statewide) 
www.foreclosurehelp.nv.gov 
www.nevada211.org 
 
Judicial Discipline: 
David Sarnowski 
P.O. Box 48 
Carson City, NV  89702 
775-687-4017 
775-687-3607 Fax 
ncjdinfo@judicial.state.nv.us 
 
Long Term Care: 
NV Long Term Care Ombudsman 
3416 Goni Road, Suite D-132 
Carson City, NV 89706 
775-687-4210 
775-687-4264 Fax 
dascc@adsd.nv.gov 
 
 
 
 
 

Retirement: 
PERS Northern NV: 775-687-4200  
 or 1-866-473-7768 
PERS Southern NV: 702-486-3900  
 
AOC Human Resources 
Kelly Engles 
775-684-1709 
kengles@nvcourts.nv.gov 
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Civil/Government Affairs 
 
Mental Health 
AB6 – Existing law prescribes the procedures for emergency admission to a mental health 
facility or hospital. (NRS 433A.145, 433A.150, 433A.160) Under existing law, a person with 
mental illness who voluntarily admits himself and whose status is changed to an emergency 
admission must not be detained more than 48 hours after the change in status is made. (NRS 
433A.145) Under existing law, a person who is alleged to be a person with mental illness must be 
released within 72 hours after an emergency admission. (NRS 433A.150) Sections 3 and 4 of this 
bill provide that a facility may continue to detain a person if a petition is filed by the end of the 
business day on which the 48 hours or 72 hours, whichever is applicable, expires.  
 Sections 1, 3 and 4 of this bill authorize the release of a person who is admitted 
under an emergency admission if a licensed physician on the medical staff of the mental 
health facility or hospital signs a certificate stating that the physician has examined the 
person and that the person is not a person with mental illness. 
 Section 5 of this bill changes the time before which a person alleged to be a person with a 
mental illness must be examined by one of certain enumerated medical professionals from before 
the person may be transported to before the person may be admitted to a public or private mental 
health facility under an emergency admission. Section 5 also requires a petition to be filed with a 
district court if a person with a mental illness must be held for more than 72 hours for the 
treatment of a medical condition, other than a psychiatric illness, before being admitted to a 
mental health facility. (NRS 433A.165) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=29 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Health Care/Physicians/Surgery Center 
Note:  Health issues, doctors, tests, procedures, and facilities dominated the headlines in Las 
Vegas for a number of months prior to the session.  Reno area facilities and doctors were not 
immune from the controversy. 
 Considerable time and energy was expended by the legislature in an effort to possible 
prevent a repeat of happenings that placed an great number of patients at risk, and certainly 
stressed over what many saw as irresponsible medical standards. 
 Following are legislative efforts to address those happenings, hopefully, with corrective 
measures. 
 
AB10 – Existing law prohibits a medical facility, physician or osteopathic physician from 
retaliating or discriminating against an employee who reports in good faith information 
concerning the conduct of a physician or osteopathic physician to the Board of Medical 
Examiners or the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine, reports in good faith a sentinel event to 
the Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services or cooperates or 
participates in good faith in an investigation or proceeding conducted by the Board of Medical 
Examiners, the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine or another governmental entity concerning 
the conduct or sentinel event. Existing law also prohibits such retaliation or discrimination against 
a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse or nursing assistant who refuses to provide nursing 
services that he does not have the knowledge, skill or experience to provide. (NRS 449.205, 
630.293, 633.505) Sections 1, 3 and 5 of this bill provide additional protection against 
retaliation or discrimination for a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse or nursing 
assistant who: (1) reports in good faith certain information or concerns regarding the safety 
of patients; or (2) refuses to engage in conduct which would violate his duty to protect 
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patients from actual or potential harm or which would subject him to disciplinary action by 
the State Board of Nursing. Sections 1, 3 and 5 also add a definition of “good faith.” 
 Existing law provides that an employee of a medical facility, physician or osteopathic 
physician or a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse or nursing assistant who is employed by 
or contracts to provide nursing services for the medical facility, physician or osteopathic 
physician may file an action in court based on retaliation or discrimination. (NRS 449.207, 
630.296, 633.507) Sections 2, 4 and 6 of this bill expand these provisions by authorizing the court 
in such an action to award compensatory damages, reimbursement of lost wages and benefits, 
attorney’s fees and punitive damages and to grant any equitable relief it considers appropriate. 
Sections 2, 4 and 6 also provide that the Attorney General or any district attorney of this State 
may bring a civil action in the name of the State of Nevada to recover a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each such act of retaliation or discrimination. 
 Existing law provides immunity from civil liability to physicians, homeopathic 
physicians and osteopathic physicians for providing certain information concerning an applicant 
for a license or a licensee in good faith to their licensing boards and others for the decisions or 
actions taken by them in good faith in response to information received by the board. (NRS 
630.364, 630A.540, 633.691)  
 Sections 4.3, 4.7 and 7 of this bill further prohibit the licensing board of a physician, 
homeopathic physician or osteopathic physician from taking any adverse action against a 
physician, homeopathic physician or osteopathic physician for disclosing a violation of any law, 
rule or regulation to a governmental entity or for cooperating with a governmental entity that is 
conducting an investigation, hearing or inquiry into such a violation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=33 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB196 – Existing law requires a person, state or local government or agency thereof to obtain a 
license to operate or maintain a medical facility, including a facility for refractive surgery. (NRS 
449.0151, 449.030) Existing administrative regulations of the State Board of Health exempt a 
licensed ophthalmologist from these requirements for licensure of a facility if the ophthalmologist 
provides other ophthalmological medical services in addition to surgical treatments for refractive 
errors of the eye. (NAC 449.4502)  
 Section 7 of this bill codifies into statute an exemption for certain licensed 
ophthalmologists who provide surgical procedures in addition to surgical treatments for 
refractive errors of the eye and adds a requirement that the ophthalmologist file an affidavit 
with the Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services attesting that he 
provides the additional surgical procedures. 
 Section 8 of this bill requires a facility for refractive surgery to ensure that: (1) all 
surgical treatments for refractive errors of the eye are performed by a licensed ophthalmologist; 
and (2) a licensed ophthalmologist is available for postoperative care if the medical needs of a 
patient necessitate the services of an ophthalmologist. 
 Section 9 of this bill authorizes the Health Division to issue an order to cease and desist 
upon belief that a person, state or local government or an agency thereof is operating a facility for 
refractive surgery without a license. Section 9 also provides that the Health Division may file an 
action in court for issuance of an injunction and imposition of a civil penalty. 
 Existing law authorizes an optometrist to, based upon the individual needs of a patient, 
collaborate with an ophthalmologist for the provision of care to the patient under certain 
conditions. (NRS 636.374) Section 13 of this bill adds to the conditions a requirement that the 
collaborating optometrist refer a patient back to the collaborating ophthalmologist, or another 
ophthalmologist in his absence, if the patient requires care by an ophthalmologist. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=400 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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SB268 – Section 2 of this bill: (1) allows a regulatory body to share information with other 
regulatory bodies and the Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services 
relating to public health concerns if the confidentiality of any shared information is maintained; 
and (2) allows a regulatory body and the Health Division to agree to conduct a joint investigation. 
 Section 3 of this bill establishes certain requirements for any member of a 
regulatory body who is not himself a licensee of that regulatory body. Section 4 of this bill 
exempts from protection under the Good Samaritan statutes any person who is performing 
community service as a result of disciplinary action by any regulatory body. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=736 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Identity Theft 
AB27 – Existing law provides that a person who is a victim of identity theft in this State may 
apply for an identity theft passport. (NRS 205.4651) This bill revises certain provisions 
concerning the identity theft passport to: (1) change the name from identity theft passport to 
identity theft program card; (2) revise the requirements concerning the filing of a signed written 
crime report by residents and nonresidents of this State; (3) clarify that an applicant must meet 
certain criteria before an identity theft program card may be issued; and (4) expand the types of 
agencies which may accept an application for an identity theft program card. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=90 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Administrative Hearings/Penalties/Fees 
AB28 - Existing law requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to conduct hearings under 
certain circumstances and further requires that certain hearings be conducted in the county in 
which the person who requests the hearing resides, unless the requester and the Department agree 
on a different location for the hearing. (NRS 483.448, 483.463, 483.470, 483.475, 484.387) This 
bill provides that, with regard to any hearing conducted by the Department: (1) the 
testimony of any party or witness may be taken by telephone, videoconference or other 
electronic means; and (2) the hearing may be conducted at any location so long as the 
hearing officer allows each party and witness to testify by telephone, videoconference or 
other electronic means. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=91 
Effective May 6, 2009 
 
AB87 – Existing law provides that, unless a specific statute provides for the collection of a debt 
owed to an agency of the Executive Branch of State Government, the collection of the debt is 
governed by the provisions of chapter 353C of NRS. (NRS 353C.090) Under existing law, an 
agency may engage in its own collection efforts using the procedures and remedies established by 
chapter 353C of NRS or the agency may request the State Controller to act as its collection agent 
for that purpose. (NRS 353C.195) Section 17 of this bill requires the State Controller to act as 
the collection agent for all agencies which do not have specific statutes concerning their debt 
collection or which have not obtained a waiver from the State Controller authorizing the 
agency to engage in its own collection efforts. 
 Accordingly, section 17 also requires all such agencies to assign their debts to the 
State Controller for collection within 60 days after the debt becomes past due or such other 
time agreed upon by the agency and the State Controller, unless the debtor has 
administratively contested the existence or amount of the debt. Finally, section 17 
authorizes an agency that has specific statutory authority to engage in its own collection 
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efforts to assign a debt to the State Controller for collection or to exercise in its own debt 
collection efforts the additional rights and remedies conferred on the State Controller to 
collect debts. (NRS 353C.195)  
 Section 11 of this bill increases the threshold amount of debt for which the costs and fees 
actually incurred to collect the debt may be collected from $200 to $300, requires the payment of 
a fee to the State Controller and increases the limitation on the total amount of such costs and fees 
to an amount not to exceed 35 percent of the debt or 
$50,000, whichever is less. Sections 10, 12-16 and 18-20 of this bill make technical changes to 
substitute the State Controller as the person authorized to undertake the collection of debts owed 
to an agency using the procedures and remedies provided under existing law. (NRS 353C.130, 
353C.140, 353C.150, 353C.160, 353C.180, 353C.190, 353C.200, 353C.210, 353C.220) 
 Sections 2-6 of this bill establish new procedures, rights and remedies in connection with 
the collection of debts owed to agencies. Section 2 authorizes, with certain exceptions, an agency 
to refuse to conduct business with a person who has an unpaid debt to the State and also 
authorizes the State Controller to refuse to make a payment to such a debtor. Section 4 authorizes 
the State Controller to appoint a private debt collector or other person as his agent to obtain a 
summary judgment against a debtor and to record that judgment or to file a certificate of liability 
with a county recorder. Section 5 authorizes the State Controller, with the approval of the agency 
to which the debt is owed, to accept the payment of a portion of a debt as satisfaction of the full 
amount of the debt if the State Controller believes that doing so is likely to generate more net 
revenue for the State than continuing his efforts to collect the full amount of the debt. Section 6 
authorizes the State Controller to sell a debt that is no longer collectible in a suit by the Attorney 
General because of the expiration of the statute of limitations applicable to such a suit. 
 Section 7 of this bill specifies the disposition of any money collected by the State 
Controller on behalf of an agency minus any fees owed to and costs incurred or fees paid by the 
State Controller to collect any debt that has been assigned to him for collection by the agency and 
any interest paid by a debtor under an agreement with the State Controller for the payment of the 
debt on an installment basis. Section 7.3 of this bill creates the Debt Recovery Account in the 
State General Fund and limits the use of the money in the Account to support of the debt 
collection efforts of the State Controller.  
 Sections 8, 9 and 22 of this bill revise certain rulemaking authority relating to the 
collection of debts. (NRS 353C.110, 353C.120) 
 Under existing law, an employer who fails to maintain mandatory industrial insurance 
coverage and mandatory coverage for occupational disease for an employee is liable to the 
Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry for any costs incurred 
by the Division to compensate the employee if he is injured or contracts an occupational disease 
that arises out of and in the course of his employment. (NRS 616C.220, 617.401) Sections 21.3 
and 21.7 of this bill create a presumption that in any suit brought against such an employer to 
recover those costs, the Division’s payments were: (1) justified by the circumstances of the claim; 
(2) reasonable and necessary; and (3) made in accordance with applicable law. Sections 21.3 and 
21.7 also authorize the State Controller to bring suit in his own name to collect debts arising 
under those sections if the Division assigns the debts to him for collection. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=186  
Effective May 28, 2009 and July 1, 2009 
 
SB76 – Existing law governs the administrative procedures of certain agencies of the Executive 
Department of State Government. (NRS Ch. 233B) An agency is authorized to summarily 
suspend a license issued by that agency if the agency finds that the public health, safety or 
welfare imperatively require such emergency action. (NRS 233B.127) This bill provides that an 
agency’s order for the summary suspension of a license may be issued by the agency or by 
the Chairman of the governing body of the agency. This bill further provides that the 
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Chairman of a governing body of an agency who issues an order of summary suspension must not 
participate in any further proceedings relating to that order. Finally, this bill requires the agency 
to complete its proceedings against the licensee within 45 days after the date of the order of 
summary suspension unless the licensee and the agency agree to a longer period. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=157 
Effective May 22, 2009 
 
SB151 – Sections 1 and 4 of this bill authorize the State Contractors’ Board to suspend or 
revoke the license of a residential contractor when the Recovery Fund reimburses a 
property owner who must pay a subcontractor or materialman to obtain the release of a 
lien on the property after the residential contractor has not paid the subcontractor or 
materialman money received for the work or materials rendered. (NRS 624.3012, 624.530) 
Section 4 also authorizes the Board not to issue a license to, or renew or reinstate a license of, a 
residential contractor so disciplined. 
 Section 2 of this bill expands the definition of an “injured person,” for the purposes of 
eligibility to make a claim against the Recovery Fund, to include an owner who is required to pay 
a second time to obtain the release of a lien recorded against his property for the value of work or 
materials rendered for a construction project on the property when a contractor has previously 
received payment for the work or materials and has, in turn, failed to pay for the work or 
materials. (NRS 624.420) 
 Section 3 of this bill revises provisions relating to the authorized use of the money in the 
Recovery Fund to authorize the payment of claims made by “injured persons” as defined in 
section 2. (NRS 624.470) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=411 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB362 – Existing law allows any agency that grants licenses to summarily suspend a license if 
the agency finds that public health, safety or welfare imperatively require emergency action. 
(NRS 233B.127) Sections 3, 6 and 13 of this bill clarify that this general provision applies to 
the Board of Medical Examiners, the Board of Homeopathic Medical Examiners and the 
State Board of Osteopathic Medicine.  
 Existing law provides that medical facilities which engage in conduct inimical to the 
public health, morals, welfare and safety of the people of the State of Nevada may have their 
license to operate as a medical facility suspended or revoked. (NRS 449.160) Sections 1, 4, 7, 10, 
11, 14, 17, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 
40, 42 and 44 of this bill authorize various boards which license health care professionals to 
suspend or revoke the licenses of persons who own or are otherwise responsible for the operation 
of medical facilities that are investigated or disciplined pursuant to that provision. 
 Sections 2, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 41, 43 and 45 of 
this bill require various boards which license health care professionals to retain all complaints, 
whether acted upon or not, for 10 years. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=993 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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ADR 
AB48 – Under existing law, a contract for a public work must include a provision that requires 
arbitration of a dispute between the public body and the contractor engaged on the public work. 
(NRS 338.150) This bill revises the requirement of that provision to allow the public body 
and the contractor to resolve a dispute relating to the contract for the public work by way 
of methods of alternate dispute resolution. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=111 
Effective May 19, 2009 
 
Financial 
AB177 – Existing law provides that a short-term lessor and a short-term lessee of a 
passenger car may agree that the lessee will be responsible for certain damage to or loss of 
use of the car. (NRS 482.31535) Section 4.5 of this bill increases from $500 to $2,500 the 
amount for which the lessee may be responsible for physical damage or loss of use of the car 
which occurs as a result of vandalism not related to the theft of the car and not caused by 
the lessee. 
 Under existing law governing the business of short-term leases of passenger cars, a short-
term lessor may offer the lessee of a passenger car the opportunity to purchase a “waiver of 
damages” that relieves the lessee from financial responsibility for certain kinds of damage to the 
car. (NRS 482.3153, 482.3155- 482.31565) Section 5 of this bill authorizes a lessor to exclude 
from such a waiver any damages or loss attributable to the theft of the leased car if the theft is 
committed by the lessee or other authorized driver or by a person aided or abetted by such a 
driver. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=370 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB472 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________
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________________________________________
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________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law provides that an issuer of a credit card may establish liability for credit card debt by 
producing a written application for the credit card signed by the cardholder or by evidence that 
the cardholder incurred charges and made payments on the card. (NRS 97A.160) This bill 
provides that a judgment cannot be entered in favor of a subsequent purchaser of credit card debt 
who attempts to collect on the debt unless the purchaser establishes liability for the debt in that  
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manner. This bill also requires certain information to be disclosed in any complaint filed by a 
purchaser of credit card debt in an action to collect credit card debt. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=913 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 97A 
 
SB348 – Section 1 of this bill revises certain existing provisions of the Uniform Principal 
and Income Act to conform with certain rulings from the Internal Revenue Service 
regarding the manner in which an individual retirement account or other similar 
retirement plan left to a trust instead of directly to a spouse qualifies for the federal estate 
marital tax deduction and thus prevents estate tax from incurring until the surviving spouse dies. 
Specifically, section 1 provides, in part, that: (1) the spouse has a right to require the income from 
the individual retirement account or other similar plan to be distributed to the spouse; and (2) to 
the extent that the individual retirement account or other plan earns income, the trustee is required 
to pay to the spouse any distributions received from the individual retirement account or other 
plan. (NRS 164.865) 
 Section 2 of this bill revises certain existing provisions of the Uniform Principal and 
Income Act governing taxes required to be paid by a trustee on the trust’s share of an entity’s 
taxable income. Specifically, section 2: (1) requires the trustee to pay the taxes on the trust’s 
share of an entity’s taxable income from income or principal, or both, under certain 
circumstances; and (2) provides a formula for calculating the amount a trust needs to distribute to 
a mandatory income beneficiary and the amount it can use to pay taxes. (NRS 164.920) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=965 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Marriage 
AB262 - Existing law provides that a person cannot marry another person if he or she has a wife 
or husband living. (NRS 122.020) Section 1.9 of this bill provides that if a male and female 
are the husband and wife of each other and the record of their marriage has been lost or 
destroyed or is otherwise unobtainable, they may be rejoined in marriage. Section 5.47 of 
this bill provides that, if a husband and wife are rejoined in marriage, the marriage certificate 
issued to the couple must state that the marriage certificate is replacing a record of marriage that 
has been lost or destroyed or is otherwise unavailable. 
 Section 3 of this bill provides that in the application for a marriage license: (1) proof 
of an applicant’s name and age may be evidenced by a birth certificate and either any 
secondary document that contains the applicant’s name and a photograph of the applicant, 
or any document for which identification must be verified as a condition for receipt of the 
document; (2) if the applicant appears over 25 years of age, documented proof of age is not 
required; (3) an applicant cannot be denied a marriage license for stating that he does not 
have a social security number or stating that an answer to a question on the application is 
unknown; and (4) a parent giving consent to a minor to marry can prove his relationship 
with the minor using the minor’s birth certificate. (NRS 122.040) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=523 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB14 – Existing law requires a county clerk to collect certain fees when issuing a marriage 
license. (NRS 122.060) A portion of the fee a county clerk collects when issuing a marriage 
license is dedicated to the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence in the State 
General Fund. Section 1 of this bill increases the portion of the fee for a marriage license 
that funds the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence from $20 to $25. 
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 Section 2 of this bill provide that the county clerk shall collect, if authorized by the board 
of county commissioners, an additional fee of $5 for the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic 
Violence in the State General Fund when certifying a copy of a certificate of marriage or when  
certifying an abstract of a certificate of marriage. (NRS 246.180) Section 3 of this bill requires the 
county recorder to charge the same fee as required in section 2. (NRS 247.305) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=25 
Effective May 13, 2009 
 
SB130 – Section 3 of this bill defines the term “other person authorized to solemnize a 
marriage” as a person, other than a minister, who has been authorized to solemnize a 
marriage according to the usages of his church or religious organization.  
 Sections 4 and 6-19 of this bill amend existing law to grant the same rights and 
responsibilities for solemnizing a marriage to a “person authorized to solemnize a marriage” as 
the statutes do for a minister. (Chapter 122 of NRS) Section 4 of this bill creates an affidavit, to 
be filed with the county clerk, to revoke the authority of a minister or other person authorized to 
solemnize a marriage if he no longer has the authority to solemnize a marriage within his church 
or religious organization.  
 Section 8 of this bill amends existing law to allow a person authorized to solemnize a 
marriage to: (1) legally join together a husband and wife; and (2) obtain a certificate of 
permission to perform marriages from a county clerk. Section 8 also allows a person 
authorized to solemnize a marriage who resides outside of Nevada to solemnize a marriage 
in this State under certain circumstances. (NRS 122.062)  
 Sections 9 and 10 of this bill amend existing law to allow a person, other than a minister, 
who has been authorized to solemnize a marriage according to the usages of his church or 
religious organization to apply for a certificate of permission to perform marriages. Sections 9 
and 10 also remove the requirement that the solemnization of marriages be only incidental to the 
ministry provided to his church or religious organization and requires a new affidavit of authority 
to solemnize marriages to be submitted with the application for a certificate instead of copies of 
the denominational standing of the applicant. (NRS 122.064)  
 Section 11 of this bill requires a minister or other person authorized to solemnize a 
marriage to: (1) comply with Nevada laws pertaining to persons who solemnize marriages; (2) 
continue to meet the statutory requirements to solemnize marriages; and (3) update the county 
clerk of changes in personal information. Section 11 also: (1) revises existing law to require the 
affidavit of authority or affidavit of revocation to be filed by the church or religious organization, 
instead of a written statement filed by a trustee, warden or other responsible person; and (2) 
requires the Secretary of State to establish and maintain an electronic database to store 
information relating to ministers or other persons authorized to solemnize a marriage and to serve 
as an official list of persons so authorized in this State. 
(NRS 122.066) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=337 
Effective July 1, 2009 and upon repeal of certain Federal Laws 
 
Worker’s Comp/Unemployment/Employment/Insurance 
AB243 – Section 1 of this bill requires employers who employ 50 or more employees to 
grant to a parent, guardian or custodian of a child enrolled in a public school 4 hours of 
leave from his place of employment, which must be taken in increments of 1 hour, per 
school year per child to attend school-related activities or events or to volunteer at the 
school in which his child is enrolled. Section 1 also requires the leave to be taken at a 
mutually agreed upon time and the employer is not required to pay the employee for the 
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leave. The provisions of section 1 do not apply if the employee is afforded the same leave 
under the same conditions pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement. 
 Existing law makes it unlawful for any employer or his agent to terminate the 
employment of a person who is a parent, guardian or custodian of a child enrolled in public 
school because the person attended a conference requested by a school administrator or was 
notified of an emergency involving the child at school. (NRS 392.920) Section 2 of this bill 
revises the prohibited acts by an employer or his agent to include demoting, suspending or 
otherwise discriminating against a parent, guardian or custodian of a child. Section 2 also 
prohibits the termination, demotion, suspension or other discrimination of a parent, guardian or 
custodian of a child who takes leave authorized by section 1 of this bill and authorizes a parent, 
guardian or custodian of a child who is terminated, demoted, suspended or otherwise 
discriminated against to file a claim or complaint with the Labor Commissioner. 
 Section 4 of this bill imposes the same requirements on employers for the parents, 
guardians and custodians of children enrolled in a private school. The provisions of section 4 do 
not apply if an employee is afforded the same leave under the same conditions pursuant to a 
collective bargaining agreement. Section 5 of this bill prohibits an employer or his agent from 
terminating, demoting, suspending or otherwise discriminating against a parent, guardian or 
custodian of a child enrolled in a private school for attending a conference requested by a school 
administrator, being notified of an emergency involving the child at school or taking leave 
authorized by section 4. Section 5 also authorizes a parent, guardian or custodian to file a claim or 
complaint with the Labor Commissioner. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=490 
Effective August 15, 2009 
 
AB281 - Under existing law, an insurer is required to accept or deny a claim for compensation 
within 30 days after the insurer has been notified of an industrial accident. (NRS 616C.065) 
Section 2 of this bill provides that if an insurer is ordered by the Administrator of the 
Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry, a hearing or 
appeals officer, a district court or the Supreme Court of Nevada to make a new 
determination relating to a claim for compensation, such a determination must be made 
within 30 days after the order. 
 Existing law provides that an injured employee may choose an alternative treating 
physician or chiropractor after making his initial choice if the alternative choice is made within 
90 days after the injury. (NRS 616C.090) Section 3 of this bill clarifies existing law by providing 
that an injured employee may make the alternative choice without the insurer’s approval if the 
alternative choice is made within 90 days after the injury. Section 3 also provides that an injured 
employee may make a change in the treating physician or chiropractor at any time, subject to the 
insurer’s approval. Section 3 further requires an insurer to provide to an injured employee whose 
request for a change in the treating physician or chiropractor has been denied the specific reason 
for the denial. 
 Section 4 of this bill provides that the affidavit or declaration of a qualified laboratory 
director, chemist or any other person meeting certain qualifications may be used to prove the 
existence of alcohol or controlled substances in an employee’s system in denying, reducing or 
suspending the payment of compensation for an injury. (NRS 616C.230) 
 Section 5 of this bill revises existing provisions governing the denial of compensation to 
injured employees who have been discharged for misconduct by providing that only 
compensation for temporary total disability may be denied. (NRS 616C.232) 
 Section 6 of this bill revises existing law by requiring an insurer to notify an injured 
employee whose claim will be closed whether an evaluation for a permanent partial disability has 
been scheduled or, if such an evaluation has not been scheduled, that the reason is because the 
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insurer determined there is no possibility of a permanent impairment of any kind. (NRS 
616C.235) 
 Sections 7 and 8 of this bill authorize certain contested claims relating to certain 
occupational diseases of police officers, firefighters and emergency medical attendants to be 
submitted directly to an appeals officer, thereby bypassing the hearing officer to whom the 
contested claim would need to be submitted under existing law. (NRS 616C.315) Section 8 also 
requires that the appeals officer set a hearing date within 60 days after receiving a notice of any 
such contested claim. (NRS 616C.345) Section 9 of this bill requires that the appeals officer 
render a decision for any such contested claim within 15 days after certain specified events. (NRS 
616C.360) 
 Section 11 of this bill repeals the provisions requiring a reduction in the compensation 
received by an employee for temporary disability, permanent partial disability or permanent total 
disability by the amount of federal disability insurance benefits received by the employee. (NRS 
616C.430) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=561 
Effective July 1, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
 
AB338 – Existing law requires certain employers to make payments into the Unemployment 
Compensation Administration Fund for the program for the employment and training of 
unemployed persons and persons employed in this State. (NRS 612.606, 612.607) This bill 
authorizes the expenditure of such money to establish a program to provide grants to 
nonprofit private entities to be used to make loans to veterans and senior citizens to start 
small businesses. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=669 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB410 – Section 1 of this bill allows the provisions of collective bargaining agreements 
between certain employers and the labor organizations that represent their employees to 
supersede various statutory provisions relating to industrial insurance. Such collective 
bargaining agreements may include provisions which establish processes for alternative dispute 
resolution, lists of medical evaluators and providers of medical treatment, joint safety 
committees, programs for light-duty or modified job responsibilities and programs for vocational 
rehabilitation. (Requires the courts to recognize these provisions) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=798 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB426 – Sections 1-3 of this bill create: (1) the Fund for Insurance Administration and 
Enforcement as an enterprise fund to carry out the provisions of the Nevada Insurance 
Code; and (2) new fees to provide money for the Fund. 
 Sections 7 and 85 of this bill eliminate certain restrictions on out-of-state insurers due to 
a court decision by the United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals (Council of Insurance 
Agents & Brokers v. Molasky-Arman, 522 F.3d 925 (9th Cir. 2008)). (NRS 680A.300, 695E.130) 
This case holds that Nevada law violates the Privileges and Immunities Clause of the United 
States Constitution regarding nonresident insurance agents and resident agents. 
 Sections 35-38 and 55-58 of this bill require certain insurers to comply with newly 
enacted federal acts. 
 Section 38.5 of this bill requires an insurer that issues policies of health insurance to 
provide notice before changing its formulary within the plan year if the change will affect a 
prescription drug used by an insured to prevent the rejection of a transplanted organ.  
 Section 98 of this bill makes this provision applicable to selffunded plans of a local 
governmental agency. (NRS 287.010)  
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 Sections 38.105, 38.12-40.58 and 97.72-97.77 of this bill revise provisions relating to 
viatical settlements. 
 Sections 102 and 103 of this bill revise provisions related to the Federal Deposit 
Insurance Corporation. 
 Existing law requires certain public and private health care plans and policies of 
insurance to provide coverage for certain procedures, including colorectal cancer screenings, 
cytological screening tests and mammograms, in certain circumstances. (NRS 287.027, 
287.04335, 689A.04042, 689A.0405, 689B.0367, 689B.0374, 695B.1907, 695B.1912, 
695C.1731, 695C.1735, 695G.168) Existing law also requires employers to provide certain 
benefits to employees, including coverage for the procedures required to be covered by insurers, 
if the employer provides health benefits for its employees. (NRS 608.1555) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1144 
Effective May 29, 2009, June 15, 2009, October 1, 2009, and October 9, 2009 
 
Liability 
AB332  

 
Notes:  Existing law provides immunity from civil 
liability for persons/entities who donate and/or 
distribute, in good faith, “wholesome food or a 
grocery product that is fit for human use.”  
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law establishes immunity from civil 
liability for certain persons who donate certain grocery products or wholesome foods for 
consumption or use and for certain persons who receive or distribute such products or foods for 
consumption or use. This bill adds perishable food to the definition of “wholesome food,” to 
clarify that the immunity applies to donating perishable foods or receiving and distributing 
perishable foods. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=663 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 41.491 

Landlord/Tenant 
AB477 – This bill exempts a person who works for a landlord of a dwelling unit that is used 
as a residence for certain older persons from the requirement of having a criminal 
background check to obtain a work card from the county sheriff if the person has submitted 
to a background check as a condition to employment with certain medical or other related 
facilities within the immediately preceding 6 months. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=922 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Notary 
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SB92 – Under existing law, the Secretary of State is authorized to appoint notaries public in this 
State. (NRS 240.010) Sections 3-26 of this bill enact the Electronic Notary Public 
Authorization Act, which authorizes the Secretary of State to appoint electronic notaries 
public who will be authorized to notarize electronic documents. 
 Sections 2 and 5-10 of this bill set forth various definitions relating to electronic 
notarization. Section 12 of this bill requires that a person seeking appointment as an electronic 
notary public already be a notary public in Nevada, and successfully complete a course of study 
on electronic notarization, enter into a bond, pay an application fee and take an oath as a public 
officer.  
Section 14 of this bill provides that the initial term of appointment for an electronic notary public 
is 2 years and any subsequent term of appointment is 4 years. Section 16 of this bill states that an 
electronic notary public may perform the same notarial acts as a notary public except for 
certifying copies and noting protests of a negotiable instrument, and section 17 of this bill sets 
forth the fees he may charge.  
 Section 18 of this bill prohibits the electronic notarization of a will, codicil, testamentary 
trust or any document related to transactions governed by certain sections of the Uniform 
Commercial Code, as prohibited by the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, codified as chapter 
719 of NRS. (NRS 719.200) Section 19 of this bill sets forth the specific requirements that 
distinguish the notarization of an electronic document from a nonelectronic notarization, 
including the use of an electronic signature and an electronic seal.  
 Sections 21 and 22 of this bill provide that an electronic notary public must safeguard his 
electronic signature and any software or device used in producing that signature. Section 23 of 
this bill makes it a gross misdemeanor to: (1) wrongfully make or distribute software or hardware 
for the purpose of allowing a person to act as an electronic notary public without being appointed; 
or (2) wrongfully obtain, conceal, damage or destroy the software or hardware used by an 
electronic notary public.  
 Section 25 of this bill authorizes the Secretary of State to promulgate regulations to carry 
out the provisions of the Electronic Notary Public Authorization Act. Section 26 of this bill 
provides that all the laws which apply to regular notaries public apply to electronic notaries 
public unless a provision of the Electronic Notary Public Authorization Act conflicts, in which 
case the latter controls. 
 Existing law prohibits a person who has been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude or a 
person who does not possess his civil rights from being appointed as a notary public. (NRS 
240.010, 240.015) Section 29 of this bill authorizes the Secretary of State to appoint as a notary 
public a person who was convicted of certain crimes if: (1) more than 10 years have passed since 
the end of his sentence, parole or probation; (2) he has made restitution, if applicable; (3) he has 
had his civil rights restored; and (4) the crime for which he was convicted was not one of an 
enumerated list of crimes involving dishonesty or identity theft. Existing law allows a resident of 
an adjoining state to be appointed as a notary public in Nevada if he maintains or works for a 
business in Nevada. (NRS 240.015) 
 Sections 30-32 of this bill amend the requirements for a nonresident notary public to 
further require a copy of a state business license and any other business license required by a 
local government where the business is located as proof of employment or self-employment in 
Nevada when applying for an appointment or the renewal of an appointment as a nonresident 
notary public. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=193 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Power of Attorney 
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SB314 – Existing law provides for the use of powers of attorney for various purposes, including 
for conveyances of property and for making decisions relating to health care. (NRS 111.450, 
111.460, 111.470, 449.800-449.860) This bill repeals those existing provisions of law relating 
to powers of attorney and enacts the Uniform Power of Attorney Act, which was 
promulgated by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws in 2006. 
 Pursuant to the Act, a power of attorney may grant authority to an agent to act for a 
principal in a variety of matters relating to finance, real property, tangible personal property, 
stocks and bonds, banks and other financial institutions, business operations, insurance and 
annuities, estates, trusts and other beneficial interests, claims and litigation, personal and family 
maintenance, benefits from governmental programs or civil or military service, taxes and gifts. 
According to the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, the Uniform 
Act is intended to: (1) preserve the effectiveness of a durable power of attorney as a low-cost, 
flexible and private form of surrogate decision-making; (2) include mandatory safeguards for the 
protection of the principal, the agent and persons who are asked to rely on the agent’s authority; 
(3) modernize the various areas of authority that may be granted to an agent and require 
authorization by the principal in express language where certain authority could dissipate the 
principal’s  property or alter the principal’s estate plan; (4) establish an optional statutory form; 
(5) offer more clear guidelines for an agent to follow; (6) provide ways for the agent to give 
notice of resignation if the principal is incapacitated; (7) encourage acceptance of a power of 
attorney by third parties; and (8) enhance the usefulness of a durable power of attorney, while at 
the same time protecting the principal, the agent and those who deal with the agent. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=880 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Partnerships/Corporations/Resident Agents 
SB335 – Sections 4, 14-21, 26, 28 and 30-34 of this bill revise provisions governing the 
registration of domestic and foreign partnerships, corporations, limited-liability companies 
and sole proprietorships performing professional accounting services in this State to require 
registration under certain circumstances and to specify certain services which may be 
performed without registration under certain circumstances, as well as revise related 
provisions governing such practice.  
 Sections 5, 9, 27, 29 and 31-35 of this bill set forth the conditions under which a natural 
person who holds a valid license as a certified public accountant in another state shall be deemed 
to be granted the practice privileges of a certified public accountant in this State and revise related 
provisions governing such practice. 
 Section 6 of this bill establishes the competency requirements which must be met by a 
person who signs or authorizes another to sign an accountant’s report on financial statements. 
 Sections 10 and 22 of this bill revise the authority of the Nevada State Board of 
Accountancy to revoke or refuse to grant a certificate, a permit or practice privileges of a certified 
public accountant. 
 Sections 11-13 of this bill authorize the Board to use all or any part of a certain 
provider’s examination and grading service and to prescribe by regulation the education required 
for an applicant’s eligibility to take that examination. 
 Section 23 of this bill revises provisions relating to the Board’s conduct of disciplinary 
proceedings. 
 Sections 24 and 25 of this bill revise provisions relating to the retention of documents 
associated with the rendering of certain professional services. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=923 
Effective July 1,2 009 
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SB350 – Existing law requires a registered agent to notify the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions if the registered agent determines that a represented entity is not properly licensed. 
(NRS 77.410, 604A.710, 675.380) Sections 1, 81 and 82 of this bill clarify that a registered 
agent who is an attorney is not required to make such a notification if doing so would 
violate the attorney-client privilege. 
 Sections 16, 36.1, 48.5, 55.5 and 56.4 of this bill: (1) increase from $500 to a 
minimum of $1,000 and a maximum of $10,000 the fine imposed on certain foreign business 
entities that transact business in this State without registering with the Secretary of State or 
otherwise qualifying to do business in this State; and (2) allow the district attorney or 
Attorney General to recover the cost of a proceeding to recover the fine if the district 
attorney or Attorney General prevails in the proceeding. (NRS 80.055, 86.548, 87A.610, 
88.600, 88A.750)  
 Sections 17.6, 36.6, 39.7 and 49.8 of this bill impose the same fine on foreign nonprofit 
corporations, foreign registered limited-liability partnerships and foreign limited-liability limited 
partnerships that do business in this State without registering with the Secretary of State. 
 Sections 1.5, 27.5, 36.4, 39.3, 39.5, 49.4, 49.6, 56.2 and 56.6 of this bill provide that: (1) 
a person is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 but not less than $10,000 if the person is 
purporting to do business in this State as a business entity and willfully fails or neglects to 
register with the Secretary of State or file with the Secretary of State certain documents; and (2) 
the district attorney or Attorney General may recover the cost of a proceeding to recover the fine 
if the district attorney or Attorney General prevails in the proceeding. 
 Sections 2-14 of this bill make technical corrections to various provisions relating to 
corporations. (Chapter 78 of NRS)  
 Existing law provides that certain notices for certain purposes must be posted and certain 
actions must be filed in certain counties where the principal office of the entity is located or, if the 
principal office is not located in this State, in the district court in Carson City. (NRS 78.275, 
78.345, 78.630, 82.306, 82.471, 82.486) Sections 7, 8, 15, 19, 21 and 22 of this bill provide that 
instead of the proper venue being the district court in Carson City, the proper venue will lie in the 
county in which the entity’s registered office is located. 
 Sections 26 and 27 of this bill provide for the formation of a restricted limitedliability 
company and prescribe the requirements pertaining to such entities. (Chapter 86 of NRS) 
 Sections 28 and 33 of this bill provide for certain rights of members relating to 
recordkeeping and the inspection of certain records. 
 Sections 38, 39 and 49.2 of this bill provide for the formation of a restricted limited 
partnership and prescribe the requirements pertaining to such entities. (Chapters 87A and 88 of 
NRS) 
 Sections 57 and 58 of this bill revise the provisions relating to professional organizations 
to permit ownership of such entities if at least one stockholder or member is admitted to the State 
Bar of Nevada. (NRS 89.040, 89.070) 
 Sections 59-78 of this bill make various changes relating to dissenters’ rights, in 
accordance with recent changes that were made to the Model Business Corporation Act. (Chapter 
92A of NRS) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=969 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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Criminal 
 
Animals 
AB15 – Existing law governs the sterilization of pets that are released by various releasing 
agencies, including societies to prevent cruelty to animals, animal shelters, nonprofit entities that 
provide temporary shelter for pets and organizations that take into custody pets which have been 
abandoned, abused or neglected. (NRS 574.600-574.660) Section 1 of this bill requires each 
licensed veterinarian to post in his office written notice of any sterilization requirements for 
dogs or cats required by local ordinance. Section 1 further requires a governmental entity with 
jurisdiction over a public park to post written notice in the park of any sterilization requirements 
for the animals required by local ordinance.  
 Sections 2 and 3 of this bill require a retailer or dealer who sells a dog or cat to 
disclose to the purchaser the name and address of the breeder of the dog or cat and any 
sterilization requirements for the animal required by local ordinance. (NRS 574.460, 
574.470) A retailer or dealer who fails to comply with the disclosure requirements is subject to an 
administrative fine imposed by the Director of the State Department of Agriculture in an amount 
not to exceed $250 for the first violation, $500 for the second violation and $1,000 for each 
subsequent violation. (NRS 574.485) 
 Section 4 of this bill provides that a retailer, dealer or operator must not separate a dog or 
cat from its mother until it is 8 weeks of age or accustomed to taking food or nourishment other 
than by nursing, whichever is later. (NRS 574.500) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=43 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB199 – Existing law prohibits a person from instigating, promoting or in any way engaging in 
the furtherance of any fight between animals in an exhibition or for amusement or gain which is 
premeditated by a person who owns or has custody of the animals. (NRS 574.070) This bill 
prohibits a person from owning, possessing, keeping, training, promoting or purchasing an 
animal with the intent to use it to fight another animal or from selling an animal knowing 
that it is intended to be used to fight another animal. If a person commits such a violation, he 
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor for a first offense, a category E felony for a second offense and a 
category D felony for a third or subsequent offense. Under existing law, a person is prohibited 
from witnessing any fight between animals in an exhibition or for amusement or gain. This bill 
requires a person to knowingly witness such a fight in order to be guilty of a violation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=409 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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SB132  

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law prohibits a person from depriving an animal of necessary food or drink or 
committing any other act of cruelty against an animal. (NRS 574.100) Section 1 of this bill 
prohibits a person from restraining a dog: (1) using a tether, chain, tie, trolley or pulley system or 
other device that is less than 12 feet in length or fails to comply with certain other requirements 
concerning the movement of the dog; (2) using a prong, pinch or choke collar or similar device; 
or (3) for more than 14 hours during a 24-hour period. Section 1 also provides that any pen or 
other outdoor enclosure that is used to maintain a dog must be appropriate for the size and breed 
of the dog and may be used by a person whose property is of insufficient size to ensure 
compliance with the requirements for chaining or tethering the dog on the property. Section 1 
exempts from this prohibition a dog that is: (1) being treated by a veterinarian; (2) being used for 
hunting or being trained to hunt; (3) participating in a dog show; (4) being kept in a shelter or 
boarding facility or temporarily in a camping area; (5) temporarily being cared for during a rescue 
operation; (6) being used as part of an agricultural operation; or (7) engaged in a temporary task 
or activity for not more than 1 hour with a person having custody or control of the dog. 
 Existing law authorizes the Governor, in carrying out the provisions of chapter 414 of 
NRS, to prepare a comprehensive state emergency management plan. (NRS 414.060) Existing 
law also requires the Chief of the Division of Emergency Management of the Department of 
Public Safety to prepare state and local governmental agencies to be capable of responding 
appropriately if a disaster or emergency occurs. In carrying out this duty, the Chief may 
encourage state and local agencies to adopt plans for emergency operations. (NRS 414.040) 
Section 2 of this bill requires the state emergency management plan prepared by the Governor 
and each plan for emergency operations adopted by a state or local governmental agency to 
include provisions ensuring that, to the extent practicable, a person with a disability who uses a 
service animal is evacuated, transported and sheltered together with the service animal during a 
disaster or emergency. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=339 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 574.100, NRS Chpt. 414 
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Assault/Battery/DV 
AB9 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 

This bill revises the definition of the crime of assault by expanding the current definition to 
include unlawfully attempting to use physical force against another person. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=207 
Effective May 6, 2009 
Amends: NRS 200.471 
 
AB164 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 

 
Section 3 of this bill revises provisions governing the crime of battery to provide the same 
penalties for a battery which is committed by strangulation as are imposed for a battery which 
results in substantial bodily harm. (NRS 200.481) Section 3 also defines the term “strangulation” 
similarly to the manner in which the term is defined in a similar Minnesota law. (Minn. Stat. § 
609.2247(1)©) 
 Sections 4 and 5 of this bill revise provisions governing the crime of battery which 
constitutes domestic violence to impose a category C felony with a maximum fine of $15,000 
upon any person who is convicted of a battery which constitutes domestic violence if the battery 
is committed by strangulation. (NRS 200.485) 
 Sections 1, 2, 6 and 7 of this bill amend certain provisions regarding additional penalties, 
battery with the intent to commit sexual assault, the reporting of certain crimes committed against 
a child and bail so that those provisions will apply in the same manner to a battery which resulted  
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in substantial bodily harm and a battery which was committed by strangulation. (NRS 193.166, 
200.400, 202.876, 178.484) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=349 
Effective Sections 1 to 4, and 9, inclusive, 6, 7 and 8 of this act effective May 6, 2009. Section 
4 of this act expires by limitation June 30, 2009. Section 5 of this act effective July 1, 2009.  
 
Amends: NRS 193.166, NRS 200.400, NRS 200.481, NRS 200.485, NRS 200.485, NRS 
202.876, NRS 178.484, NRS 432B.640 
 
AB253  

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

_______________________________________ 

Existing law provides that a person who resists, delays or obstructs a public officer in discharging 
his duties is guilty of a category D felony or a misdemeanor, depending upon whether the person 
used a dangerous weapon. (NRS 199.280) This bill provides that a person who, during such 
resistance, delay or obstruction: (1) uses a firearm or intentionally removes or attempts to remove 
a firearm from a public officer, is guilty of a category C felony; and (2) uses any dangerous 
weapon, other than a firearm, or intentionally removes or attempts to remove a weapon, other 
than a firearm, from a public officer, is guilty of a category D felony. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=503 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 199.280 

 
AB384 – Existing law makes it a crime for a prisoner who is in lawful custody or 
confinement, other than residential confinement, to commit certain acts involving human 
excrement or bodily fluid. (NRS 212.189) This bill expands the applicability of that crime to 
include a prisoner who is under lawful arrest. In Dumaine v. State (103 Nev. 121 (1987)), the 
Nevada Supreme Court interpreted the phrase “under lawful arrest” as used in the definition of 
“prisoner” set forth in existing law (NRS 193.022 and 208.085) to mean that there is an actual 
restraint of the liberty of the person. The Court stated that one cannot be a prisoner until “one 
either submits to the control of the arresting officer or is captured, i.e., taken and held in control.” 
(Dumaine, 103 Nev. 121, 124) Thus, this bill provides that such a crime applies to a person 
being arrested if there has been an actual restraint of the liberty of that person because 
either the person has submitted to the control of the arresting law enforcement officer or 
the person has been captured. 
 Existing law also provides that if the victim of such a crime is an officer or employee of a 
prison, the person or governmental entity operating the prison in which the act occurred is 
required to pay for certain examinations or tests requested by the officer or employee to 
determine whether a communicable disease was transmitted to him as a result of the crime. (NRS 
212.189) This bill expands that provision by providing that if the victim of such a crime is 
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an officer or employee of a law enforcement agency, the law enforcement agency that 
employs the officer or employee is required to pay for such examinations and testing 
requested by the officer or employee. 
 Existing law prohibits a prosecuting attorney from dismissing charges for such a crime, 
under certain circumstances, if the victim or intended victim is an officer or employee of a prison. 
(NRS 212.189) This bill amends existing law to apply similarly in cases in which the victim 
or intended victim is an officer or employee of a law enforcement agency. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=760 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Boating 
AB73 – Existing law requires a person who operates a boat that is towing a person on water skis 
or another device to be at least 14 years of age, or at least 12 years of age as long as there is a 
passenger on the boat who is at least 21 years of age and who is in a position to supervise. The 
skier must also be observed by another person on the boat. The observer must be at least 12 years 
of age, or at least 10 years of age as long as there is a passenger on the boat who is at least 21 
years of age. (NRS 488.570) Section 3 of this bill provides that a person who operates such a 
boat must be at least 16 years of age, or at least 14 years of age as long as there is a 
passenger on the boat who is at least 18 years of age and who is in a position to supervise the 
operator. Section 3 also provides that a person who is at least 14 years of age, or at least 12 
years of age as long as there is a passenger on the boat who is at least 18 years of age, may 
act as the observer of the person being towed. 
 Section 4 of this bill repeals a provision which requires certain motorboats to be equipped 
with an efficient bell or whistle. (NRS 488.198) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=170 
Effective January 1, 2010 
 
Commercial/Financial/Trade Practices/Personal Info 
AB90 – Existing law allows the Attorney General to investigate suspected deceptive trade 
practices and to institute proceedings to seek certain remedies for such violations. (Chapter 598 of 
NRS) Section 1 of this bill requires that information obtained in the course of certain 
investigations and proceedings be kept confidential in certain circumstances. Section 1 also 
authorizes the Attorney General to share such information, and otherwise cooperate with, officials 
of the Federal Government and other states. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=189 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB233 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 
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 20

Sections 2 and 3 of this bill define the terms “scrap metal” and “scrap metal processor.” Section 4 
of this bill requires purchasers of scrap metal to hold current business licenses from both the State 
and the appropriate city or county and to have authorization to operate from the appropriate solid 
waste management authority. 
 Section 5 of this bill requires scrap metal processors to maintain certain records of all 
purchases of scrap metal by the scrap metal processors. Section 6 of this bill allows peace officers 
or investigators to place a hold on certain property in the possession of a scrap metal processor 
alleged to be related to criminal activity for a specified period during the investigation or 
prosecution. 
 Section 7 of this bill requires that payments for purchases of scrap metal with a value of 
$150 or more by a scrap metal processor must be made by certain means and that a receipt 
containing certain specified information must be provided to the seller of the scrap metal. Section 
7 also allows only a single cash transaction of less than $150 each day between a scrap metal 
processor and a seller. Section 7.5 of this bill provides that a person who violates any provision of 
section 5, 6 or 7 of this bill is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 Section 9 of this bill excludes scrap metal from the definition of “junk” under chapter 647 
of NRS. (NRS 647.015) Section 11 of this bill expands the crime of receiving property stolen 
from certain utilities and political subdivisions of the State, a category D felony, to include 
transactions involving scrap metal. (NRS 647.145) 
Section 10 of this bill provides that chapter 647 of NRS does not prevent counties from licensing, 
taxing and regulating dealers in junk or scrap metal. (NRS 647.080) 
 Section 12 of this bill provides that a person who willfully or maliciously removes, 
damages or destroys utility property, agricultural infrastructure, construction sites or certain other 
property to obtain scrap metal is guilty of a misdemeanor if the value of the removal or damage of 
property is less than $500 or a felony if the removal or damage is greater than $500 or interrupts a 
service provided by utility property. 
 Existing law generally provides that a person commits petit larceny and is guilty of a 
misdemeanor if he steals property with a value of less than $250.  (NRS 205.240) Existing law 
also generally provides that a person commits grand larceny if he steals property with a value of 
$250 or more. (NRS 205.220) A person who commits grand larceny is guilty of a category C 
felony if the value of the property is less than $2,500 and is guilty of a category B felony if the 
value of the property is $2,500 or more. (NRS 205.222) Section 13 of this bill: (1) provides that, 
if the value of the scrap metal stolen within a period of 90 days is less than $250, the person is 
guilty of a misdemeanor; (2) provides that, if the value of the scrap metal stolen within a period 
of 90 days is $250 or more, the person is guilty of a category C or B felony with varying terms of 
imprisonment and fines, depending upon the value of the scrap metal stolen within the 90-day 
period; (3) requires the court to order a person who steals scrap metal to pay restitution; and (4) 
provides that the cost of repairing or replacing property damaged by the theft of scrap metal must 
be included in the value of the property that was stolen. 
 Sections 17 and 19 of this bill amend existing law to apply certain provisions governing 
larceny to the new crime of larceny described in section 13 of this bill involving scrap metal. 
(NRS 205.251, 05.980) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=475 
Effective July 1, 2009 

AB322 – Existing law establishes various crimes relating to fraud. (Chapter 205 of NRS) Section 
1 of this bill, which is patterned in part after existing securities laws, provides that a person 
commits a category B felony if the person knowingly or intentionally engages in at least two 
similar transactions within 4 years after the completion of the first transaction by engaging 
in an act, practice or course of business or employing a device, scheme or artifice to defraud 
another person by making an untrue statement of fact or not stating a material fact 
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necessary in light of the circumstances which: (1) the person knows to be false or omitted; 
(2) the person intends another to rely on; and (3) which causes a loss to any person who 
relied on the false statement or omission of material fact. (NRS 90.570) 
 Section 2 of this bill revises the definition of a crime related to racketeering to include the 
new crime established by section 1 of this bill. (NRS 207.360) Existing law establishes various 
crimes relating to racketeering activity. (NRS 207.400)  
 Section 3 of this bill prohibits a person from transporting property, attempting to 
transport property or providing property to another person knowing that the other person intends 
to use the property to further racketeering activity. In addition, section 3 prohibits a person who 
knows that property represents proceeds of any unlawful activity from conducting or attempting 
to conduct any transaction involving the property with the intent to further racketeering activity or 
with the knowledge that the transaction conceals the location, source, ownership or control of the 
property. (NRS 207.400) 
 Section 4 of this bill generally provides that a prosecution of the new crime established 
by section 1 of this bill must be commenced within 4 years after the crime is committed. (NRS 
171.085) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=637 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB389 – Existing state and federal laws prohibit a person who accepts credit cards or debit cards 
for the transaction of business from printing the expiration date of the card or more than the last 
five digits of the account number of the card on any receipt provided to the cardholder. (NRS 
597.945; 15 U.S.C. § 1681c(g)) Section 2 of this bill prohibits a business from printing more 
than the last five digits of the account number of the card on any copy of the receipt that is 
retained by the business that accepted the card. Additionally, section 2 prescribes a civil 
penalty of $500 for a business that violates these provisions and an additional penalty of $1,000 
per week for a business that does not correct the violation. The aggregate amount of civil 
penalties imposed on a business for violations of these provisions which occur on the same 
premises must not exceed $4,500. Finally, section 2 authorizes the Attorney General or a district 
attorney to: (1) recover the civil penalties in a civil action; and (2) bring an action to enjoin any 
violation of the provisions of section 2. A business that violates any order or injunction issued to 
enjoin a violation of the provisions of section 2 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 
 Section 3 of this bill exempts from the applicability of section 2, from July 1, 2009, to 
December 31, 2009, a business that does not have the ability to control or adjust the manner in 
which a receipt is electronically printed. 
 Section 1 of this bill prohibits a manufacturer or a supplier from providing, selling or 
leasing a cash register or other machine or device that does not allow a business to comply with 
the provisions of section 2. Section 1 also authorizes the Attorney General or a district attorney to 
bring an action to enjoin any violation of the provisions of section 1. A person who violates any 
order or injunction issued to enjoin a violation of the provisions of section 1 is guilty of a gross 
misdemeanor. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=772 
Effective July 1, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
 
SB82 – This bill establishes procedures to allow law enforcement to identify funds 
associated with prepaid or stored value cards. This bill allows a peace officer to determine the 
name, personal information and amount of funds associated with a prepaid or stored value card in 
certain circumstances where there is probable cause to believe that the prepaid or stored value 
card is an instrumentality of a crime. Finally, this bill allows the Attorney General or a state or  
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local law enforcement agency to enter into a contract to carry out the provisions of this bill 
concerning the identification of funds. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=163 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB125 – Section 1 of this bill prohibits a person from knowingly, intentionally and for the 
purpose of committing fraud, identity theft or any other unlawful act: (1) capturing, storing 
or reading information from the radio frequency identification document of another person 
without the knowledge and consent of the other person; or (2) retaining, using or disclosing 
information that the person knows to have been obtained from the radio frequency 
identification document of another person without the knowledge and consent of the other 
person. This new crime is punishable as a category C felony. Existing law establishes an 
exception to the statutory prohibitions relating to the possession or use of the personal identifying 
information of another person by providing that those prohibitions do not apply to a person who, 
without the intent to defraud or commit an unlawful act, possesses or uses the personal 
identifying information of another person pursuant to a financial transaction entered into with an 
authorized user of a payment card who has given permission for the financial transaction. (NRS 
205.4655) Section 5 of this bill deletes from this exception the requirement that such an 
authorized user of a payment card must have given permission for the financial transaction. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=318 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB193 – Under existing law a person who engages in the business of buying and selling antiques 
is a secondhand dealer and is subject to certain state and local provisions governing secondhand 
dealers, including certain licensing, record-keeping, reporting and penalty provisions. (NRS 
244.3485, 268.0974, 647.110-647.132, 647.140, 647.145) This bill exempts a person who 
engages in the business of buying and selling antiques from state and local regulation as a 
secondhand dealer. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=545 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB223 – Existing law prohibits a person from: (1) obtaining or possessing the credit card or debit 
card, or the identifying description of the credit card or debit card, of another person who is the 
cardholder, without the consent of the cardholder, with the intent to circulate, use, sell or transfer 
the card or the identifying description of the card; (2) selling a credit card or debit card or the 
number or other identifying description of a credit card, debit card or credit account; (3) buying a 
credit card, debit card or the number or other identifying description of a credit card, debit card or 
credit account from a person other than the issuer; and (4) using, with the intent to defraud, the 
number or other identifying description of a credit account, customarily evidenced by a credit 
card or the number or other identifying description of a debit card, to obtain money, goods, 
property, services or anything of value without the consent of the cardholder. (NRS 205.690, 
205.710, 205.760) 
 Sections 1-3 of this bill clarify existing law by providing that for the purposes of 
these crimes, the identifying description of a credit card or debit card may be a physical or 
electronic description of the credit card or debit card. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=625 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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Miscellaneous 
AB132 – Existing law provides that, in an action for forcible or unlawful entry or detention of 
real property, a judgment may be entered for three times the amount of the actual damages 
assessed by the court or jury. (NRS 40.170) The Nevada Supreme Court held in Countrywide 
Home Loans, Inc. v. Thitchener, 124 Nev. Adv. Op. 64, 192 P.3d 243 (2008), that the provisions 
of NRS 40.170 authorizing a judgment of three times the amount of actual damages assessed 
in such an action did not apply to actual damages to personal property but rather applied only to 
actual damages to real property. This bill defines the term “actual damages” for that 
provision of existing law to mean damages to real property and personal property. (NRS 
40.170) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=287 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB182 
      _______________________________________ 
            
       ______________________________________          
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
 
Section 1 of this bill revises the definition of “explosive” contained in NRS 202.750 to include 
any explosive material in the list of explosive materials published in the Federal Register pursuant 
to 18 U.S.C. §§ 841 et seq.  
 Section 2 of this bill moves the provisions currently contained in NRS 202.270, which 
prohibit the destruction of buildings with human beings inside by means of explosives, into NRS 
202.830. (NRS 202.270)  
 Section 5 of this bill then repeals NRS 202.270. Section 5 of this bill also repeals certain 
duplicative crimes in the Nevada Revised Statutes relating to explosives, including: (1) NRS 
202.810 and 476.020, prohibiting possession of explosives in certain public places, which may 
already be prosecuted pursuant to NRS 202.262; and (2) NRS 476.050, which prohibits acts 
endangering property by explosives that may be prosecuted pursuant to the existing provisions of 
NRS 202.830. (NRS 202.262, 202.810, 476.020, 476.050) 
 Sections 3 and 4 of this bill make technical changes only to revise internal references to 
statutory provisions that are amended or repealed in this bill. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=376 
Effective April 22, 2009 
Amends: NRS 202.750, NRS 202.830, NRS 207.012, NRS 41.0334 
Repeals: NRS 202.270, NRS 202.810, NRS 476.020, NRS 476.050 
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AB266 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
This bill prohibits the sale or distribution as a promotion of novelty lighters. This bill also 
provides a comprehensive definition of a “novelty lighter.” This bill becomes effective on 
January 1, 2010. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=531 
Effective January 1, 2010 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 579 

 
AB286 

Related Court Cases: Scott v. Just. Crt., 84 Nev. 
9 (1968) 
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Under existing law, a person commits the crime of trespassing if the person willfully goes or 
remains upon any land or in any building after having been warned not to trespass by the owner 
or occupant of the land or building. (NRS 207.200) The Nevada Supreme Court has held that 
when an owner of premises asks a guest who was originally invited to the premises to leave, the 
owner has given a sufficient warning not to trespass, and the disinvited guest commits trespassing 
if the guest then refuses to leave. (Scott v. Just. Ct., 84 Nev. 9 (1968)) 
 This bill codifies the holding in Scott and provides that an owner or occupant of any land 
or premises shall be deemed to have given a sufficient warning to a guest not to trespass if the 
owner or occupant makes an oral or written demand to the guest to vacate the land or building. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=566 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 207.200 
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AB461  

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law requires certain governmental entities to forward to the Aging Services Division of 
the Department of Health and Human Services and to the Unit for the Investigation and 
Prosecution of Crimes Against Older Persons in the Office of the Attorney General a copy of the 
final report of the investigation of a report of abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of an older 
person. (NRS 200.5093) Section 1 of this bill: (1) adds the Repository for Information 
Concerning Crimes Against Older Persons to the list of entities that must be forwarded a copy of 
such a report; and (2) changes the period within which the report must be forwarded from 90 days 
after the completion of the report to 30 days after the completion of the report. 
 Section 5 of this bill allows the Repository for Information Concerning Crimes Against 
Older Persons to include records of every incident of elder abuse reported to any entity and 
certain additional information related to each incident. (NRS 179A.450) 
 Section 6 of this bill allows the Unit for the Investigation and Prosecution of Crimes 
Against Older Persons to establish a multidisciplinary team to review any allegations of abuse, 
neglect, exploitation or isolation of an older person or the death of an older person as the result of 
abuse, neglect or isolation and prescribes its membership. (NRS 228.270) The establishment of 
such a team does not grant the Unit supervisory authority over any state or local agency that 
investigates or prosecutes allegations of abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of an older 
person or the death of an older person as the result of abuse, neglect or isolation. 
 Section 7 of this bill requires the Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission to 
adopt regulations that require all peace officers to receive training in the handling of cases 
involving abuse, neglect, exploitation and isolation of older persons. (NRS 289.510) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=877 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 200.5093, NRS 179A.450, NRS 228.270 
 
 
AB481 – Existing law makes it a crime for a person who is a fugitive from justice to own a 
firearm or to have a firearm in his possession or under his custody or control. (NRS 202.360) In 
Gallegos v. Nevada, 123 Adv. Op. 31, 163 P.3d 456 (2007), the Nevada Supreme Court held that 
provision to be unconstitutionally vague in violation of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth 
Amendment of the United States Constitution because it failed to define the term “fugitive from 
justice.” This bill defines the term “fugitive from justice” for purposes of that crime, as well 
as for purposes of: (1) NRS 202.357, which prohibits the possession of electronic stun devices 
by, or the sale or giving of such devices to, a fugitive from justice; (2) NRS 202.362, which 
prohibits the sale or disposal of firearms or ammunition to a fugitive from justice; and (3) 
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NRS 202.760, which prohibits the shipment or receipt of explosives by a fugitive from justice. 
The new definition of “fugitive from justice” is based in part on the manner in which the term is 
defined in federal law and in part on the manner in which the term is defined under existing case 
law in Nevada. (18 U.S.C. § 921(15); Ex parte Lorraine, 16 Nev. 63, 63 (1881); Castriotta v. 
State, 111 Nev. 67, 69 n.2, 888 P.2d 927, 929 n.2 (1995)) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=928 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Procedure 
AB250 

Related Court Cases: MELENDEZ-DIAZ v. 
MASSACHUSETTS 557 US, ___ (2009) 
(SCOTUS, June 25, 2009) Holding: The 
admission of the certificates violated petitioner’s 
Sixth Amendment right to confront the witnesses 
against him.  
 
State, Dep't of Motor Vehicles & Public Safety v. 
Bremer, 113 Nev. 805, 942 P.2d 145 (1997) 
 
DeRosa v. First Judicial Dist. Court, 115 Nev. 
225, 985 P.2d 157 (1999): Overruled, City of Las 
Vegas v. Walsh, 121 Nev. 899, at 906, 124 P.3d 

203 (2005) 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that if a person is qualified as an expert in a district court in this State, the 
person’s affidavit or declaration regarding the presence in breath, blood or urine of alcohol or 
certain other substances or regarding the identity or quantity of a controlled substance may be 
admissible in certain proceedings. 
 Section 1 of this bill provides that for purposes of determining the admissibility of such 
affidavits or declarations, the person may be qualified in any court of record in this State, rather 
than only in a district court in this State. Section 1 also provides a definition of the term chemist 
for purposes of the provisions governing the admissibility of such affidavits and declarations. 
(NRS 50.320)  
 Section 2 of this bill authorizes a request to have such an affidavit or declaration admitted 
into evidence at trial for certain offenses to be personally served on the defendant’s counsel or the 
defendant, rather than only sent by registered or certified mail. (NRS 50.325) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=500 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 50.320, NRS 50.325 
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AB499 

See: NV Supreme Court ADKT 411 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Under existing law, a prosecutor is required to provide any defendant with copies of certain 
discovery, including, without limitation, documents, reports, tests, tangible objects and recorded 
statements, not less than 2 days before a preliminary examination is held. (NRS 171.1965) This 
bill requires a prosecutor to provide a defendant charged with a felony or a gross misdemeanor 
with copies of such discovery at the time when the defendant is brought before a magistrate after 
an arrest pursuant to NRS 171.178, or as soon as practicable thereafter, but in no event less than 5 
days before a preliminary  examination. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=961 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 171.1965 
 
SB34 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

This bill authorizes a magistrate, when presiding over a preliminary hearing in justice court in a 
case where the death penalty is not sought, to choose whether to employ a certified court reporter 
or appoint a person to use sound recording equipment to record certain testimony and proceedings 
of the court. This bill also provides that if a magistrate presiding over such a proceeding appoints 
a person to use sound recording equipment: (1) the testimony and proceedings of the court must 
be recorded in accordance with certain existing laws; and (2) any transcripts produced from such 
recordings must be treated in the same manner as a transcript produced by a court reporter. (NRS 
171.198) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=61 
Effective May 22, 2009 
Amends: NRS 171.198 
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SB35 – Section 1 of this bill amends existing law to provide that after a person is acquitted of a 
crime in another jurisdiction and a criminal prosecution is brought in the courts of this State for 
the same offense, the acquittal in the other jurisdiction may be introduced in evidence by the 
defendant in the prosecution in this State. (NRS 193.280) 
 Section 1.5 of this bill revises the provision that prohibits the prosecution of a 
person in this State for a crime after the person is convicted or acquitted of the crime in 
another state, territory or country by eliminating the prohibition on the prosecution of a 
person in this State for a crime after the person is convicted or acquitted of the crime in 
another country. (NRS 171.070) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=62  
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB45 – Existing law allows a prospective witness who may be unable to attend or may be 
prevented from attending a trial or hearing to have his deposition taken, if his testimony is 
material, in order to prevent a failure of justice. (NRS 174.175) At a trial or hearing, a part or 
all of a deposition may be used if it appears that: (1) the witness is dead; (2) the witness is out of 
the State of Nevada; (3) the witness is sick; (4) the witness has become of unsound mind; or (5) 
the party offering the deposition could not procure the attendance of the witness by subpoena. 
(NRS 174.215) This bill expands the list of prospective witnesses who may have their deposition 
taken to include older persons and vulnerable persons. (NRS 174.175) This bill also provides that 
a court may order the deposition of an older person or a vulnerable person only upon good 
cause shown to the court. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=72 
Effective June 4, 2009 
 
SB84 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes the board of county commissioners of a county to create a department of 
alternative sentencing. (Chapter 211A of NRS) Sections 1-6 of this bill authorize the governing 
body of a county or a city to create a department of alternative sentencing. 
 Existing law provides for the administration of programs of supervision for certain 
persons with suspended sentences and persons sentenced to residential confinement by a justice 
court or municipal court. (NRS 4.372, 5.052) Section 7 of this bill authorizes the chief of the 
department of alternative sentencing of a city located within the county in which a justice court is 
located to administer the program of supervision for persons with sentences suspended by the 
justice court and persons sentenced to residential confinement by the justice court if the county 
does not have a department of alternative sentencing and such a department exists within any city 
located within that county.  
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 Section 8 of this bill requires the chief of the department of alternative sentencing of the 
city in which a municipal court is located to administer the program of supervision for persons 
with sentences suspended by the municipal court and persons sentenced to residential 
confinement by the municipal court if the city has a department of alternative sentencing. Further, 
section 8 requires the chief of the department of alternative sentencing of the county in which a 
municipal court is located to administer the program of supervision for persons with sentences 
suspended by the municipal court and persons sentenced to residential confinement by the 
municipal court if the city in which the municipal court is located does not have a department of 
alternative sentencing and such a department exists within the county. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=165 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 211A, NRS 211A.010, NRS 211A.080, NRS 211A.100, NRS 211A.110, 
NRS 211A.130, NRS 4.372, NRS 5.052 
Repeals: NRS 211A.030 
 
Public Nuisance/Gangs 
AB335 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 
 
 

Existing law provides that certain places used for certain illegal activities constitute a private 
nuisance, which creates civil liability and allows any person whose property is affected to bring a 
civil action to abate the nuisance and recover damages. (NRS 40.140) Section 3 of this bill 
provides that a building or place regularly and continuously used by the members of a criminal 
gang to engage in, or facilitate the commission of, crimes by the criminal gang constitutes such a 
private nuisance.  
Existing law also provides that certain places used for certain illegal activities constitute a public 
nuisance, and any person responsible for such a public nuisance who does not abate the public 
nuisance is guilty of a misdemeanor. (NRS 202.450, 202.470) Section 5 of this bill provides that a 
building or place regularly and continuously used by the members of a criminal gang to engage 
in, or facilitate the commission of, crimes by the criminal gang constitutes such a public nuisance. 
 Sections 6 and 7 of this bill authorize the board of county commissioners of a county and 
the governing body of a city to adopt an ordinance authorizing the filing of a civil action, under 
certain circumstances, to: (1) enjoin the activities of a specific member of a criminal gang; and 
(2) recover money damages, attorney’s fees and costs against a member of a criminal gang and 
the owner of a business or place that constitutes a nuisance because the building or place is 
regularly and continuously used by the members of a criminal gang to engage in, or facilitate the 
commission of, crimes by the criminal gang. Sections 6 and 7 also provide that a member of a 
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criminal gang who is subject to an injunction and who knowingly and intentionally commits a 
material violation of that injunction is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=666 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 40.140, NRS 202.450, NRS Chpt. 244, NRS Chpt. 268 
 
AB353 

 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law requires a court or magistrate to order an abatement of a public nuisance. Section 1 
of this bill additionally requires the court or magistrate to impose a civil penalty on a person 
convicted of a public nuisance and provides additional procedures for the abatement of the 
nuisance, including, without limitation: (1) time limitations on the period during which the person 
must complete the abatement; and (2) procedures for an agency to abate the nuisance, at the 
discretion of the agency, if the person does not abate the nuisance. Section 1 also requires that 
civil penalties collected under this section be deposited in an account used only for abatement. 
(NRS 202.480) 
 Existing law authorizes a board of county commissioners to adopt an ordinance to secure 
a dangerous structure or condition. Section 2.5 of this bill amends existing law to authorize a 
board of county commissioners to adopt an ordinance to summarily abate certain dangerous 
structures or conditions and provides a process for providing the owner with notice of the 
summary abatement and for judicial review of the summary abatement. (NRS 244.3601) 
 Existing law authorizes a board of county commissioners to adopt an ordinance to 
administratively and on its own accord require an owner of a property to abate a dangerous 
structure, rubbish or noxious weeds. Section 3 of this bill expands those provisions to apply to the 
abatement of any other public nuisance as defined in the ordinance adopted by the board which 
prohibits a nuisance. (NRS 244.3605) Existing law authorizes the solid waste management 
authority in each county with a population of 400,000 (currently Clark County) to establish a 
program for the control of unlawful dumping.  Section 5 of this bill removes the population 
threshold to authorize the solid waste management authority in each county to establish such a 
program. (NRS 444.629) 
 Existing law provides that if a person is convicted of unlawfully disposing certain waste 
or sewage, a court clerk who receives any civil penalties from the person for the violation must 
remit the money to the district health department if the health authority initiated the action. 
Section 6 of this bill requires the court clerk to remit the money to the district health department  
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also if a person, other than the health authority, who is authorized to enforce the provisions of 
NRS 444.630 initiated the action for a violation of NRS 444.630. (NRS 444.635) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=692  
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 202.480, NRS 244.3601, NRS 244.3605, NRS 444.629, NRS 444.635 
 
SB142 – Section 2 of this bill establishes the crime of criminal gang recruitment, which is 
committed when an adult uses or threatens to use physical violence against a child or against 
another person, or causes or threatens to cause damage to the property of the child or the property 
of another person, with the specific intent to coerce, induce or solicit the child: (1) to become a 
member of a criminal gang; (2) to remain a member of a criminal gang and not withdraw or 
disassociate himself from the criminal gang; or (3) to rejoin a criminal gang of which he is no 
longer a member or from which he has withdrawn or disassociated himself. The provisions of 
section 2 are patterned after similar statutory provisions in other states, such as Alaska, Arizona, 
Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Montana, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia and 
Washington. 
 Section 1 of this bill provides that a person who commits the crime of criminal gang 
recruitment is not subject to the additional penalty under existing law for crimes committed for 
the benefit of, at the direction of, or in affiliation with, a criminal gang, with the specific intent to 
promote, further or assist the activities of the criminal gang. (NRS 193.168) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=377 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Schools 
AB56 – Existing law prescribes the requirements for the use of physical restraint or mechanical 
restraint on a pupil with a disability who is enrolled in a public school or a private school. (NRS 
388.521-388.5315, 394.353-394.378) Sections 1 and 7 of this bill require each school district 
and each private school which provides services to pupils with disabilities to submit annual 
reports to the Department of Education on the use of physical restraint and mechanical 
restraint on pupils with disabilities during the previous school year. 
 Sections 3, 4, 9 and 10 of this bill provide that if physical restraint or mechanical restraint 
is used on a pupil with a disability three times during 1 school year, the circumstances of the 
restraint must be reviewed and reported. If such restraint is used five times during 1 school year, 
the pupil’s individualized education program or the pupil’s services plan, as applicable, 
developed pursuant to he Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1400 et seq., 
must be reviewed. If the restraint continues after such a review, the school district or private 
school, as applicable, and the pupil’s parent or legal guardian shall include additional positive 
behavioral approaches in the pupil’s services plan or program, as applicable, so that the restraint 
does not continue. (NRS 388.5275, 388.528, 394.368, 394.369) 
 Existing law prescribes the requirements for the use of mechanical restraint on a pupil 
with a disability enrolled in a public school or private school, including a requirement that the 
pupil’s physician issue a medical order authorizing the use of mechanical restraint before the 
application of the restraint or not later than 15 minutes after the application of the restraint. (NRS 
388.528, 394.369)  
 Sections 4 and 10 of this bill eliminate the requirement of a medical order for each 
application of the mechanical restraint and instead require that a medical order authorizing the use 
of mechanical restraint be included in the pupil’s individualized education program or the pupil’s 
services plan, as applicable. 
 Existing law provides that corporal punishment may not be used on a pupil in any public 
school. (NRS 392.4633) Section 6 of this bill provides that a person may report the use of 
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corporal punishment on a pupil to the agency which provides child welfare services in the county 
in which the school district is located. If the agency finds that the report is substantiated, the 
agency shall forward the report to the Department, local law enforcement agency and the county 
district attorney for further investigation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=132 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB154 - Existing law authorizes the boards of trustees of school districts to establish policies 
prohibiting the activities of criminal gangs on school property. (NRS 392.4635) This bill makes 
the establishment of that policy mandatory. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=326 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB163 – The Department of Education is required to prescribe a policy for all school districts and 
public schools to provide a safe and respectful learning environment that is free of harassment 
and intimidation, including the provision of training to school personnel and requirements for 
reporting violations of the policy. (NRS 388.121-388.139) Sections 1-9 of this bill revise the 
provisions governing safe and respectful learning environments to include a prohibition on 
bullying and cyberbullying. (NRS 388.132, 388.133, 388.134, 388.135, 388.139) 
 Existing law requires the Council to Establish Academic Standards for Public Schools to 
establish the standards of content and performance for courses of study, including courses of 
study in computer education and technology. (NRS 389.520) Section 10 of this bill requires the 
standards of content and performance for courses in computer education and technology to 
include a policy for the ethical, safe and secure use of computers and other electronic devices. 
Section 7 of this bill requires each school district to adopt the policy for inclusion in its policy on 
the provision of a safe and respectful learning environment. 
 Existing law prohibits a person from using any means of oral, written or electronic 
communication to knowingly threaten to cause bodily harm or death to a pupil or school 
employee with the intent to: (1) intimidate, frighten, alarm or distress the pupil or school 
employee; (2) cause panic or civil unrest; or (3) interfere with the operation of a public school. 
Section 11 of this bill specifically includes the use of cyber-bullying in these prohibited acts. 
(NRS 392.915) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=448 
Effective July 1, 2009 and July 1, 2010 
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Sentencing/Parole/Probation/Post-Conviction 
Truth in sentencing and ghost of the 1995 session. 
 In 1995 The Nevada Legislature completely reworked much of the criminal law statutes 
and the penalties attached to the crimes.  Before the 1995 session there were no classifications of 
crimes, no A, B et seq.  The legislative intent was to cast light on the sentencing process and give 
the public and the convicted persons a realist view of crime and punishment.  An Advisory 
Commission was created with the thought that people involved in the criminal justice system, 
judges, police, prosecutors, defense attorneys and other criminal justice people would meet 
regularly to examine the status of the “new laws” and hopefully have an organized effort to make 
the system fair and transparent.  Until the 2009 session the commission had not really taken an 
active role as anticipated by the 1995 legislature.   
 Every legislative session since 1995 has had legislation passed illustrating that we are 
tough on crime.  With piece meal legislative activities “truth in sentencing” was nearly 
impossible comprehend. 
 The 2009 session found the Advisory Commission actively involved in nearly two dozen 
pieces of legislation that passed in some form or the other.  The legislation supported by the 
Commission was an effort to carry out the intent of the legislature from 1995 and an effort to 
“make sense” of criminal laws and penalties. 
 Below are several pieces of legislation from the 2009 session addressing “penalty issues”. 
 
AB105 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

_______________________________________ 

_______________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________ 

Upon conviction of certain crimes, existing law provides for the issuance of a court order 
requiring: (1) certain personal identifying information of the defendant to be submitted to the 
Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History; and (2) a biological specimen of the 
defendant to be obtained for genetic marker testing. (NRS 176.0913) Section 1 of this bill: (1) 
eliminates the need for a court order for these requirements; and (2) provides that the biological 
specimen is not required if the defendant previously submitted a biological specimen for a prior 
conviction. 
 Existing law provides that a defendant who submits a biological specimen for genetic 
testing must pay a fee for that testing, which is then deposited with the county treasurer for 
deposit in that county’s fund for genetic marker testing. Money remaining in the fund, after the 
county treasurer pays the actual costs of obtaining a biological specimen, must be distributed to 
forensic laboratories engaging in genetic marker testing for use for certain purposes. (NRS 
176.0915) Section 2 of this bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to accept gifts, grants  
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and donations for the county’s fund for genetic marker testing and expands the purposes for 
which a forensic laboratory which receives money from the county’s fund may use that money. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=220 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 176.0913, NRS 176.0915 
 
AB117 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 4 of this bill authorizes the State Board of Parole Commissioners to grant parole to a 
prisoner without a meeting if the Board anticipates that parole will be granted. (NRS 213.130) 
 Section 5 of this bill provides that a member of the Board or a case hearing representative 
may recommend releasing a prisoner on parole without a hearing if certain conditions are met. 
Section 5 also provides that such a recommendation remains subject to final approval by a 
majority of the Board. (NRS 213.133) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=259 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 213.130, NRS 213.133 
 
AB168 

 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

This bill provides that a court may reduce or suspend the sentence of a person convicted of 
trafficking in a controlled substance if the court finds that the person rendered substantial 
assistance in the investigation or prosecution of any offense. (NRS 453.3405) Additionally, this 
bill, which is modeled after the provisions contained in the Federal Sentencing Guidelines,  
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provides that any reduction or suspension of a sentence must be for specified reasons stated by 
the court. (18 U.S.C.S. Appx § 5K1.1) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=358 
Effective May 18, 2009 
Amends: NRS 453.3405 
 
AB179 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law provides that a person convicted of a crime and sentenced to death may petition a 
court to conduct post-conviction genetic marker analysis to prove a credible claim of innocence if 
the person meets certain requirements. For example, the person must show that the evidence has 
not previously been submitted to such analysis or that the method of analysis requested and the 
additional analysis may resolve an issue not resolved by previous analysis. (NRS 176.0918) 
 Section 1 of this bill amends existing law to allow any person who is convicted of a 
category A or B felony and under a sentence of imprisonment, regardless of whether he is under a 
sentence of death, to petition the court for post-conviction genetic marker analysis after meeting 
certain other requirements. This section provides that a petition must be made under penalty of 
perjury and must contain certain information. Further, this section provides for the court to 
determine whether to dismiss the petition, schedule a hearing or assign counsel to further review, 
supplement and present the petition to the court. This section also amends existing law to provide 
that genetic marker analysis may be performed on evidence previously submitted to analysis if: 
(1) the results of a previous analysis were inconclusive; (2) the evidence was not previously 
submitted to the type of analysis requested and the requested analysis may resolve an issue not 
resolved by the previous analysis; or (3) the requested analysis would provide results significantly 
more accurate and probative of the identity of the perpetrator. This section further requires the 
district attorney of the appropriate county, under certain circumstances, to notify the victims of 
the crime at issue in the petition of certain information related to the petition. (NRS 176.0918) 
 Section 3 of this bill provides that the new procedures set forth in the bill apply to 
persons who were convicted of an offense before, on or after the effective date of this bill. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=373 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 176.0918, NRS 176.0919 
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AB239 
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
      _______________________________________ 
 
      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

Existing law generally authorizes a prosecuting attorney to prosecute a person as a habitual 
criminal, punishable as a category B felony, if the person: (1) is convicted of petit larceny, a 
crime which involves fraud or the intent to defraud, or any felony; and (2) has previously been 
convicted two times of a felony or three times of petit larceny or certain other crimes involving 
fraud or the intent to defraud. This bill removes the provisions concerning convictions and prior 
convictions for petit larceny or certain crimes involving fraud or the intent to defraud. Thus, a 
person may be prosecuted as a habitual criminal, punishable as a category B felony, if he is 
convicted of a felony and has previously been convicted two times of a felony. (NRS 207.010) 
 Existing law provides that a person may be prosecuted as a habitual criminal, punishable 
as a category A felony, if the person: (1) is convicted of a felony; and (2) has previously been 
convicted three times of a felony or five times of petit larceny or certain other crimes which 
involve fraud or the intent to defraud. This bill removes the provisions concerning prior 
convictions for petit larceny or certain crimes involving fraud or the intent to defraud. Thus, a 
person may be prosecuted as a habitual criminal, punishable as a category A felony, if he is 
convicted of a felony and has previously been convicted three times of a felony. (NRS 207.010) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=484 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 207.010 
 
AB259 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that an offender who has been convicted of a category B felony is not 
eligible for residential confinement. Section 1 of this bill requires the standards adopted by the 
Director of the Department of Corrections concerning eligibility for residential confinement to 
provide that an offender who has been convicted of a category B felony is eligible for residential 
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confinement if: (1) the offender is not otherwise ineligible for residential confinement; and (2) the 
Director makes a written finding that assigning the offender to residential confinement is not 
likely to pose a threat to the safety of the public. (NRS 209.392) 
 Existing law authorizes the State Board of Parole Commissioners to provide for the 
forfeiture of credits for good behavior of a parolee who violates a condition of his parole and, as 
appropriate, for the restoration of such credits. Section 4 of this bill authorizes a court to provide 
for the forfeiture of credits for good behavior of a probationer who violates a condition of his 
probation and, as appropriate, for the restoration of such credits. 
 Existing law provides that an offender who is sentenced to serve a period of probation for 
a felony and who demonstrates certain good behavior must be allowed certain deductions from 
his period of probation. Section 5 of this bill amends existing law to provide generally that a 
person who is sentenced to a period of probation for a felony or a gross misdemeanor and who is 
in compliance with the terms and conditions of his probation must be allowed a deduction from 
his period of probation of: (1) ten days for each month he serves and is current on any fee to 
defray the cost of his supervision and on any fines, fees and restitution ordered by the court; and 
(2) an additional 10 days for each month he serves and is actively involved in employment or 
enrolled in certain programs. (NRS 176A.500) 
 Existing law authorizes a court to order a probationer who violates a condition of his 
probation to a term of residential confinement and to direct the person to be confined, for not 
more than 6 months, to a community correctional center, conservation camp, facility of minimum 
security or other place of confinement operated by the Department of Corrections for the custody, 
care or training of offenders, other than a prison designed to house 125 or more offenders within a 
secure perimeter. Section 6 of this bill authorizes a court to direct such a person who was placed 
on probation for a felony conviction to be confined to any of those facilities and institutions, 
including a prison designed to house 125 or more offenders within a secure perimeter. Further, 
section 6 of this bill authorizes the Department of Corrections to select the facility or institution in 
which to place the person. (NRS 176A.660) 
 Section 3 of this bill amends chapter 213 of NRS, which governs parolees in a manner 
similar to section 6 of this bill. Section 3 provides that a parolee who is returned to confinement 
in a facility or institution of the Department of Corrections is authorized to earn credits to reduce 
his sentence pursuant to chapter 209 of NRS, with the exception of certain credits which are 
earned by an offender who is released on parole. (NRS 213.152) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=513 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB264 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that if a court dismisses the proceedings against a defendant who is charged 
with a category A or category B felony because the court finds that the defendant is incompetent 
with no substantial probability of attaining competence in the foreseeable future, the prosecuting 
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attorney is authorized to file a motion with the court for a hearing to determine whether to 
commit the person to the custody of the Administrator of the Division of Mental Health and 
Developmental Services of the Department of Health and Human Services. Section 4 of this bill 
amends existing law to provide that a prosecuting attorney may file such a motion if a court 
dismisses the proceedings against a defendant who is charged with any category A felony or 
certain listed category B felonies, rather than a defendant who is charged with any category A or 
any category B felony. Section 4 also: (1) requires a prosecuting attorney who files such a motion 
to request the Division to provide a comprehensive risk assessment which indicates whether the 
person requires the level of security provided by a forensic facility; and (2) requires the Division 
to provide the comprehensive risk assessment to the court, the prosecuting attorney and the 
person’s counsel. (NRS 178.461) 
 Existing law also provides that if the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that 
the person has a mental disorder and is a danger to himself or others, the court is required to order 
that the person be committed to the custody of the Administrator until he is eligible for 
conditional release or after 10 years have passed, whichever period is shorter. Section 4 of this 
bill amends existing law to: (1) add that the person’s dangerousness is required to be at a level 
that requires placement of the person at a forensic facility as a prerequisite to the court 
committing the person to the custody of the Administrator; and (2) authorize, rather than require, 
the court to commit a person to the custody of the Administrator in those circumstances. (NRS 
178.461) Section 1 of this bill defines the term “forensic facility” for the purposes of those 
provisions. Existing law provides the manner for determining eligibility for conditional release of 
a person committed to the custody of the Administrator pursuant to section 4 of this bill. Section 
5 of this bill authorizes the Division or a person who is committed to the custody of the 
Administrator to petition the court which committed the person for conditional release. (NRS 
178.463) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=525 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB279 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Section 2 of this bill provides that upon the conviction of a defendant for a category A or B 
felony, an agency of criminal justice that possesses any biological evidence secured in connection 
with the investigation or prosecution of the defendant is required to preserve such evidence until 
the expiration of any sentence imposed on the defendant. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=557 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 176, NRS 176.0911 
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AB474 
 
      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

      _______________________________________ 

 
Existing law provides that a prisoner may be sentenced to consecutive sentences of imprisonment 
and may be paroled from a current term of imprisonment to a subsequent term of imprisonment. 
(NRS 176.035) Section 2.5 of this bill provides that eligibility for parole of a prisoner sentenced 
to two or more consecutive sentences of life imprisonment with the possibility of parole: (1) for 
offenses committed on or after July 1, 2009, must be based upon the aggregation of the minimum 
sentences for those offenses; and (2) for offenses committed before July 1, 2009, may, at the 
option of the prisoner, be based upon the aggregation of the minimum sentences for such 
offenses, provided that the prisoner has not previously been considered for parole. 
 Existing law provides for the mandatory release on parole of certain prisoners 12 months 
before the expiration of their maximum term if they have not previously been released on parole 
and are not otherwise ineligible for parole. (NRS 213.1215) Section 3 of this bill requires 
mandatory parole of prisoners who were sentenced to life imprisonment with the possibility of 
parole and who were less than 16 years of age at the time of the offense if they have: (1) served 
the minimum term of their sentence; (2) completed a program of general education or an 
industrial or vocational training program; (3) not been identified by the Department of corrections 
as a member of a group posing a security threat; and (4) not committed a major violation of the 
regulations of the Department of Corrections and not been housed in disciplinary segregation 
within the immediately preceding 24 months. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=919 
Effective July 1, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
            

SB44 – Existing law authorizes the Director of the Department of Corrections to designate 
employees of the Department as peace officers. (NRS 289.220) Existing law also classifies peace 
officers as being within category I, category II or category III; peace officers in each category are 
designated as having certain powers and must meet certain training and educational requirements. 
(NRS 289.460, 289.470, 289.480) Under existing law, a category III peace officer is a peace 
officer whose authority is limited to correctional services, including the superintendents and 
correctional officers of the Department. (NRS 289.480) This bill provides that the Inspector 
General of the Department and criminal investigators of the Department are category II 
peace officers. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=71 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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SB236 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes the establishment by a judicial district and by the Director of the 
Department of Corrections of programs for reentry of criminal offenders and parolees into the 
community. (NRS 209.4883, 209.4887) Section 5 of this bill creates the Fund for Reentry 
Programs to be administered by the Director of the Department of Public Safety or his designee. 
Money in the Fund may be used only to pay necessary administrative costs and to pay for 
programs for reentry of persons into the community upon their release from incarceration. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=645 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 209.4889, NRS Chpt. 480 
 
SB238 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law provides for the automatic restoration of certain civil rights after honorable 
discharge from probation or parole, release from prison or the sealing of records. (NRS 
176A.850, 179.285, 213.090, 213.155, 213.157) Existing law also authorizes certain criminal 
offenders to apply to the State Board of Pardons Commissioners to have their civil rights restored. 
Existing law further provides for the Board to consider such applications at a meeting after 
providing notice to the district attorney, the district judge of the county where the person was 
convicted and, if requested, to each victim of a crime committed by the person whose application 
is being considered. (NRS 213.010, 213.020, 213.040)  
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 Section 1 of this bill authorizes the Board to adopt a policy to provide for an expedited 
process to take action, without holding a meeting, to restore the civil rights of certain persons 
under certain circumstances. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=648 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 213, NRS 213.020 
 
Sex Offenses/Prostitution/TPO 
AB88 

 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 1 of this bill prohibits a person from using the Internet to control child pornography. 
Section 4 of this bill establishes a civil cause of action for a person who, while under the age of 
16 years, appeared in child pornography and suffered personal or psychological injury as the 
result. A person who prevails in such an action may recover his actual damages, which are 
deemed to be at least $150,000, plus attorney’s fees and costs. Section 3 of this bill establishes the 
statute of limitations for such an action. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=187 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 200, NRS 200.700, NRS 11.215, NRS Chpt. 41 
 
AB120 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes a victim of stalking, harassment or aggravated stalking to seek a 
temporary or extended protective order against the person who allegedly committed the crime 
against the victim. (NRS 200.591) Existing law also: (1) provides for the deferment of fees 
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related to such orders; (2) fixes the duration of such orders; (3) provides for such orders to be 
transmitted to and enforced by law enforcement; and (4) requires the court to provide a victim 
with a copy of the court order if a condition of the defendant’s sentence restricts the ability of the 
defendant to have contact with the victim. (NRS 200.592-200.601) Section 3 of this bill similarly 
authorizes a victim of sexual assault to seek a temporary or extended order of protection against 
the person who allegedly committed the sexual assault against him.  
 Sections 4-7 of this bill provide the same requirements for fees, duration, transmission, 
enforcement and information provided for such orders of protection for a victim of sexual assault 
as are provided in existing law for similar orders of protection for a victim of stalking, harassment 
or aggravated stalking. 
 Section 1 of this bill includes a violation of a temporary or extended order of protection 
against a person who allegedly committed a sexual assault to the list of violations which may 
result in an additional penalty. (NRS 193.166) 
 Section 9 of this bill expands the jurisdiction of justice courts to include actions for the 
issuance of a temporary or extended order of protection against a person who allegedly 
committed a sexual assault. (NRS 4.370) 
 Section 11 of this bill exempts actions involving orders of protection for a victim of 
sexual assault from the requirement that the Supreme Court adopt rules and procedures for jury 
trials in justices’ courts that are designed to limit the length of such trials. (NRS 67.060) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=262 
Effective May 11, 2009 
Amends: NRS 193.166, NRS Chpt. 200, NRS 200.364, NRS 4.370, NRS 62C.020, NRS 
67.060, NRS 178.484 
 
AB238 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that any person who engages in solicitation for prostitution is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. (NRS 201.354) This bill provides that a person who solicits a child for prostitution 
is guilty of a category E felony. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=483 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 201.354 
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AB309 
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law prohibits stalking and authorizes the issuance of a temporary or extended order 
restricting certain conduct related to the crime of stalking, aggravated stalking or harassment. 
(NRS 200.575, 200.591) Section 1 of this bill includes within the definition of the crime of 
stalking a course of conduct which would cause a reasonable person to feel fearful for the 
immediate safety of a member of the person’s family or household and which actually causes a 
victim to feel such fear. Sections 1, 3 and 4 of this bill add text messaging to the existing crime of 
stalking with the use of a communication device, which is punishable as a category C felony. 
 The Nevada Clean Indoor Air Act, which is currently codified as NRS 202.2483, was 
proposed by an initiative petition and approved by the voters at the 2006 General Election and 
therefore is not subject to legislative amendment or repeal until after December 8, 2009. The Act 
generally prohibits the smoking of tobacco in certain locations, such as within indoor places of 
employment, within school buildings and on school property. Section 1.5 of this bill revises the 
provisions of the Act by authorizing the smoking of tobacco in certain convention facilities 
during certain meetings and trade shows. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=611 
Effective: Sections 1, 3, 4, and 5 of this act effective October 1, 2009. Section 1.5 of this act 
effective December 9, 2009 
Amends: NRS 200.575, NRS 202.2483, NRS 176A.413, NRS 213.1258 
 
AB325 - Existing law provides that if a person is convicted of certain sexual offenses and the 
court grants probation or suspends the sentence of the defendant, or if such a person is released on 
parole, that person must not have any contact with the victim or a witness who testified against 
him unless approved by a parole and probation officer. (NRS 176A.410, 213.1245) Sections 1 
and 2.5 of this bill provide that such a person may not have any such contact unless approved in 
writing by the Chief Parole and Probation Officer or his designee. Section 2 of this bill similarly 
prohibits a sex offender under lifetime supervision from having any contact with a victim or 
a witness who testified against him unless approved in writing by the Chief. (NRS 213.1243) 
 Sections 1.1-1.5 of this bill expand the prohibition on the public disclosure of the identity 
of a victim of a sexual assault to include a victim of statutory sexual seduction or sexual conduct 
involving a pupil or student. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=646 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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AB380 
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law establishes several crimes relating to pandering or prostitution, including: (1) 
pandering by inducing a person to become a prostitute through threats or other actions; (2) 
pandering by placing a spouse in a house of prostitution through force, fraud, intimidation or 
threats; (3) living from the earnings of a prostitute; (4) pandering by detaining a person in a house 
of prostitution because of any debt; and (5) pandering by furnishing transportation to induce a 
person to become a prostitute or engage in prostitution. (NRS 201.300-201.340) Section 2 of this 
bill provides that: (1) the assets of a person who commits an offense involving the pandering or 
prostitution of a child are subject to forfeiture; and (2) in a proceeding for such a forfeiture, a 
temporary restraining order may be entered by the court to freeze the assets of such a person. 
Sections 2 and 5.5 of this bill require the proceeds of the forfeiture, which remain after satisfying 
certain protected interests and paying certain expenses related to the forfeiture proceeding, be 
distributed to programs for the prevention of child prostitution which are designated by the 
district attorney of the county. 
 Section 3 of this bill provides that, in addition to the criminal penalties prescribed by 
statute, a court may impose additional criminal fines on a person who is convicted of an offense 
involving pandering or prostitution of a child. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=753 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 201, NRS 201.295, RS 179.118, NRS 179.121 
 
Traffic/DMV/Motor Vehicles/DUI 
AB25 – Existing law authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to waive certain examinations 
for a person applying for a Nevada driver’s license who possesses a valid driver’s license of the 
same type or class issued by another jurisdiction but does not allow such a waiver if the person 
has not attained 25 years of age. (NRS 483.330) Section 1 of this bill prohibits such a waiver 
for a person who has not attained 21 years of age, subject to certain exceptions.  
 Existing law authorizes the Department to require every applicant for a driver’s license to 
submit to an examination that may include components which test the applicant’s knowledge, 
skills and abilities. (NRS 483.330) Section 1.5 of this bill requires the Department to charge a 
fee of $25 for the administration of the examination for a noncommercial driver’s license 
and a fee of $10 for each readministration of that examination to the same person. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=88 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB109 – Existing law provides that license plates furnished for certain exempt vehicles 
maintained for and used by certain governmental entities must be free of distinguishing marks 
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which would otherwise identify the vehicle as a governmental vehicle. (NRS 482.368) Section 
1.3 of this bill adds two vehicles used by the office of a county coroner to the list of vehicles 
for which license plates without a distinguishing mark must be furnished. 
 Existing law authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue special license plates 
for the support and enhancement of parks, recreation facilities and programs in the City of Reno 
if the Department receives at least 1,000 applications for the issuance of the special license plates 
before May 29, 2009. (NRS 482.379375) Sections 1 and 1.7 of this bill delete the provisions 
which authorize the Department to issue such special plates only if the Department receives at 
least 1,000 applications before May 29, 2009. 
 Under existing law, if the Department issues special license plates for use on a passenger 
car or light commercial vehicle and if those special license plates generate financial support for a 
charitable organization, the Department is authorized to issue the special license plates for use on 
a trailer or other type of vehicle that is not a passenger car or light commercial vehicle, but is 
prohibited from issuing the special license plates for use on a motorcycle or heavy commercial 
vehicle. (NRS 482.3824) Effective July 1, 2010, section 2 of this bill removes the 
prohibition against the Department issuing such special license plates for use on motorcycles and 
provides further that the fees for special license plates issued for use on vehicles other than 
passenger cars or light commercial vehicles must be the same as if the special license plates were 
issued for use on a passenger car or light commercial vehicle. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=245 
Effective May 26, 2009, and July 1, 2010 
 
AB163 

Related Federal Law: 23 U.S.C. § 166(f)(3) 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 1.5 of this bill authorizes the Department of Transportation to adopt regulations to allow 
certified low emission and energy-efficient vehicles to be operated in a lane on a highway under 
its jurisdiction designated for the preferential use or exclusive use of high-occupancy vehicles. 
Section 1.7 of this bill authorizes counties and cities to adopt ordinances that allow certain low 
emission and energy-efficient vehicles, including golf carts, to travel in designated lanes within 
planned communities. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=346 
Effective: Sections 1.7 and 2 of this act effective May 6, 2009. Section 1.5 of this act 
effective: (a) May 6, 2009, for the purpose of adopting regulations and performing any 
other preparatory administrative tasks that are necessary to carry out the provisions of this 
act; and (b) July 1, 2010, for all other purposes 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 484 
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AB169 – This bill adds vehicles that provide towing services or the transportation of 
household goods to the list of vehicles that must be impounded if operated without a 
required certificate of public convenience and necessity to authorize their operation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=359 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB209 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
This bill requires an offender who is convicted of an offense relating to driving under the 
influence to attend a live meeting of a panel of victims in person, unless such a meeting is not 
available within 60 miles of the offender’s residence. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=423 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: RS 484.3797 
 
AB247 – Existing law provides that every person riding a bicycle upon a roadway is generally 
subject to the provisions of chapter 484 of NRS which apply to drivers of vehicles. (NRS 
484.503) Existing law requires the driver of a vehicle to signal an intention to turn from a direct 
course continuously during not less than the last 100 feet traveled in a business or residential 
district and not less than the last 300 feet traveled in any other area. (NRS 484.343) Section 2 of 
this bill exempts the operator of a bicycle from these requirements and instead requires the 
operator only to signal his intention to turn at least one time, unless the bicycle is in a 
designated turn lane or when safe operation of the bicycle requires the operator to keep 
both hands on the bicycle. 
 Existing law provides for the methods of giving signals by hand and arm. (NRS 484.347) 
Section 3 of this bill authorizes an operator of a bicycle to signal for a right turn by extending his 
right hand and arm horizontally and to the right side of the bicycle. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=497 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB296 – Section 1 of this bill revises the exemption from the requirement to obtain a 
certificate of public convenience and necessity for nonprofit carriers of elderly persons or 
persons with disabilities based upon the size of the county in which the carrier operates. 
(NRS 706.745) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=579 
Effective January 1, 2010 
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AB333 – Section 1 of this bill requires the Nevada Transportation Authority to reduce any charge 
for preparing or satisfying a lien which is filed by the operator of a tow car if the Authority 
determines that all or part of the charge is attributable to the operator’s failure to prepare or 
satisfy the lien in a timely manner. (NRS 706.4468) 
 Existing law presumes that an abandoned motor vehicle was abandoned by its registered 
owner. The registered owner is thus responsible for the costs of removing and disposing of the 
vehicle. Existing law also provides for the rebuttal of this presumption. (NRS 487.220) Section 2 
of this bill provides a similar presumption, and opportunity for rebuttal, for the registered owner 
of a vehicle that is towed at the request of the owner of real property from which the vehicle is 
towed. (NRS 706.4477) 
 Existing law provides that if an operator of a tow car tows a motor vehicle at the request 
of someone other than the owner, the operator is required to notify the owner of certain 
information within a particular period of time. (NRS 706.4479) Section 3 of this bill adds to the 
list of the information that must be provided notice to the registered and legal owner of the 
vehicle as to the actions the owner may take to reduce his liability for any potentially applicable 
assessments, fees, penalties or other charges, and as to the opportunity to rebut presumptions 
about the ownership of a vehicle. 
 Section 4 of this bill authorizes a person who transfers ownership of a motor vehicle 
to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of the transfer electronically. Section 4 also 
authorizes the Department to provide information regarding vehicle ownership transfers to 
tow car operators and other interested parties. (NRS 482.400) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=664 
Effective July 1, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
 
AB372 – Under existing law, the Department of Motor Vehicles collects an additional 
registration fee on every motortruck, truck-tractor or bus in this State based on the declared gross 
weight of the vehicle, and it is unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle on the highways 
of this State if the motor vehicle exceeds its declared gross weight. (NRS 482.482, 484.744) 
Section 5 of this bill amends provisions to require a person who has been convicted of or 
who pleaded guilty to operating a motortruck, truck-tractor or bus on the highways of this 
State in excess of the declared gross weight of the vehicle to reregister the vehicle based on 
its actual gross vehicle weight rating or combined gross vehicle weight rating, as applicable. 
Sections 2 and 3 of this bill provide that the definitions of the terms “gross vehicle weight 
rating” and “combined gross vehicle weight rating” are based on the maximum gross 
weight designated by the manufacturer at which the vehicle or combination of vehicles can 
be operated. 
 Sections 7 and 8 of this bill add the definitions of “gross vehicle weight rating” and 
“combined gross vehicle weight rating” to chapter 706 of NRS, regarding motor carriers. Section 
9 of this bill authorizes the Department to impose various administrative fines for violations of 
chapter 706 of NRS, and section 10 of this bill provides that the Department shall require a bond 
from any common motor carrier, contract motor carrier or private motor carrier of property who 
is determined by the Department to be habitually delinquent in payments of amounts due to the 
Department pursuant to chapter 706 of NRS. 
 Existing law provides that certain motor carriers may purchase a temporary permit to 
travel over the highways of this State in lieu of obtaining certain licensing and registration in this 
State. (NRS 706.521) Under existing law, the temporary permit must be purchased by the motor 
carrier from the nearest available vendor to the point of entry into the State before or after 
entering the State, or from the first vendor located along the route of travel. (NRS 706.541)  
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Section 13 of this bill amends the provision regarding purchase of a temporary permit to require a 
motor carrier to purchase the temporary permit before entering the State. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=728 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB407 – A person whose driver’s license or commercial driver’s license has been suspended or 
revoked for a violation relating to driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance, or has been suspended, revoked, cancelled or disqualified for other reasons, must pay a 
fee to reinstate his license. (NRS 483.410, 483.910) This bill increases the amount of the fee. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=794 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB412 – This bill makes it lawful for an operator of a tow car to tow a vehicle occupied by a 
person with restricted mobility or a person who is in a hazardous situation provided that 
the person is properly restrained and, if required by law, wearing a seat belt. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=800 
Effective May 6, 2009 
 
AB417 – Existing law sets forth the conditions under which the driver of a vehicle may pass 
another vehicle on the right. (NRS 484.297) Section 1 of this bill authorizes a driver to pass 
another vehicle on the right on a highway with unobstructed pavement which is not marked 
as a traffic lane and which is not occupied by parked vehicles, if the vehicle that is passing: 
(1) does not travel more than 200 feet in the section of pavement not marked as a traffic 
lane; or (2) while being driven in the section of pavement not marked as a traffic lane, does 
not travel through an intersection or past any private driveway that is used to enter or exit 
the highway.  
 Existing law prohibits certain driving maneuvers on a controlled-access highway. (NRS 
484.311) Section 2 of this bill provides that, unless required to do so because of an emergency, 
the driver of a vehicle is prohibited from driving the vehicle: (1) upon any portion of a controlled-
access highway that lies outside of marked traffic lanes or marked entrance or exit lanes; or (2) 
across any solid white line that separates an entrance or exit lane from a marked traffic lane. A 
person who violates any provision of this bill is guilty of a misdemeanor. (NRS 484.999) In 
addition, the penalty is doubled if the violation occurs in a work zone. (NRS 484.3667) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=805 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB441 – Section 1 of this bill requires that electric bicycles be allowed on any trail or pedestrian 
walkway that is intended for use by bicycles and is constructed using certain federal funds. 
Section 1.3 of this bill requires the Department of Public Safety to include electric bicycles in 
educational programs concerning bicycle safety. (NRS 480.700) Sections 1.7-8.7 of this bill 
exclude electric bicycles from vehicle licensing and registration requirements. Sections 10-
13 of this bill exclude electric bicycles from the provisions requiring vehicle drivers’ 
licenses. Section 14 of this bill adds electric bicycles to the requirements for the program of 
safety education. Sections 15-30 of this bill provide that electric bicycles are subject to the 
same traffic laws and various other requirements as bicycles. Section 35.5 of this bill requires 
the Motor Vehicle Recovery and Transportation Planner of the Department to include electric 
bicycles in the development and administration of plans relating to the establishment, 
construction and maintenance of bicycle lanes and routes in this State. (NRS 408.234) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=830 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 



 

 49

 
AB475 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

This bill was requested by Chairman Anderson after we met with some judges of the justice 
courts and attorneys who determined that the laws relating to DUIs had become difficult to 
follow.  Because of the manner in which chapter 484 of NRS had expanded over the years, the 
provisions had become scattered and were causing the justice courts difficulty in applying the 
laws in a consistent manner.  Initially, they asked Chairman Anderson to submit a bill to 
rearrange the provisions of chapter 484 of NRS relating to DUIs to make it easier to follow and 
apply. 
 However, the Legislative Counsel has authority to move statutes in codification and 
rearrange provisions of NRS to keep the NRS consistent and orderly.  I offered to look at the 
chapter to see if this was something that we could just take care of in codification.  When I 
reviewed chapter 484 of NRS I discovered that the problems were not just limited to the DUI 
provisions.   
 1)  Chapter 484 of NRS currently consists of 258 pages.  There are so many sections in 
the chapter that the numbering has become difficult, with many sections with numbers up to 5 
digits past the decimal. 
 2) Penalties and prohibited acts for DUIs are not placed together and are difficult to 
identify. 
 3)  There are 100 definitions for the chapter, making it difficult to know what terms are 
necessary for a particular statute. 
 We determined that it would be a worthwhile project to take the time to clean up the 
provisions to make them easier to use and understand.  Although the initial request was to 
reorganize the laws relating to DUI, we decided to reorganize the entire chapter by dividing 
chapter 484 into 5 distinct chapters organized by related topics.  We thought this would make the 
provisions easier to use and it would also make it easier for the Legislature to amend and revise 
the laws in the future.  With that, we went ahead and prepared a draft of the recodification all of 
the provisions of chapter 484 of NRS. 
 After completing the codification project, we contacted other parties who frequently use 
and refer to Chapter 484 of NRS, including the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Nevada 
Highway Patrol and the Department of Transportation.  These groups had many questions about 
the effect and impact of these changes.  In addition, we were informed that there would be a huge 
cost associated with changing the organization of this chapter.  One of the major concerns had to 
do with their citations and instruction manuals which all cite to the current NRS.  They were 
concerned that if we changed the numbering that these would be invalid, or someone would argue 
they did not have notice.  To address some of the concerns and to alleviate a large part of the cost 
that was identified, Chairman Anderson agreed to ask for a bill draft.   
 AB 475 essentially does three things with respect to chapter 484 of NRS:   
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 1)  It provides that if the Legislative Counsel renumbers any section of the NRS for any 
reason, the citation to the previously assigned number in a legal document, manual, sign or other 
place shall be deemed to have the same meaning and effect as though the citation were to the new 
number.   
 2)  The bill directs the Legal Division to reorganize Chapter 484 of NRS in the next 
revision of the statutes.  Although we don’t really need additional legislative authority for this, 
because of the objections that were raised, we wanted to allow a forum for discussion on this 
topic.  In addition, to avoid any excessive cost as a result of the re-codification of chapter 484, the 
bill directs that the new numbers assigned during codification be used in citations, publications 
and other places only as replacements become necessary.  Thus, there is no need for anyone to 
run out and pull out all the signs, or to reprint all of the citations or manuals.   
 3)  The bill also repeals a couple of obsolete definitions that were identified that are no 
longer used in any section in the chapter. 
 [Note: the Legislative Counsel agreed that if we go forward with this re-codification of 
chapter 484 of NRS, the current citations will remain in the NRS for at least 5 years, and longer if 
necessary.  Thus, leadlines and numbers with a reference as to where the section was moved to 
will remain in the statutes for at least 5 years. 
 
NRS 484A:  General Provisions 
NRS 484B:  Rules of the Road 
NRS 484C: Driving Under the Influence 
NRS 484D: Equipment, Inspections and Size, Weight and Load of Vehicles 
NRS 484E: Accidents and Reports of Accidents 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=920 
Effective May 19, 2009 
 
SB100 

Related Court Cases: State, Dep’t of Motor 
Vehicles v. Terracin, 01/29/09 Affirmed 125 Nev. 
___, 199 P.3d 835 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Under existing law, the driver’s license of a person convicted of driving under the influence is 
revoked for a certain period depending upon whether the violation is punishable as a first, second 
or third or subsequent violation that occurs within a period of 7 years. (NRS 483.460) This bill 
provides that the period of revocation of the driver’s license of such a person must be based upon 
the total number of previous violations within a period of 7 years, regardless of how the violation 
is treated for sentencing purposes. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=201 
Effective, July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 483.460, NRS 483.490 
 
 
 

AOC Legislative Overview 2009Slide 38

Criminal
Traffic/DMV/Motor Vehicles/DUI

• SB100 DUI License Revocation
– Allows DMV to treat any third, or subsequent, 

DUI within 7 years as a felony offense for 
purposes of revocation of a driver license, 
regardless of how the conviction is treated for 
sentencing purposes by the court
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SB134 
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law requires the doubling of the penalty imposed against a person convicted of speeding 
or convicted of certain other traffic offenses that occur in a highway construction zone if: (1) 
workers are present; or (2) the effects of the offense are otherwise aggravated because of certain 
highway conditions that exist as a result of the highway construction. (NRS 484.3667)  
 Section 1 of this bill provides that the additional penalty must also be imposed if the 
offense occurs within a temporary traffic control zone in which workers are performing work 
other than highway maintenance or construction. Section 2 of this bill removes the requirement 
that a governmental entity or person with whom the governmental entity contracts post signs to 
mark the beginning and end of a temporary traffic control zone under certain circumstances. 
Section 2 also provides that a person is not subject to the additional penalty if the violation 
occurred in a temporary traffic control zone which is not required to be marked, unless the 
violation results in injury to any person performing highway construction or maintenance or other 
work in the temporary traffic control zone or in damage to property in an amount equal to $1,000 
or more. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=341 
Effective, October 1, 2009 
 
SB199 – Existing law requires that vehicles required to be weighed pursuant to chapters 482 and 
706 of NRS be weighed by a public weighmaster. (NRS 482.485, 706.276) This bill allows a 
farmer or rancher to instead weigh his farm vehicle on a certified scale and use a printout 
from that scale as proof of the declared gross weight of the farm vehicle for purposes of 
registration or temporary permitting. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=558 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB217 – Under existing law, the Department of Motor Vehicles is prohibited from releasing 
personal information from a file or record relating to a driver’s license or identification card 
except under certain circumstances. (NRS 481.063) Existing federal law requires every male 
citizen of the United States and every other male residing in the United States who is at least 18 
years of age but less than 26 years of age to register with the Selective Service System. (50 
U.S.C. App. § 453) Sections 3-5 of this bill require the Department of Motor Vehicles to 
forward to the Selective Service System the personal information necessary for registration 
with the Selective Service System of any applicant for a driver’s license, instruction permit, 
restricted license, special restricted license, identification card or commercial driver’s 
license, or for a duplicate or substitute of such a license or permit, or for the renewal or 
reinstatement of such a license or permit, who is required to register with the Selective 
Service System and who indicates by checking a box on the application that he wishes the 
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Department to forward such information. This bill also requires the Department of Motor 
Vehicles to include on the application for any such license or permit a notice that registration with 
the Selective Service System in compliance with federal law maintains the eligibility of the 
applicant for various federal benefits. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=606 
Effective May 22, 2009, and July 1, 2010 
 
SB240 – This bill establishes the State Route 159 Safety Speed Zone to provide for the 
evaluation and establishment of the maximum speed on portions of State Route 159 that: (1) 
are within the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area; (2) abut or are immediately 
adjacent to the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area; or (3) have been designated as a 
Scenic Byway or State Scenic Byway. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=655 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB243 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that the Nevada Highway Patrol has authority for the enforcement of 
certain requirements relating to the size and weight of certain vehicles being operated on the 
highways of this State. (NRS 484.755) This bill expands that authority to include law 
enforcement agencies in counties with a population of 100,000 or more (currently Washoe and 
Clark Counties) in the State and authorizes certain category I peace officers and certain inspectors 
of the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Department of Public Safety to require the river of 
certain vehicles to stop and submit to a weighing of the vehicle. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=658 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 484.755 
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SB251 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes the operator of a tow car to equip the tow car with flashing amber 
warning lights pursuant to a permit issued by the Nevada Highway Patrol. (NRS 484.579) Section 
1.5 of this bill authorizes the use of flashing amber warning lights on a tow car when the tow car 
is at the scene of a traffic hazard. 
 Section 3 of this bill requires a driver, upon approaching a tow car which is stopped and 
is making use of flashing amber warning lights to: (1) decrease the speed of his vehicle; (2) 
proceed with caution; (3) be prepared to stop; and (4) if possible, drive in a lane that is not 
adjacent to the lane in which the tow car is stopped. (NRS 484.364) 
 Section 4 of this bill authorizes a tow car operator who during daylight attends to a motor 
vehicle disabled on the highway to place a red flare, red lantern, warning light or reflector in 
close proximity to each warning sign which the operator is required to place upon the highway in 
the vicinity of the disabled motor vehicle. (NRS 484.499) 
 Sections 2.5 and 5 of this bill authorize the Nevada Highway Patrol to issue a permit 
authorizing the display of flashing amber warning lights on a vehicle operated by a licensed 
private patrolman or his employee when the private patrolman or his employee who operates the 
vehicle is engaged in the business for which the private patrolman is licensed and the vehicle is: 
(1) on private property which the private patrolman is authorized to protect; (2) on a public road 
and stopped adjacent to private property which the private patrolman is authorized to protect; or 
(3) on a public road and moving at a speed slower than the normal flow of traffic. Section 5 
requires the Nevada Highway Patrol to charge and collect certain fees for the issuance of permits 
to display flashing amber warning lights on a vehicle, including a vehicle operated by a licensed 
private patrolman or his employee. (NRS 484.579) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=690 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 484, NRS 484.364, NRS 484.499, NRS 484.579 
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SB360 – Existing law provides that only a licensed automobile wrecker, dealer of new or used 
motor vehicles or rebuilder may bid to purchase a vehicle from the operator of a salvage pool. 
(NRS 487.470) Section 5 of this bill authorizes a person other than an automobile wrecker, 
dealer of new or used motor vehicles or rebuilder to bid to purchase a vehicle other than a 
nonrepairable vehicle from the operator of a salvage pool, but prohibits the person from: 
(1) purchasing more than three such vehicles in any calendar year from operators of 
salvage pools in this State; (2) purchasing such vehicles for resale; (3) bidding to purchase a 
nonrepairable vehicle; or (4) assisting, soliciting or conspiring with another person to 
engage in any of those acts.  
 Section 2.3 of this bill requires such a person, before he bids to purchase a salvage 
vehicle, to obtain an identifying card which must contain the person’s name and signature, 
personal address, business name and address, if applicable, and picture. Section 2.3 requires the 
Department of Motor Vehicles to charge a fee of $50 for the issuance of each card. A card expires 
on December 31 of the year in which it is issued but may be renewed upon application and 
payment of a renewal fee of $25. The fees collected by the Department from the issuance of the 
cards must be deposited with the State Treasurer for credit to the Motor Vehicle Fund.  
 Section 2.5 of this bill prohibits a person who is licensed or who is required to be licensed 
as an automobile wrecker, dealer of new or used motor vehicles or rebuilder from applying for or 
obtaining an identifying card described in section 2.3. Section 10 of this bill provides that any 
person who violates the provisions of section 2.3 or 2.5 is guilty of a misdemeanor. (NRS 
487.510) 
 Section 11 of this bill increases from 60 to 180 days the period within which an insurance 
company or its authorized agent is required to submit an application for a salvage title or 
nonrepairable vehicle certificate for a salvage vehicle to the Department of Motor Vehicles. (NRS 
487.800) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=982 
Effective May 29, 2009, and January 1, 2010 
 
SB394 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 
________________________________________ 
________________________________________ 
 

Existing law prohibits a person from operating an off-highway vehicle on a highway in this State 
unless the person has obtained a certificate of operation for the off-highway vehicle and has 
attached the certificate of operation to the offhighway vehicle in the manner specified by the 
Department of Taxation. (NRS 490.080) The term “off-highway vehicle” means any motor 
vehicle that is designed primarily for off-highway and all-terrain use, including, without 
limitation, an all-terrain vehicle, an all-terrain motorcycle, a dune buggy, a snowmobile or any 
motor vehicle used for recreational purposes on public lands. (NRS 490.060) Existing law 
requires an authorized dealer of off-highway vehicles to issue a certificate of operation for the 
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off-highway vehicle upon the sale of the vehicle or upon request by a person who purchased the 
vehicle outside this State under certain circumstances. (NRS 490.070) 
 With limited exceptions, section 12 of this bill requires a person who acquires ownership 
of an off-highway vehicle on or after the effective date of that section as provided in paragraph 
(b) of subsection 2 of section 63 of this act to apply to the Department of Motor Vehicles for the 
titling and annual registration of the vehicle within 30 days after acquiring ownership of the 
vehicle. A person who acquired ownership of an off-highway vehicle before the effective date of 
section 12 as provided in paragraph (b) of subsection 2 of section 63 of this act may apply to the 
Department for the titling of the vehicle, but is required to apply to the Department for annual 
registration of the vehicle within 1 year after that date. 
 Section 15 of this bill creates the Fund for Off-Highway Vehicles in the State Treasury. A 
portion of the money received from the fees collected pursuant to section 12 of this bill must be 
deposited into the Fund. All money deposited into the Fund must be used only for projects 
relating to off-highway vehicles as set forth in section 15.  
 Section 16 of this bill creates the Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles. The 
Commission consists of 11 members who are appointed by the Governor. Each member of the 
Commission serves for a term of 3 years and, if money is available from the Fund for Off-
Highway Vehicles, is entitled to receive the per diem allowance and travel expenses provided to 
state officers and employees. 
 Section 17 of this bill imposes various duties upon the Commission, including, without 
limitation, the duty to select nonvoting advisers to the Commission and to adopt regulations for 
awarding grants from the Fund for Off-Highway Vehicles.  
 Section 59 of this bill, in part, repeals the provisions of NRS 490.030, which define the 
term “Department” for purposes of chapter 490 of NRS to mean the Department of Taxation. 
Because NRS 481.015 defines the term “Department” for purposes of title 43 of NRS to mean the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, the effect of the repeal of NRS 490.030 and the amendment of 
NRS 481.015 set forth in section 1 of this bill is to place the authority to administer the provisions 
of chapter 490 of NRS under the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 Sections 20-52 of this bill provide for the licensing of manufacturers, dealers and lessors 
of off-highway vehicles and for the consignment of off-highway vehicles. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1040 
Effective May 31, 2009, June 2, 2009, and July 1, 2011 
 
Wildlife/Hunting/Fishing 
AB194 – Existing law requires the Board of Wildlife Commissioners to establish a system of 
assessing demerit points for a person who is convicted of violating certain laws and regulations in 
this State relating to hunting, fishing and trapping. Existing law also sets forth certain laws for 
which a violation is not included in the system of assessing demerit points. (NRS 501.1812-
501.1818) Section 3 of this bill includes acting as a guide or subguide without a license 
within the group of laws for which a violation is not included in the system of assessing 
demerit points. (NRS 501.1812) 
 Existing law requires each person who provides service as a hunting or fishing guide for 
compensation or who provides that service as an incidental service to customers of a commercial 
enterprise to have a master guide license issued by the Department of Wildlife. Existing law also 
requires any person who assists a master guide and acts as a guide in the course of that activity to 
have a subguide license issued by the Department. (NRS 504.390) Existing law provides that a 
person who acts as a master guide or subguide without first obtaining a license from the 
Department is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. (NRS 504.395) Section 9 of this bill revises the 
penalty for committing such a violation by providing that the person is guilty of a gross 
misdemeanor for a first offense and guilty of a category E felony for a second or subsequent 



 

 56

offense. Section 9 also requires the Board of Wildlife Commissioners to revoke any hunting, 
fishing or trapping license, permit or privilege issued to the person and refuse to issue any new 
hunting, fishing or trapping license to the person for 5 years. Sections 1 and 2 of this bill conform 
existing references to such a violation to account for the change in the penalty. Section 5 of this 
bill prohibits a person from knowingly compensating a person who engages in activity for 
which a master guide license or subguide license is required unless the person engaging in 
that activity provides proof that he is the holder of such a license to the person providing 
the compensation. Section 5 makes a violation of that prohibition a misdemeanor. Sections 7 
and 8 of this bill define the word “compensation” and also revise the existing definition of 
“guide” for the purpose of requiring the issuance of master guide licenses and subguide licenses. 
(NRS 504.390) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=398 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB246 – Existing law authorizes the Department of Wildlife to issue licenses to hunt and fish in 
Nevada. (Chapter 502 of NRS) Section 3 of this bill provides for the issuance of an apprentice 
hunting license to a person who: (1) is 12 years of age or older; (2) has not previously been 
issued a hunting license in this State, another state or a Canadian province; and (3) except 
for the requirement of completing a course of instruction in the responsibilities of hunters, 
is otherwise qualified to obtain a hunting license. Section 3 prohibits the Department from 
imposing a fee for the issuance of an apprentice hunting license but requires the applicant or 
mentor hunter to pay any service fees required by a license agent pursuant to NRS 502.040, the 
habitat conservation fee required by NRS 502.242 and any transaction fee if he conducts an 
online transaction with the Department. Section 3 also provides that it is unlawful for an 
apprentice hunter to hunt in this State unless he is accompanied and directly supervised by a 
mentor hunter who is 18 years of age or older and licensed to hunt in this State. A violation of 
this provision is a misdemeanor. (NRS 501.385) In addition, section 3 provides that the mentor 
hunter must: (1) ensure that the apprentice hunter safely handles and operates his firearm or 
weapon and complies with all applicable laws and regulations regarding hunting and the use of 
firearms; and (2) maintain close visual and verbal contact with, provide adequate direction to and 
maintain the ability readily to assume control of any firearm or weapon from the apprentice 
hunter. 
 Existing law requires a person to complete a course of instruction in the responsibilities 
of hunters before obtaining a hunting license in this State. (NRS 502.330) Sections 3 and 11 of 
this bill provide an exception from this requirement for a person who applies for an apprentice 
hunting license. 
 Under existing law, the Board of Wildlife Commissioners is authorized to provide for the 
issuance of big game tags for the hunting of big game mammals in this State. (Chapter 502 of 
NRS) Section 4 of this bill requires the Commission to establish a program for the issuance of 
additional big game tags each year to be known as “Dream Tags.” A tax-exempt nonprofit 
organization established through the Community Foundation of Western Nevada which has as its 
principal purpose the preservation, protection, management or restoration of wildlife and its 
habitat may purchase such Dream Tags from the Department as are authorized by the 
Commission at prices established by the Commission. The nonprofit organization must agree to 
award the tags by raffle through a private entity acting as its agent that is approved by the 
Department. All money received by the Department for Dream Tags must be deposited with the 
State Treasurer for credit to the Wildlife Account in the State General Fund. All money received 
by the nonprofit organization from the proceeds of the Dream Tag raffle, less certain costs, must 
be used for the preservation, protection, management or restoration of wildlife and its habitat, as 
determined by the Advisory Board on Dream Tags which is created by section 6 of this bill. 
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Section 5 of this bill requires that a person must purchase a resource enhancement stamp to be 
eligible to participate in the Dream Tag raffle. 
 Section 7 of this bill provides that the provisions of chapter 462 of NRS, which provides 
for the administration of charitable lotteries by the State Gaming Control Board and the Nevada 
Gaming Commission, do not apply to the distribution of any tags issued pursuant to chapter 502 
of NRS, regardless of the manner in which the tags are distributed or the entity that distributes the 
tags. 
 Existing law authorizes the Board of Wildlife Commissioners to accept sealed bids for or 
auction not more than 15 big game tags and not more than 5 wild turkey tags each year. (NRS 
502.250) Section 10 of this bill authorizes the Commission to award all or a portion of those tags 
through a Silver State Tag Drawing. Section 10 provides that the amount of the fee for processing 
an application for a Silver State Tag must not be less than $15 or more than $50, as determined by 
regulations adopted by the Commission. Section 10 also provides that any money received from 
the application fee for the drawing, except for a certain amount of money for the costs of 
administering the drawing and the return of fees, must be deposited into the Wildlife Heritage 
Trust Account in the State General Fund. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=496 
Effective June 1, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
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Elections/Public Officers 
 
Electronic Transmission of Ballots 
AB41 

 
Related Federal Law: Uniformed and Overseas 
Citizens Absentee Voting Act, 42 U.S.C. Sections 
1973ff et seq. 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 6 of this bill authorizes the Secretary of State to adopt regulations concerning standards 
for the approved electronic transmission of certain applications, forms and ballots. (NRS 
293.247) 
 Section 8 of this bill expands the acceptable use of the form provided by the Federal 
Government from a special absent ballot to be used only in general elections and only for federal 
offices to allow its use in primary and special elections, in addition to general elections, and for 
state and local offices in addition to federal offices. (NRS 293.3155) 
 Section 15 of this bill provides that an elector of this State who resides outside the United 
States may use the special absent ballot as a simultaneous application for registration and ballot to 
vote. (NRS 293.501) 
 Sections 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 20-22 of this bill allow certain members of the 
Armed Forces and their spouses and dependents, and certain other electors of this State who 
reside outside the United States: (1) to request forms for registration, absent ballots, special 
absent ballots and the form provided by the Federal Government for simultaneous registration 
and request of an absent ballot; and (2) to return voted ballots by approved electronic 
transmission. (NRS 293.3155, 293.3157, 293.320, 293.323, 293.501, 293.502, 293.553, 
293C.315, 293C.320, 
293C.322) 
 Section 16 of this bill expands the eligibility for late registration by those who have 
recently returned to residency in the United States to include: (1) the spouses and dependents of 
members of the Armed Forces stationed outside the United States who have been recently 
discharged; and (2) persons recently separated from employment outside of the United States and 
the spouses and dependents of such persons. (NRS 293.502) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=104 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 293 (numerous sections) and NRS 293C (numerous sections) 
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Judicial Discipline 
AB496 

 
Notes:  The Commission on Judicial Discipline 
(Commission) has authority to discipline judges pursuant to 
NRS 1.425 through 1.4695.  This bill provides that a 
complainant/witness in case against a judge is no longer 
subject to contempt action for breach of confidentiality. The 
bill includes new definitions of terms and forms of discipline, 
including public admonishment and public reprimand.  This 
reform was the subject of study and adoption of written 
recommendations by the Article 6 Commission created in 
2006.  Related Cases: In the Matter of the Honorable 
Elizabeth Halverson, Case No. 0801-1066, entered 
November 17, 2008 by the Nevada Commission on Judicial 
Discipline. 
 

Existing law defines certain terms used in certain provisions of chapter 1 of NRS which relate to 
the Commission on Judicial Discipline. (NRS 1.425-1.429) Sections 1.5-9, 16 and 17 of this bill 
revise certain definitions and define additional terms that are used in those provisions. Section 13 
of this bill requires the Commission to prepare annual and biennial reports concerning, among 
other things, the period for disposition of complaints filed with the Commission. 
 Sections 21, 22, 26 and 27 of this bill authorize the Commission to dismiss a complaint 
with a letter of caution under certain circumstances. (NRS 1.4655, 1.4657, 1.4667, 1.467) Section 
21 of this bill provides, with exceptions, a 3-year statute of limitations for filing a complaint with 
the Commission concerning alleged misconduct or incapacity of a judge. Section 21 also requires 
the Commission, within 18 months after the receipt of such a complaint, to either resolve the 
complaint or authorize the filing of a formal statement of charges relating to the complaint. (NRS 
1.4655) Section 27 of this bill requires a judge to file an answer to a formal statement of charges 
against the judge with the Commission within 20 days after the judge is served with the formal 
statement of charges. (NRS 1.467)  
 Section 28 of this bill generally requires a hearing on a formal statement of charges to be 
held. Further, section 28 requires, if practicable, the hearing to be held not later than 60 days after 
a judge files the answer with the Commission. (NRS 1.4673) Section 28 also requires the 
Commission to prepare findings of fact and conclusions of law setting forth the decision of the 
Commission within 60 days after the conclusion of the hearing on the formal statement of 
charges. (NRS 1.4673) 
 Section 29 of this bill requires the Commission to give a judge 7 days’ notice and an 
opportunity to respond and to hold a public hearing before the Commission suspends the judge 
from office. (NRS 1.4675) Section 30 of this bill adds public admonishment and public reprimand 
to the existing forms of discipline the Commission is authorized to use for a judge who is the 
subject of a complaint. (NRS 1.4677)  
 Section 32 of this bill authorizes a person who files a complaint against a judge with the 
Commission, the judge who is the subject of the complaint or a witness to disclose information 
concerning the complaint and any investigation or proceedings concerning the complaint. Section 
32 also authorizes the Commission to issue an explanatory statement, under certain 
circumstances, concerning a complaint filed with the Commission under certain circumstances in 
which the complaint is made public. (NRS 1.4683) 
 Section 33 of this bill revises provisions governing the documents and exhibits 
concerning a complaint which must be made accessible to the public. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=957 
Effective January 1, 2010 
Amends: NRS 1.425-1.4695 (numerous sections) 
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Municipal Elections 
AB39 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
The existing Charter of the City of North Las Vegas requires that a primary municipal election be 
held before a general election only if there are three or more candidates seeking the office of 
Mayor or Municipal Judge or a particular City Council seat. (North Las Vegas City Charter § 
5.020) This bill makes the holding of a primary municipal election by the City preceding every 
general election mandatory, regardless of the number of candidates seeking a particular elective 
office. The Charters of the Cities of Henderson and Las Vegas currently contain the same 
requirement. (Henderson City Charter § 5.010; Las Vegas City Charter § 5.010) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=102 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: North Las Vegas City Charter 
 
AB79 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 1 of this bill authorizes the governing body of a city to conduct a city election in which 
all ballots must be cast by mail if: (1) the election is a special election; (2) the election involves 
only offices and ballot questions that may be voted on by the voters of only one ward of the city; 
or (3) the election involves only a single office or ballot question. The provisions of existing law 
governing the conduct of city elections apply to such an election except for provisions concerning 
voting in person at polling places, voting by absent ballot and early voting in person. For the 
purpose of conducting such an election, each voting precinct in the city is treated as if it were a 
mailing precinct under existing law. 
 Under existing law, if a candidate for office in a city primary election held in a city 
whose population is 5,000 or more receives a majority of the votes cast for the office, only his 
name must be placed on the ballot for the city general election, and he must run unopposed in that 
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election. (NRS 293C.175) Section 3 of this bill provides instead that such a candidate must be 
declared elected to the office based on the majority vote in the primary election and that his name 
must not be placed on the ballot for the city general election. 
 Section 4 of this bill eliminates a provision which enables a registered voter who is at 
least 65 years of age or who has a physical disability or condition that substantially impairs his 
ability to go to the polling place to request an absent ballot for all elections held during the year 
he requests an absent ballot, thus making it so that, with certain limited exceptions, any registered 
voter providing sufficient written notice may vote an absent ballot. (NRS 293C.310) 
 Existing law requires a counting board and a city clerk to post a signed copy of the voting 
results in a city election on the outside of the facility where the votes were counted, the 
courthouse or the city hall. (NRS 293C.380) Section 5 of this bill requires that the results also be  
posted on an Internet website not later than the start of business on the day immediately following 
the election, if the city or the city clerk maintains such a website. Section 5 also eliminates the 
requirement that the copy of the voting results be signed before it may be posted. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=178 
Effective May 22, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 239C, NRS 293C.110, NRS 293C.310, NRS 293C.380, NRS 293C.387, 
NRS 293C.390 
 
Primary Date 
SB162 

 
Notes: As a result of the change in the primary 
election date, other dates have been changed, 
including the date(s) for filing declaration of 
candidacy (moved up two months). Calendars and 
election information, including judicial elections, 
may be found at the Secretary of State’s website 
located at: 
http://www.sos.state.nv.us/elections/nvelection/ 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Section 6 of this bill changes the date of the primary election from the twelfth Tuesday before the 
general election of each even-numbered year to the second Tuesday in June of each even-
numbered year. (NRS 293.175) To provide an example, if the provisions of this bill had been in 
effect in 2008, the primary election would have been held on June 10, 2008, instead of August 12, 
2008. As a result of changing the date of the primary election, sections 1-5, 7-12 and 14-17 of this 
bill amend various other dates relating to elections such as the date for filing declarations of 
candidacy. 
 Section 16 of this bill changes the date on which a voter’s registration or correction of 
registration information is deemed to be effective to the earlier of the date on which the 
application is postmarked or received by the county clerk. (NRS 293.5235) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=447 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 293 (numerous sections) and NRS 293B.354 
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Family/Children/Divorce 
 
Child Care Facilities 
AB89 – Existing law provides for the licensure of certain child care facilities. (NRS 432A.131-
432A.220) As part of the process for obtaining a license, the Bureau of Services for Child Care of 
the Division of Child and Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services 
conducts a background check of each applicant for a license, licensee, employee of an applicant 
or licensee and every resident of a child care facility or participant in an outdoor youth program 
who is 18 years of age or older. (NRS 432A.170, 432A.175) Section 5 of this bill expands the 
list of crimes that the Bureau must inquire about as part of such an investigation and 
requires the Bureau to request information concerning every applicant, licensee, employee, 
resident or participant from the Statewide Central Registry for the Collection of 
Information Concerning the Abuse or Neglect of a Child to determine whether there has 
been a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect made against any of those persons. 
(NRS 432A.170) Section 6 of this bill requires the Bureau to obtain permission from each such 
applicant, licensee, employee, resident or participant to obtain such information from the 
Statewide Central Registry. (NRS 432A.175) If an employee of an applicant or licensee, or a 
resident or participant, has been convicted of one of the crimes inquired about as part of the 
investigation, the Bureau is required to notify the applicant or licensee. Upon receiving such 
notice, section 2 of this bill requires the applicant or licensee to terminate the employment of the 
employee, remove the resident from the child care facility or remove the participant from the 
outdoor youth program, as applicable, after affording the person an opportunity to correct the 
information. Section 6 further requires an applicant or licensee to notify the Bureau when the 
applicant, licensee, employee, resident or participant is involved in certain legal proceedings or 
disciplinary hearings or charged with certain crimes. (NRS 432A.175) 
 Section 4 of this bill prohibits the Bureau from issuing a provisional license to operate a 
child care facility unless the Bureau has completed an investigation into the qualifications and 
background of the applicant and his employees to ensure that they have not been convicted of 
certain crimes or had a substantiated report of child abuse or neglect made against them. (NRS 
432A.160)  
 Section 7 of this bill expands the grounds for denial of an application for a license to 
operate a child care facility and for taking disciplinary action against a licensee and authorizes the 
Bureau to impose administrative fines for a violation of the statutes governing licensure of child 
care facilities or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto. (NRS 432A.190) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=188 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB103 – Existing law enacted in the 2007 Legislative Session appropriated $250,000 for the 
Legislative Auditor to employ or contract with an auditor to serve as the Child Welfare Specialist 
during the 2007-2009 biennium. (Section 6 of chapter 348, Statutes of Nevada 2007, p. 1659) The 
law set out the duties of the Child Welfare Specialist, which included conducting such 
performance audits of governmental facilities for children as assigned by the Legislative Auditor 
and inspecting, reviewing and surveying other governmental and private facilities for children to 
determine whether such facilities adequately protect the health, safety and welfare of the children 
in the facilities and whether the facilities respect the civil and other rights of the children in their 
care. 
 This bill effectively transfers the duties of the Child Welfare Specialist to the 
Legislative Auditor and codifies those duties in NRS as continuing duties of the Legislative 
Auditor. Section 6 of this bill requires the Legislative Auditor, as directed by the Legislative 



 

 63

Commission, to conduct performance audits of governmental facilities for children. Sections 7 
and 8 of this bill require the Legislative Auditor or his designee to inspect, review and survey 
governmental facilities for children and private facilities for children to determine whether such 
facilities adequately protect the health, safety and welfare of the children in the facilities and 
whether the facilities respect the civil and other rights of the children in their care. Section 9 of 
this bill requires each governmental facility for children and private facility for children to 
cooperate fully with the Legislative Auditor or his designee in the performance of his duties, 
allow the Legislative Auditor or his designee to enter the facility and any area within the facility 
with or without prior notice, interview children and staff at the facility and inspect, review and 
copy any records, reports and other documents relevant to his duties. Section 9 also requires such 
a facility to forward to the Legislative Auditor or his designee copies of any complaint that is 
filed by a child under the care or custody of the facility or by any other person on behalf of such a 
child concerning the health, safety, welfare, and civil and other rights of the child. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=218 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Child Custody/Adoption/ Child Placement 
AB59 
 

Notes: The new presumption is similar to the 
presumption created in cases involving domestic 
violence, but adds a limitation on unsupervised 
visitation as well. Abduction is defined as “the 
commission of an act described in NRS 200.310 
to 200.340, inclusive (kidnapping), or NRS 
200.359 (noncustodial parent willfully removes 
child from custodial parent) or a law of any other 
jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar 
conduct.”  Both presumptions support the “best 
interests of the child” standard. 
 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that an award of child custody or visitation may only be made by 
considering the best interest of the child. (NRS 125.480, 125C.010) Further, existing law creates 
a rebuttable presumption that sole or joint custody of a child by a perpetrator of domestic violence 
is not in the best interest of the child. (NRS 125.480, 125C.230, 432B.157)  
 Section 1 of this bill, for cases involving divorce or other dissolution of marriage: (1) 
creates a similar rebuttable presumption against awarding sole or joint custody or unsupervised 
visitation to a perpetrator of an act of abduction against his child or any other child; (2) defines 
the term “abduction”; (3) provides certain acts that constitute conclusive evidence of an act of 
abduction; and (4) requires a court to follow certain procedures concerning how to determine 
custody when, after a final order of custody has been entered, a magistrate determines probable 
cause exists that a party to the custody proceeding has committed an act of abduction against the 
child or any other child. 
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 Sections 2 and 3 of this bill incorporate the same presumption and provisions into chapter 
125C of NRS concerning custody and visitation and chapter 432B of NRS concerning protection 
of children from abuse and neglect. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=135 
Effective May 11, 2009 
Amends: NRS 125.480; NRS 125C; NRS 432B 
 
AB76 – Existing law requires the licensing authority for foster homes to obtain fingerprints 
from applicants for a license to conduct a foster home, prospective employees of the applicant 
or of a licensee and from any resident of the foster home who is 18 years of age or older for the 
purpose of conducting a criminal background check. (NRS 424.033) Existing law similarly 
requires such a background check of any adult resident of a home in which an agency which 
provides child welfare services wishes to place a child in an emergency situation. (NRS 
432B.391) In addition, the federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public 
Law 109-248, amended title IV of the Social Security Act to require fingerprint-based checks of 
the national crime information databases and to require checks of any state registry of child abuse 
and neglect before placing a child in a prospective foster home or with adoptive parents. To 
comply with this federal Act, section 1 of this bill requires the licensing authority for foster 
homes to obtain permission from each applicant for a license to conduct a foster home, each 
prospective employee of the applicant or of a licensee and any resident of the foster home 
who is 18 years of age or older to conduct a child abuse and neglect screening in every state 
in which the person has resided during the last 5 years and then to conduct such a 
screening. In addition, section 1 requires the Division of Child and Family Services of the 
Department of Health and Human Services to assist the licensing authorities of other states 
in conducting a child abuse and neglect screening of a person who has resided in this State if 
the person has signed a written permission authorizing the screening and authorizes the 
Division to charge a fee for providing such information in an amount not to exceed the 
actual cost to the Division to provide the information. 
 Existing law requires each foster home to be licensed. (NRS 424.030) “Foster home” 
includes a family home in which one to six children under the age of 18 are cared for by a person 
who is not related within the first degree of consanguinity or affinity with or without 
compensation. (NRS 424.013, 424.014)  
 Section 2 of this bill expands the exemptions from the provisions governing licensure of 
foster homes so that those provisions do not apply to a person who provides care to a minor child 
who is in the custody of an agency which provides child welfare services if the caregiver is 
related to the child within the fifth degree of consanguinity and the caregiver has not applied for a 
license. (NRS 424.090) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=175 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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AB500 
 
Notes: NRS 127.053 provides requisites for a 
specific adoption in Nevada.  NRS 127.310 requires 
child placement service providers to be licensed by 
the Division of Child and Family Services (DCFS). 
Violation of this requirement is a misdemeanor. 
__________________________________________

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

__________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that a person may consent to the adoption of his child, and the child will be 
relinquished either to an agency or to the person to whom consent to adopt is given, if the 
adoption is a specific adoption. (NRS 127.040, 127.053) Section 2 of this bill provides that, in a 
specific adoption, the person to whom consent is given assumes legal custody and legal 
responsibility for the child as soon as consent for the adoption is executed. 
 Section 11 of this bill requires a child-placing agency licensed by the Division of Child 
and Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services to include certain 
information confirming its licensure in any advertisement concerning its services. (NRS 127.310) 
 Section 14 of this bill provides that certain sections of this bill may apply retroactively 
and prospectively to petitions for adoption. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=962 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 127 
 
SB342 

 
Notes: This bill applies primarily to courts and 
agencies which provide child welfare services, and 
expands preference from third degree of 
consanguinity to fifth degree of consanguinity.  
The change applies to the placement of a child in 
the following cases: child protection, juvenile, 
divorce/custody, and termination of parental 
rights. 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law requires courts, agencies which provide child welfare services and others to give 
preference to relatives within the third degree of consanguinity when placing a child in the 
custody of a person other than the parent. (NRS 62C.010, 62E.120, 62E.170, 125.480, 432B.390, 
432B.480, 432B.550) Sections 1-7 of this bill expand the relatives who receive such preference to 
include relatives within the fifth degree of consanguinity. Section 8 of this bill similarly  
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authorizes such preference when placing a child whose parents have had their parental rights 
terminated. (NRS 128.110) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=947 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 432B (protection of children), NRS 62C; NRS 62E (juveniles), NRS 125 
(custody), NRS 128 (termination of parental rights) 
 
Child Support 
AB101 

Notes: Participating counties may also withdraw 
from the Program with notice.   
Upon review of master recommendation, the 
district court may, in extraordinary 
circumstances, grant a trial de novo.  Division 
administrator to recognize and take action on 
liens in response to information received from 
other states. 
 
Related Federal Law: Program for the 
Enforcement of Child Support, Part D of the Title 
IV of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 
651 et. seq. 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Section 1 of this bill authorizes each county in this State to participate in the Program for the 
Enforcement of Child Support created under federal law. If a county participates in the Program, 
the county must pay for the cost of the Program in that county. Section 1 also authorizes a county 
that participates in the Program to withdraw from the Program after providing a notice of 
withdrawal to the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services of the Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 Section 3 of this bill specifies that the Administrator of the Division or his designee is 
responsible for and is required to supervise the Program. (NRS 425.365) 
 Sections 5, 7, 10, 14 and 15 of this bill specify that the approval by a district court of a 
recommendation made by a master concerning the support of a dependent child must be made in 
accordance with certain procedural requirements. (NRS 425.382, 425.383, 425.3836, 425.540) 
 Sections 6, 11, 12, 19 and 21 of this bill delete provisions of existing law that require a 
master, after making a recommendation for the support of a dependent child, or a district court to 
ensure that the social security numbers of the parents or legal guardians of the child and the 
person to whom support is paid are placed in the records relating to the matter and remain 
confidential. (NRS 425.3828, 425.3844, 425.3855, 125.230, 125B.055) 
 Section 8 of this bill authorizes a master who conducts a hearing relating to the support of 
a dependent child to conduct the hearing by telephone or by any audiovisual or other electronic 
means outside the judicial district in which the master is appointed. (NRS 425.3832) 
 Section 9 of this bill provides that if a district court reviews a recommendation of a 
master concerning the support of a dependent child, the review must be conducted on the record 
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of the case before the master unless the district court, in extraordinary circumstances as 
determined by the district court, grants a trial de novo. (NRS 425.3834) 
 Under existing law, a master who makes a recommendation concerning the support of a 
dependent child must furnish the recommendation to each party in the case before the master. 
Each party may then file an objection to the recommendation within 10 days after receiving the 
recommendation. If a notice of objection is not filed, the district court must accept the 
recommendation and may enter judgment thereon. Section 11 of this bill provides that if a notice 
of objection is not filed, the recommendation of the master shall be deemed approved by the 
district court and the clerk of the court may file the recommendation. (NRS 425.3844) 
 Section 13 of this bill provides that a financial institution which is doing business in 
Nevada and which receives notification of a lien against a responsible parent from an agency for 
the enforcement of child support located in another state is required to encumber all assets held 
by the financial institution on behalf of the responsible parent and surrender those assets upon the 
enforcement of the lien. Section 13 also provides immunity from liability for the agency located 
in another state for disclosing information and providing assets to certain other persons. (NRS 
425.460) 
 Sections 16 and 17 of this bill set forth penalties that may be imposed against an 
employer who refuses or intentionally fails to deliver to the appropriate enforcing authority any 
money that the employer is required to withhold from an employee’s wages for child support 
owed by the employee. The penalties include, without limitation, the payment of punitive 
damages to the person to whom the child support is owed. (NRS 31A.095, 31A.120) 
 Section 18 of this bill deletes provisions of existing law that require a court that grants a 
decree of divorce to ensure that the social security numbers of both parties to the decree are 
provided to the Division. (NRS 125.130) 
 Section 22 of this bill revises provisions governing the amounts paid by a parent for 
medical support for a child pursuant to a court order requiring the payment of that support. (NRS  
125B.085) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=216 
Effective: October 1, 2009 (Sections 1-14, 24, Sections 16-23), Date of repeal of federal law 
(Section 15 effective, Section 14 expires) 
Amends: NRS 425 (numerous sections); NRS 125, 125B; NRS 31 
Repeals:  NRS 425 provisions requiring courts to maintain confidentiality of social security 
numbers of parents and legal guardians in support actions. 
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AB280  
 
Notes: Nevada enacted UIFSA in 1997 as required 
to obtain federal funding for enforcement of 
child/spousal support obligations. The Act 
establishes the procedures and jurisdictional 
requirements regarding issuance, enforcement and 
modification of interstate child support and 
spousal support orders.  
 
AB 280 defines foreign country as “a country, 
including a political subdivision thereof, other 
than the United States, which authorizes the 
issuance of support orders and: 1. Which has been 

declared under the law of the United States to be a foreign reciprocating country; 2. Which has 
established a reciprocal arrangement for child support with this State as provided in NRS 
130.308; 3. Which has enacted a law or established procedures for the issuance and enforcement 
of support orders which are substantially similar to the procedures under this chapter; or 3. In 
which the Convention is in force with respect to the United States.” 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Nevada enacted the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act in 1997. (NRS 130.0902-130.802; 
Chapter 489, Statutes of Nevada 1997, p. 2311) The Act establishes the procedures and 
jurisdictional requirements regarding the issuance, enforcement and modification of interstate 
child-support and spousal-support orders. Because the United States Congress has made the 
enactment of the Act a condition for states to receive federal funding for child support 
enforcement efforts, every jurisdiction in the United States has enacted the Act. This bill enacts 
the amendments to the Act that were proposed and finalized by the National Conference of 
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws in 2008. 
 This bill amends existing law to provide that the provisions of the Act apply to a foreign 
support order, a foreign tribunal, or obligees, obligors or children residing in a foreign country. 
This bill also provides for various powers, duties and procedures for support orders under the 
International Recovery of Child Support and Other Forms of Family Maintenance treaty, which 
include: (1) specific filings an obligee or an obligor may make under the treaty; (2) the ability to 
file a direct request for determination or modification of certain orders; and (3) the registration, 
recognition and enforcement of certain foreign orders in this State. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=560 
Effective on the date that the provisions of The Hague Convention on the International 
Recovery of Child Support and Other Forms of Family Maintenance is ratified by the 
President and the United States deposits its instrument of ratification. 
Amends: NRS 126 (numerous sections) and NRS 130 
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Domestic Partnership 
SB283 

Notes: Parties are required to file signed 
statement with Secretary of State and pay a filing 
fee of $50.00.  Domestic partners are protected 
from discriminatory treatment, and may assert 
community property rights, and seek debt 
division, financial support/child support from the 
other partner.  A surviving domestic partner also 
has same rights as widow/widower.  Section 9 
provides provisions for termination of 
partnership.  Legal unions formed in other states 
that are substantially equivalent to Nevada’s DP 
Act must be recognized.  
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This bill establishes a domestic partnership as a new type of civil contract recognized in the State 
of Nevada. Under the provisions of this bill, with certain exceptions, domestic partners have the 
same rights, protections, benefits, responsibilities, obligations and duties as do parties to any 
other civil contract created pursuant to title 11 of NRS. This bill also clarifies that a domestic 
partnership is not a marriage for the purposes of Section 21 of Article 1 of the Nevada 
Constitution. 
 Section 8 of this bill sets forth that no public or private employer in this State is required 
to provide health care benefits to or for the domestic partner of an officer or employee. Section 8 
also clarifies that any public or private employer in this State may voluntarily provide health care 
benefits to or for the domestic partner of an officer or employee upon such terms and conditions 
as the affected parties may deem appropriate. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=764 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 11 
 
Foster Care 
AB227 – Sections 4-7 of this bill provide for licensing of persons who operate a foster care 
agency that assists an agency which provides child welfare services in placing or arranging 
for the placement of children in foster care. Section 4 requires the Division of Child and 
Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services to adopt regulations regarding 
the placement of children in foster care, including, without limitation, regulations establishing the 
minimum standards for foster care agencies and regarding the issuance and renewal of a license 
to operate a foster care agency. Section 5 authorizes a licensing authority, which is an agency 
which provides child welfare services, to license foster care agencies within its jurisdiction in 
accordance with the regulations adopted by the Division. If a licensing authority licenses foster 
care agencies, then all foster care agencies within the jurisdiction of the licensing authority will 
be required to obtain a license. Section 5 further authorizes a licensing authority to impose a fee 
for the licensing and renewal of a license to operate a foster care agency up to a specific amount 

AOC Legislative Overview 2009Slide 26

Family
District Court

• SB 283 Nevada Domestic Partnership Act
– New type of civil contract
– Domestic partners gain most rights, 

protections, benefits granted to spouses
– DP not marriage under Art. 1, Section 21
– Employer may, but is not required to provide 

health care benefits for partner



 

 70

that must not exceed the actual cost incurred by the authority for providing or renewing the 
license. Section 6 provides that a license to operate a foster care agency is valid for 2 years.  
 Section 7.5 of this bill authorizes an agency which provides child welfare services to 
determine the services that a foster care agency may provide on behalf of the agency which 
provides child welfare services.  
 Section 18 of this bill requires the Division to adopt the necessary regulations on or 
before July 1, 2010. 
Existing law requires persons who operate a family foster home or group foster home to obtain a 
license from the appropriate licensing authority. (Chapter 424 of NRS) The Division of Child and 
Family Services has adopted regulations for family and group foster homes pursuant to this 
chapter and has also adopted similar standards for treatment homes, which are a specialized type 
of foster home. (NAC 424.075, 424.650-424.705)  
Section 3 of this bill defines what constitutes a “specialized foster home” and sections 8-14 of this 
bill set forth in statute the requirement that persons who operate a specialized foster home obtain 
a license from the appropriate licensing authority. (NRS 424.010, 424.014, 424.020, 424.030, 
424.0365, 424.040, 424.085)  
 Section 19 of this bill makes the licensing provisions included in this bill effective on 
January 1, 2011, so that a license to operate a foster care agency and a license to operate a 
specialized foster home may not be required before that date. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=461 
Effective May 29, 2009 and January 1, 2011 
 
Guardianship 
AB320 

Notes: Revisions to existing law require the 
guardian to keep the court more informed and 
advised as to the status of the ward.  Consent to 
move the ward to a secured residential long term 
care facility is not required if consent previously 
granted or if a physician/social worker/employee 
of county protective services recommends the 
transfer in writing.  Section 8 provides correction 
to attorney/PR compensation provisions. Secured 
residential long-term care facility is defined as “a 
residential facility providing long-term care that 
is designed to restrict a resident of the facility 
from leaving the facility, a part of the facility or 

the grounds of the facility through the use of locks or other mechanical means unless the resident 
is accompanied by a staff member of the facility . . .” 
Related Legislation: SB 277 (See Section 8 for technical corrections made to SB 277 re 
compensation for attorney/PR.) 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

AOC Legislative Overview 2009Slide 24

Family
District Court

• AB 320 Guardianship Action 
Requirements
– Assessment of ward by physician
– Right to counsel advice to ward
– Attendance by ward via videoconference OK
– Report to court/court’s consent required if 

ward is moved to “secured residential long 
term-care facility”



 

 71

Section 3 of this bill requires that a petitioner for the appointment of a guardian for a proposed 
adult ward provide the court with an assessment completed by a licensed physician of the 
proposed adult ward’s needs and  limitations in capacity before the court makes a final order in 
the case. (NRS 159.044) 
 Section 4 of this bill provides that a proposed adult ward must be advised of his right to 
counsel in the guardianship proceeding and requires that certain information or responses 
provided by the adult ward relating to his right to counsel and to the proceeding be transmitted to 
the court. (NRS 159.0485) Existing law provides that a proposed ward found in this State must 
attend a hearing for the appointment of a guardian unless a certificate is signed indicating the 
reasons the proposed ward cannot appear. (NRS 159.0535)  
 Section 5 of this bill provides that a proposed ward who is unable to attend a hearing for 
the appointment of a general or special guardian may attend by videoconference. Section 5 
further provides that if a proposed ward is an adult and cannot attend the hearing or appear by 
videoconference, the court must have the person who signs the certificate to excuse the proposed 
adult ward from attending the hearing meet with the proposed adult ward and report back to the 
court regarding the proposed adult ward’s desire for representation at the hearing, preferences if a  
guardianship is imposed and any information the person believes may have limited any of the 
proposed adult ward’s responses.  
 Existing law provides that a guardian must file with the court annually, or at such other 
times the court deems appropriate, a written report on the condition of the ward and the exercise 
of authority and the performance of duties by the guardian. (NRS 159.081) Section 6 of this bill: 
(1) provides that a guardian must also file with the court a report within 10 days of moving a 
ward to a secured residential long-term care facility; and (2) authorizes the court to determine the 
form and contents of such a report. 
 Section 7 of this bill requires a guardian to petition the court and receive the court’s 
consent before moving a ward into a secured residential long-term care facility. However, a 
guardian does not need to petition the court if the court has already granted the guardian the 
authority to move the ward to such a facility or if a licensed physician, a physician employed by 
the Department of Veterans Affairs, a licensed social worker or an employee of the county’s 
office of protective services recommends the transfer in writing. (NRS 159.113) 
 Section 8 of this bill makes a technical correction to section 27 of Senate Bill No. 277 of 
this session, which establishes the allowable compensation of an attorney of a personal 
representative. (NRS 150.060) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=635 
Effective June 4, 2009 and October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 159 and NRS 150 
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SB287 
 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 1 of this bill revises existing law to allow a court to appoint a person convicted of a 
felony as a guardian if the court determines such conviction should not disqualify that person. 
(NRS 159.059) 
 Section 2 of this bill revises existing law to allow any interested person to petition a court 
for an order authorizing a guardian to take certain actions. (NRS 159.078) 
 Sections 4-37 of this bill adopt provisions relating to trusts. (Chapter 163 of NRS) 
Sections 13-19 provide for the classification of certain trusts. Section 13 provides that: (1) a 
creditor may not exercise and a court may not order a beneficiary or a trustee to exercise certain 
powers or discretion; (2) trust property is not subject to the personal obligations of the trustee; 
and (3) a settlor may provide in a trust instrument for limitations on a beneficiary’s power to 
transfer his interests. Section 15 sets forth the factors for determining when a settlor or 
beneficiary may be exercising undue influence over a trust. Section 16 provides factors for 
determining when a settlor is the alter ego of a trustee. Section 17 provides the classifications of a 
distribution interest and how such interests are divided in a trust. Section 18 provides that a 
beneficiary has an enforceable right to distribution of a support interest. Section 19 describes the 
discretion a trustee may exercise with regard to the distribution of certain interests. 
 Sections 20-37 of this bill adopt provisions concerning directed trusts. Section 30 limits 
the liability of certain fiduciaries. Section 32 provides when an adviser to a trust is also 
considered a fiduciary. Section 33 prescribes the powers and duties of a protector of a trust. 
Section 34 requires certain persons who help facilitate a trust to submit to the jurisdiction of this 
State. Section 35 sets forth the powers and discretion that certain persons who assist in facilitating 
the administration of a trust may execute. Section 36 limits the claims a creditor can bring against 
a settlor or beneficiary. Section 37 provides for the transfer of trust assets to another trust under 
certain circumstances. 
 Sections 38-42 of this bill amend existing law regarding trusts to provide greater ability 
of a settlor or beneficiary to modify or terminate a trust and to account for changes in a trust 
related to federal or state taxes. (NRS 163.030, 163.050, 163.185, 163.260) 
 Sections 44-50 of this bill adopt provisions governing the administration of trusts. 
(Chapter 164 of NRS) Section 44 provides a process to contest an irrevocable trust. Section 45 
provides that certain persons, if not already 
represented, may be represented by certain other persons with similar interests in proceedings 
concerning the administration of a trust. Section 46 grants a trustee the power to convert a trust 
into a unitrust. Sections 47-49 provide for the administration of a unitrust. Section 50 provides for 
the distribution of community property in a nontestamentary trust established by married settlors. 
 Section 51 of this bill amends existing procedures for proceedings against a 
nontestamentary trust. (NRS 164.015)  
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 Sections 58-60 of this bill amend existing law concerning the powers and responsibilities 
of a settlor or trustee for a spendthrift trust. (NRS 166.040, 166.120, 166.170) 
 Sections 61, 63 and 64 of this bill provide for the exemption of certain trust property, 
interests or powers from execution or attachment. (NRS 21.075, 21.090, 31.045) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=773 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 159.059, NRS 159.078, NRS Chpt. 163, NRS 163.002, NRS 163.030, NRS 
163.050, NRS 163.260, NRS Chpt. 164, NRS 164.015, NRS 164.720, NRS 164.725, NRS 
164.730, NRS 164.900, NRS 165.160, NRS 166.040, NRS 166.120, NRS 166.170, NRS 21.075, 
NRS 21.080, NRS 31.045 
 
SB313 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law sets forth the procedures for the appointment of a guardian for a ward, the powers 
and duties of a guardian and the termination of a guardianship. (Chapter 159 of NRS) This bill: 
(1) amends various provisions relating to a guardianship; and (2) adopts, in part, the Uniform 
Adult Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Jurisdiction Act promulgated by the Uniform 
Law Commission. Section 4 of this bill provides that a court may determine that a petitioner is a 
vexatious litigant if the petitioner files a petition that is without merit more than once, and may 
impose sanctions against the petitioner. 
 Section 5 of this bill requires a guardian to keep records related to the guardianship, 
including financial records, for a period of 7 years. Section 6 of this bill provides that if a ward 
resides with a care provider which is an institution or facility, the care provider shall furnish 
itemized accountings of all financial activity pertaining to the ward on a quarterly basis and as 
requested by the guardian. 
 Sections 7-20 of this bill adopt in part the Uniform Adult Guardianship and Protective 
Proceedings Jurisdiction Act, which was promulgated by the Uniform Law Commission in 2007. 
According to the Uniform Law Commission, because of increasing population mobility, cases 
involving simultaneous and conflicting jurisdiction over guardianship are increasing, and even 
when all parties agree, steps such as transferring a guardianship to another state can require that 
the parties start over anew in the second state. Obtaining recognition of a guardian’s authority in 
another state in order to sell property or to arrange for a residential placement is often impossible. 
The Uniform Act is intended to address those problems concerning jurisdictional issues. The 
Uniform Act contains five articles, which are incorporated into sections 7-20 and which address 
the following topics: (1) Article 1 contains definitions and provisions designed to facilitate 
cooperation between courts in different states; (2) Article 2 specifies which court has jurisdiction 
to appoint a guardian, with the objective being to locate jurisdiction in one, and only 
one, state except in cases of emergency or in situations where an individual owns property located 
in multiple states; (3) Article 3 specifies a procedure for transferring proceedings from one state 
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to another; (4) Article 4 addresses enforcement of orders in other states; and (5) Article 5 contains 
boilerplate provisions common to all uniform acts. However, sections 7-20 do not contain, or 
revise, certain provisions of the Uniform Act. 
 Sections 25 and 42 of this bill revise the provisions relating to the persons who must 
receive notice of a guardianship petition. (NRS 159.034, 159.115) Section 29 of this bill revises 
the information contained in a notice for petition for guardianship to include certain findings 
about the ward’s competence. (NRS 159.044) Sections 26-28 and 30 of this bill amend certain 
provisions concerning venue and jurisdiction for guardianship proceedings. (NRS 159.037, 
159.039, 159.041, 159.0487)  
 Sections 32-34 of this bill revise the requirements concerning the supporting 
documentation necessary for certain petitions. (NRS 159.052, 159.0523, 159.0525) Sections 37-
41 and 43 of this bill revise the authority of a 
guardian to manage the estate and affairs of a ward. (NRS 159.0755, 159.076, 159.079, 159.0895, 
159.113, 159.117) Sections 44-52 of this bill revise certain provisions concerning the sale of 
property of a ward. (NRS 159.123, 159.134, 
159.1425, 159.1435, 159.144, 159.1455, 159.1535, 159.154)  
 Section 55 of this bill exempts certain guardianship property from a presumption of 
abandonment for the purposes of the statutory provisions relating to unclaimed property. (NRS 
120A.500) Section 57 of this bill revises the provisions relating to possession of the assets held 
by a guardian of a decedent. (NRS 143.030) Section 58 of this bill revises the provisions 
governing responsibility for the repayment of certain expenses of a ward paid for by a county. 
(NRS 428.070) 
 Sections 61-64 of this bill revise provisions concerning the release of a ward who was 
involuntarily committed to provide that: (1) the facility must notify the guardian before the ward 
is released; (2) the guardian has discretion to determine where to release the ward; and (3) if the 
guardian does not determine where to release the ward within a certain period, the facility will 
release the ward according to its own plan. (NRS 433A.220, 433A.380-433A.400) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=879 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 159, NRS 159.013, NRS 159.017, NRS 159.024, NRS 159.025, NRS 
159.034, NRS 159.037, NRS 159.039, NRS 159.041, NRS 159.044, NRS 159.0487, NRS 
159.049, NRS 159.052, NRS 159.0523, NRS 159.0525, NRS 159.059, NRS 159.0755, NRS 
159.076, NRS 159.079, NRS 159.0895, NRS 159.113, NRS 159.115, NRS 159.117, NRS 
159.123, NRS 159.134, NRS 159.1425, NRS 159.1435, NRS 159.144, NRS 159.1455, NRS 
159.1535, NRS 159.154, NRS 120A.500, NRS 143.020, NRS 143.030, NRS 428.070, NRS 
433.504, NRS 433A.190, NRS 433A.220, NRS 433A.380, NRS 433A.390, NRS 433A.400 
 
Repeals: NRS 159.0365 
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Wills/Probate 
SB141 
 

 
Notes: A person authorized to act is defined as “a 
person who, by section 13 of this act or by the 
laws of the United States, including members of 
the diplomatic and consular service of the United 
State designated by Foreign Service Regulations, 
is empowered to supervise the execution of 
international wills.”  An active attorney licensed 
in Nevada and in good standing qualifies as an 
authorized person.  An international will is 
subject to the ordinary rules of revocation of 
wills. 
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This bill enacts the Uniform International Wills Act, which was promulgated by the National 
Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws in 1973 and was intended to provide 
testators with a way of making wills that would be valid as to form in all states adopting the 
uniform act and all countries joining the Washington Convention of 1973. 
 Sections 6, 7 and 8 of this bill provide the form and requirements for the valid execution 
of an international will. Section 7 provides that the will must be made in writing, signed by the 
testator and acknowledged by two witnesses and a person authorized to act in connection with 
international wills. Section 8 provides where signatures must be placed, how the will must be 
dated and that the testator can make a declaration concerning the safekeeping of his will.  
 Section 9 of this bill provides that a certificate must be attached to the will establishing 
that the requirements for executing an international will have been complied with, and sets forth 
the contents of that certificate. Section 10 of this bill provides that the certificate is conclusive of 
the formal validity of the will. The absence or irregularity of a certificate does not affect the 
formal validity of the will. Section 11 of this bill provides that an international will is subject to 
the ordinary rules of revocation of wills. 
 Section 13 of this bill provides that attorneys admitted to practice in this State and in 
good standing are deemed to be authorized persons in relation to international wills. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=371 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: Title 12 (new chapter) 
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SB277 
Notes: The probate court can decide whether to 
appoint an executor/PR with felony conviction, as 
well as whether a nonresident individual or 
banking institution that is not authorized to do 
business in Nevada can serve.  A beneficiary of a 
will with a no-contest clause may bring a court 
action without reduction/elimination of their share, 
in certain circumstances.  Prove up for a will can 
include a copy of a non-testamentary trust, or 
proof showing that it was “more likely than not” 
the will existed.  Attorneys may charge 
hourly/contingent rates and for “extraordinary 
services” in some cases. Numerous other 

provisions. 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law provides, with certain exceptions, that a will is revoked as to a person’s spouse if the 
person married the spouse after making a will and the spouse survives him. Section 2 of this bill 
additionally provides that the will is not revoked if the spouse is provided for by a transfer of 
property outside of the will under certain circumstances. (NRS 133.110) Further, section 2 
provides that if a will is revoked as to a spouse, the spouse is entitled to the same share of the 
property as if the person who made the will had died intestate, meaning without a will. Section 3 
of this bill amends the law in a similar manner as section 2 with regard to a child who is born 
after his parent made a will that does not provide for the child. (NRS 133.160) 
 Existing law provides that if a person dies without a will and he leaves no issue, meaning 
children, grandchildren or more remote lineal descendents, surviving spouse, father or mother, the 
person’s estate must be distributed in equal shares to his brothers and sisters and to the children of 
his deceased brother or sister in equal shares per person. Section 5 of this bill provides that under 
such circumstances, the person’s brothers and sisters each receive a share and the lawful issue of 
any deceased brother or sister receive shares by right of representation, which means the lawful 
issue receive the same share their parents would have received. (NRS 134.060) 
 Section 8 of this bill generally provides for the enforcement of a no-contest clause in a 
will with certain exceptions, including that a devisee’s share will not be reduced or eliminated if 
the devisee institutes legal action to invalidate a will in good faith and based on probable cause. 
Section 35 of this bill amends the law in a 
similar manner as section 8 with regard to a no-contest clause in a trust.  
 Existing law sets forth the qualifications for an executor of an estate, which include that a 
person must not have been convicted of a felony relating to the position of an executor. Section 9 
of this bill gives the court discretion to determine whether a conviction for a felony should 
disqualify the person from serving in the position of an executor. (NRS 138.020) Existing law 
sets forth the qualifications for appointment as an administrator of an estate, which include that a 
person must not have been convicted of a felony relating to the position of an administrator. 
Section 10 of this bill: (1) amends the law in a similar manner as section 9 with regard to the 
qualifications for an administrator; and (2) revises the circumstances in which a person who is not 
a resident of Nevada may be qualified to serve as an administrator and in which a banking 
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corporation not authorized to do business in Nevada may be qualified to serve as an 
administrator. (NRS 139.010)  
 Existing law provides for the appointment by the court of a special administrator to 
collect and take charge of the estate of a decedent. Section 13 of this bill amends existing law to 
require a court to appoint as special administrators of an estate only those persons who satisfy the 
qualifications for appointment as an administrator of an estate. (NRS 140.020) Sections 15-18 of 
this bill revise certain provisions regarding the support of a decedent’s family to authorize the 
court to make certain decisions if it is deemed advisable considering the family’s needs and 
resources. (NRS 146.010, 146.020, 146.030, 146.050) 
 Existing law provides for compensation of an attorney for a personal representative. 
(NRS 150.060) Sections 21-24 and 27 of this bill provide for compensation of such an attorney 
based upon, among other things, an hourly basis, the value of the estate and a contingency fee 
basis. Section 21 also provides for compensation of such an attorney for extraordinary services 
and defines the term “extraordinary services” for that purpose. 
 Sections 30 and 31 of this bill provide that certain persons may seek declaratory relief 
under chapter 30 of NRS regarding a will, trust or certain other probate matters, but such 
proceedings for declaratory relief must only be 
commenced pursuant to titles 12 and 13 of NRS, as appropriate. (NRS 30.040, 30.060) Section 32 
of this bill revises the definition of “community property” as used in various provisions 
throughout NRS. (NRS 41B.050, 123.220, 132.075) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=749 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 133; NRS 134; NRS 136; NRS 137; NRS 138; NRS 139; NRS 140; NRS 145; 
NRS 146; NRS 148;NRS 150; NRS 153; NRS 155; NRS 30; NRS 123; NRS 163  
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Judicial Administration/Funding 
 
Bail Bonds 
AB462 

 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

This bill provides that a corporate surety that is authorized to transact insurance in this State is a 
sufficient surety for all courts. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=886 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 178.504 
 
Civil Filing Fees/Court Funding/More Judges 
AB64 

 
Notes: The new judges elected in November 2010 
serve four year terms as opposed to six year terms 
pursuant to Art. 6 Section 5.  
 
Related Bills: AB65 
 
Related Court Cases: Halverson v. Secretary of 
State, 186 P. 893, Nev., July 3, 2008 (No. 51539). 
Petitioner unsuccessfully challenged 
constitutionality AB 195, which provided for two 
year terms for District Court Judges.   
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Sections 1 and 2 of this bill increase the number of district judges in the Second Judicial District, 
which includes Washoe County, by one district judge, who is not a member of the family court. 
(NRS 3.010, 3.012) 

AOC Legislative Overview 2009Slide 1

Judicial Administration
Bail Bonds

• AB462 Corporate Surety
– A corporate surety to transact insurance is 

sufficient surety to conduct business in every 
court in the State

– Dose not prohibit banning bail bond 
companies that violate court rule or exercise 
bad practices, etc.

AOC Legislative Overview 2009Slide 2

Judicial Administration
District Court

• AB 64 New District Court Judges
– One new judge for the Second JD who is not 

a family court judge
– Nine new judges in the Eighth JD, two of 

whom must be family court judges 
– All new judges serve 4-year terms.



 

 79

 Sections 3-5 of this bill increase the number of district judges in the Eighth Judicial 
District, which includes Clark County, by nine district judges, two of whom must be judges of the 
family court. (NRS 3.010, 3.018, 3.0185) 
 Section 10 of this bill provides that this bill will become effective if, and only if, 
Assembly Bill No. 65 of this session, which provides for the collection and disposition of 
additional court fees, is enacted by the Legislature and becomes effective. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=141 
Effective: October 1, 2009: Sections 1, 3, 6, 7 and 9; January 3, 2011: Sections 2, 4 and 5  
Amends: NRS 3.012, 3.018, 3.0185 
 
AB65 

 
Notes: Section 2 establishes appropriate uses of 
the funds “for the benefit of the court” such as 
personnel.  Section 3 establishes appropriate uses 
of the funds for court security, such as providing 
security training to personnel.  Section 5 provides 
that 1.5 percent of the $50.00 collect is directed to 
the county recorder, the rest to the Account for 
Foreclosure Mediation to be administered by the 
Court Administrator. 
 
Related Bill: AB64 and AB149 
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Section 2 of this bill: (1) authorizes a district court to charge and collect certain additional filing 
fees; (2) requires the fees to be deposited into a special county account maintained for the benefit 
of the court; and (3) provides that the fees may be used only for court staffing, capital costs, debt 
service, renovation, furniture, fixtures, equipment, technology, and in counties whose population 
is less than 100,000 (currently counties other than Clark and Washoe Counties), for court 
appointed special advocate programs. 
 Section 3 of this bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to impose by ordinance 
a filing fee of not more than $20 to be paid on the commencement of any civil action or 
proceeding in the district court and provides that the fee may be used only for programs for court 
security or for reimbursement of capital costs for maintaining new judicial departments and must 
not supplant existing budgets for bailiffs or deputy marshals assigned to work in a courtroom.  
 Section 5 of this bill requires a county recorder to collect a fee of $50 upon the filing of 
any notice of default and election to sell and provides that such fees must be deposited in a 
special account to support a program of foreclosure mediation established by Supreme Court 
Rule. However, section 5 also provides that 1.5 percent of the fees collected may be placed in a 
special account for use by the office of the county recorder. (NRS 107.080) 
 Section 6 of this bill provides that notwithstanding the uses provided for the fees in 
section 2 of this bill, the fees collected pursuant to section 2 must also be used to fund the cost of 
the salary and benefits of any district judge added by Assembly Bill No. 64 of this session for the 
period from January 1, 2011, through June 30, 2011. Section 7 of this bill requires the county 
treasurer of a county in which a district judge is added by Assembly Bill No. 64 of this session to 
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remit, from the special account administered and maintained pursuant to section 2 of this bill, an 
amount equal to $104,104 to the State Controller for credit to the District Judges’ Salary Account 
of the Supreme Court for each judge added in that county. Section 8 of this bill provides that 
sections 6 and 7 of this bill become effective if, and only if, Assembly Bill No. 64 of this session 
is enacted by the Legislature and becomes effective. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=142 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 19 and NRS 107 

 
AB531 

Notes: NRS 176.059 provides that a person who 
pleads or is found guilty of a misdemeanor is 
required to pay an administrative assessment (AA) 
in addition to any other penalty imposed by the 
court.  A portion of the AA funds are used to 
support the courts. This bill does not change the 
percentage of funds received. 
 
Related Court Cases: Board of Commissioners 
v. White, 102 Nev. 587 (1986), administrative 
assessments constitutional; McKay v. City of Las 
Vegas, 106 Nev. 203 (1990), sliding scale 
calculation proper.  

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Under existing law, a person who pleads or is found guilty of a misdemeanor is required to pay an 
administrative assessment in addition to any other penalty imposed by the judge. A portion of the 
proceeds of those assessments must be deposited in the State General Fund and distributed for 
certain prescribed uses. (NRS 176.059)  
 This bill revises the provisions governing the distribution of those proceeds by: (1) 
authorizing the Court Administrator to allocate a certain percentage of the proceeds among 
several prescribed uses; (2) authorizing the use of such proceeds pursuant to legislative 
authorization for the support of programs within the Office of the Attorney General related to 
victims of domestic violence; and (3) providing that any proceeds deposited in the State General 
Fund that are not distributed must be transferred to the uncommitted balance of the State General 
Fund. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=1063 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 176.059 
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SB433 

 
Notes: Classified employees (ex. 96 hours) are 
treated differently than 
unclassified/exempt/nonclassified employees (ex. 
12 days).  Also, part time employees are not 
exempt.  Pursuant to ADKT 437, Court employees 
are not required to take furloughs until the Court 
has reviewed the budget for the first quarter of 
fiscal year 2010.   
 

 

 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This bill is related to public employees; establishing the maximum allowed salaries for certain 
employees in the classified and unclassified service of the State; requiring employees of the State 
to take a certain number of days of unpaid furlough leave during the 2009-2011 biennium; 
providing exceptions to the furlough requirement; making appropriations from the State General 
Fund and State Highway Fund for the salaries of certain employees of the State; making certain 
appropriations contingent on specified projections of unappropriated balances in the State 
General Fund; and providing other matters properly relating thereto. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1162 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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Court Records 
AB46 

Notes: NRS 202.360 prohibits a person from 
owning or possessing a firearm if that person has 
been adjudicated mentally ill or has been 
committed to a mental health facility.  This bill 
requires a court to transmit certain documents to 
the Central Repository, i.e., an order, plea, or 
verdict re involuntary admission to mental health 
facility, appointment of guardian for person 
w/mental defect, finding of incompetency to stand 
trial, verdict of acquittal by reason of insanity or 
plea of guilty but mentally ill. 
 Pursuant to federal law, the Central 
Repository must then transmit these records to the 

National Instant Criminal Background Check System records (NICS) using the appropriate form. 
These documents are not public records for purposes of NRS 239 et. seq. 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Federal law requires states to transmit to the National Instant Criminal Background Check 
System records of adjudication of mental illness or incompetence, involuntary admission to 
mental health facilities and other records which indicate a person is prohibited from purchasing a 
firearm. Federal law also requires states to implement a program by which a person who was 
previously adjudicated mentally ill or involuntarily committed can apply to have his right to 
possess a firearm restored and ties this requirement to certain federal funding for states under the 
NICS Improvement Amendments Act of 2007. (Public Law 110-180) Nevada law prohibits a 
person from owning or possessing a firearm if he has been adjudicated as mentally ill or has been 
committed to any mental health facility. (NRS 202.360) 
 Sections 1-4 and 13 of this bill require a court to transmit to the Central Repository for 
Nevada Records of Criminal History a record of any court order, judgment, plea or verdict 
concerning the involuntary admission of a person to a mental health facility, the appointment of a 
guardian for a person who has a mental defect, a finding that a person is incompetent to stand 
trial, a verdict acquitting a person by reason of insanity or a plea of guilty but mentally ill, along 
with a statement that the record is being transmitted for inclusion in all appropriate databases of 
the National Instant Criminal Background Check System. (NRS 159.055, 174.035, 175.533, 
175.539, 178.425, 433A.310) 
 Section 7 of this bill requires the Central Repository to take reasonable steps to ensure 
that the records transmitted to it by the court are included in each appropriate database of the 
National Instant Criminal Background Check System. In accordance with federal law, this section 
also provides a procedure for a person who is the subject of such a record to petition a court to 
have the record removed from the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and to 
have his right to possess or purchase a firearm restored.  
 Section 8 of this bill provides that the records transmitted by the court to the Central 
Repository are confidential, may not be used for any purpose other than for inclusion in each 
appropriate database of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, and no cause of 
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action for damages may be brought for transmission, failure to transmit, delay in transmitting or 
inaccuracies within such records.  
 Section 8.5 of this bill authorizes a person who is or believes he is the subject of a record 
of mental health held by the Central Repository to inspect and correct such records. This section, 
which is modeled after NRS 179A.150, also requires the Central Repository and the Director of 
the Department of Public Safety to adopt certain regulations relating to the inspection and 
correction of such records. 
 Section 11.5 of this bill requires a court, when appointing a general guardian, to 
determine whether a proposed ward is a person with a mental defect who is prohibited from 
possessing a firearm pursuant to federal law. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=109  
Effective January 1, 2010 
Amends: NRS 174.035; NRS 175.533; 175.539; NRS 178.425; NRS 179A; NRS 159; NRS 
202.362; NRS 433A.310  
 
AB497 – Existing law requires the Department of Corrections and the Division of Parole 
and Probation of the Department of Public Safety to provide certain information to the 
Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice and to assist the Commission in 
carrying out its statutory duties. (NRS 176.0127) Section 1 of this bill requires the Central 
Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History to facilitate the collection of statistical data, 
coordinate the exchange of such data with certain other entities involved in criminal justice and 
provide the Commission with available statistical data, information and research requested by the 
Commission. 
 Section 3 of this bill requires the Department of Corrections to provide information and 
research to the Commission concerning rates of recidivism and the effectiveness of educational 
and vocational programs. 
 Section 5 of this bill requires the Court Administrator to compile statistical 
information concerning criminal cases and include certain statistics regarding specialty 
court programs in the report that the Court Administrator is required to provide to the 
Legislature before each legislative session concerning specialty court programs. Section 5 
also deletes obsolete statutory language referring to a report that was required to be made to the 
Legislature in 2007. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=958 
Effective July 1, 2010 
 
Court Reporters 
AB509 – Section 1 of this bill revises the definitions applicable to the provisions governing 
court reporters. Section 2 of this bill includes reporting procedures as a topic that must be 
covered in a course of study to fulfill the educational requirements to take an examination for a 
certified court reporter’s certificate. 
 Sections 3-6 of this bill provide for similar treatment, with regard to disciplinary action, 
of both certificate holders and licensees. Section 4 of this bill also includes untimely delivery of a 
transcript as one of the grounds for disciplinary action under chapter 656 of NRS. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=985 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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Credit Card Fee Collection 
AB548 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Existing law limits the amount of any fee that may be charged by a state agency or local 
government for the use of a credit card, debit card or electronic transfer of money to make a 
payment to the state agency or local government to an amount not to exceed the cost to the state 
agency or local government for the transaction. (NRS 353.1465, 354.770)  
 Sections 1 and 2 of this bill revise that limitation to allow each state agency and local 
government to aggregate these fees over the period of a fiscal year to determine the maximum 
amount that may be charged per transaction. Section 3 of this bill makes the same change to the 
limitation on the amount that a court may charge for the use of a credit card or debit card. This 
bill also clarifies that the fees charged by state agencies, local governments and the courts for the 
use of a credit card or debit card and by state agencies and local governments for the use of an 
electronic transfer of money are convenience fees 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1114 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 353.1465, NRS 354.770, NRS 1.113 
 
Justice Court Masters 
AB63 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Section 1 of this bill authorizes the appointment of masters in justice courts to perform certain 
duties as approved by the Nevada Supreme Court. The master must possess qualifications which 
are at least equal to those required of a justice of the peace in the township in which the master is 
appointed, and the master may not perform any duties of a master until the master has completed 
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the course of instruction prescribed by the Nevada Supreme Court. Further, the master is entitled 
to receive a salary or a per diem salary set by the board of county commissioners. 
 However, a master may not preside over: (1) any misdemeanor action for an act of 
domestic violence, vehicular manslaughter or driving under the influence; or (2) any preliminary 
hearing for a gross misdemeanor or felony. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=140 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 4 
 
Retirement/PERS/JRS 
AB92 

 
 
Notes: This bill affects primarily the Senior 
Judges who are enrolled in the Judicial Retirement 
System Plan (JRS).  Many judges are enrolled in 
the Public Employees Retirement System Plan 
(PERS).   
 
Related Bills: AB488 (PERS Judges) 

________________________________________

________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Section 2 of this bill allows a retired justice or judge who accepts employment as a senior justice, 
senior judge, senior justice of the peace or senior municipal judge of the Nevada Court System to 
qualify to receive allowances under the Judicial Retirement Plan for the duration of his active 
service if he is at least 60 years of age at the time of his reemployment and he accepts the 
employment at least 6 months after the effective date of his retirement.  Section 3 of this bill 
prohibits a retired justice or judge who accepts employment as a senior justice, senior judge, 
senior justice of the peace or senior municipal judge of the Nevada Court System from enrolling 
in the Judicial Retirement Plan.  
 Sections 5-8 of this bill provide that a retired justice or judge who is reemployed and 
commissioned as a senior justice, senior judge, senior justice of the peace or senior municipal 
court judge is entitled to receive a retirement allowance in addition to compensation for his 
service and is entitled to receive additional service credit for actual time served if he reenrolled in 
a retirement plan. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=206 
Effective July 1, 2009, Expires June 30, 2015 
Amends: NRS 1A.360; NRS 2.060; NRS 3.090 
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AB488 
Notes: State law provides that PERS Plan retirees 
are generally disqualified from receiving 
allowances from the Plan if they go back to work 
for a public employer as an independent 
contractor.  NRS 286.523 represents the exception 
to this rule if there is a “critical labor shortage.”  
This bill extends the exception through June 30, 
2015.  Additional criteria for determining whether 
there exists a critical labor shortage (special 
circumstances, efforts in recruitment).  Written 
findings must be submitted to the PEBP Board, 
who in turn prepares a biennial report for the 

legislature. 
 
Related Bills: AB92 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that a retired public employee who accepts employment or an independent 
contract with a public employer under the Public Employees’ Retirement System is disqualified 
from receiving allowances under the System for the duration of that employment or contract 
under certain circumstances. (NRS 286.520) Existing law also provides an exception to this 
disqualification from receipt of allowances if the retired public employee fills a position for 
which there is a critical labor shortage. (NRS 286.523) This exception under existing law is 
scheduled to expire on June 30, 2009. (Chapter 316, Statutes of Nevada 2005, p. 1077) This bill 
extends the prospective expiration of this exception to June 30, 2015.  
 Section 4 of this bill revises the criteria which must be considered by a designating 
authority in determining whether to designate a position for which there is a critical labor 
shortage. Section 4 also requires the designating authority to submit written findings of the 
determination to the Public Employees’ Retirement Board on a form prescribed by the Board.  
 The Board must compile the forms and submit a biennial report of the compilation to the 
Interim Retirement and Benefits Committee of the Legislature. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=940 
Effective May 29, 2009 and June 30, 2015 
Amends: NRS 286.523 
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SB41 
 
Notes: Presently, a Justice of the Peace or 
Municipal Court Judge may elect to participate in 
the PERS Plan or the Judicial Retirement System 
(JRS) Plan if available.  This bill provides that if a 
Judge is already a member of PERS, and wishes to 
enroll in JRS, he/she must provide notice to the 
PERS board on or before March 31 of the year 
immediately following election or within 90 days 
after appointment. As of July 1, 2009 a sitting has 
until October 1, 2009 to provide notice for the 
change 
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law provides that public employers or groups of public employers that participate in the 
Public Employees’ Retirement System may select employees to act as liaison officers to certify 
records and coordinate matters pertaining to retirement between the System and members or 
participating public employers. (NRS 286.288) Section 1 of this bill makes the selection of such 
liaison officers mandatory and not permissive. 
 Existing law provides for the immediate assessment of a penalty against a public 
employer for failing to file payroll reports or remit public employer contributions in a timely 
manner. (NRS 286.460) Section 2 of this bill clarifies that the penalty must be calculated based 
on the most recent payroll report submitted to the System by the delinquent public employer. 
 Existing law authorizes a justice of the peace or municipal judge to choose to participate 
in the Judicial Retirement Plan if the governing body of the applicable local government allows 
the justices or judges to participate in the Plan. If a justice of the peace or municipal judge is a 
member of the System on the date that he 
chooses to participate in the Plan, he must give written notice to the Public Employees’ 
Retirement Board of his intention to withdraw from the System and to become a member of the 
Plan. (NRS 1A.285) Section 3 of this bill requires that such written notice be received by the 
Board by March 31 of the year immediately following the year in which the justice of the peace 
or municipal judge was elected or within 90 days after his appointment, as the case may be. 
Section 4 of this bill provides that a person who, on July 1, 2009, is a justice of the peace or a 
municipal judge, as applicable, of a local government that has chosen to allow such persons to  
participate in the Plan has until October 1, 2009, to submit written notice to the Board of his 
intention to withdraw from the System and become a member of the 
Plan.http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=68 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 286.288; NRS 286.460; NRS 1A.285 
 
SB103 – Existing law prescribes certain requirements relating to the reinstatement by a 
retired public officer or employee, or surviving spouse thereof, of coverage under the health 
insurance plan of his last public employer. (NRS 287.0475) Sections 2 and 16 of this bill 
bifurcate the reinstatement requirements such that section 2 contains the requirements for retirees 
of local governments to reinstate coverage under the plans of their former local governmental 
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employer and section 16 contains the requirements for retirees of the State to reinstate coverage 
under the Public Employees’ Benefits Program. 
 Under existing law, the former local governmental employer of a retiree who participates 
in the Public Employees’ Benefits Program is required to pay a portion of the cost of coverage of 
the retiree under the Program, known as a subsidy, based on the number of years of service of the 
retiree with the local government. (NRS 287.023)  
 Section 4 of this bill revises the standard for determining the eligibility of a retiree 
of a local government to continue coverage upon retirement. Section 18 of this bill deems 
retired officers and employees of local governments who were covered under the Program for the 
period beginning on October 1, 2003, and ending on June 30, 2009, to have satisfied this revised 
standard. If a subsidy required to be paid by a local government to the Program for coverage of 
one of its retirees is delinquent by more than 90 days under existing law, the Program is 
authorized to request that an amount equal to the delinquent payment be withheld from the next 
distribution of the Local Government Tax Distribution Account to which the local government is 
entitled. (NRS 354.671) In addition to that remedy, section 3 of this bill specifically authorizes 
the Program to bring an action in court to recover such delinquent payments and any penalties 
and late fees assessed by the Program on such payments. Section 17 of this bill makes that 
authority applicable retroactively to allow the Program to bring actions to recover payments that 
were delinquent for at least 90 days on or after October 1, 2003, and to recover any penalties or 
late fees that were assessed by the Program on such payments. 
 Under existing law, a local government has the option of entering into a contract with the 
Program to obtain coverage for its officers and employees under the Program. (NRS 287.025) 
Section 5 of this bill clarifies that this option is available to a local governmental employer only if 
the local governmental employer agrees to obtain coverage under the Program for all of its 
officers and employees and their dependents, except for certain employees who are excluded 
based on their participation in certain other plans. Sections 9 and 14 of this bill contain similar 
conforming clarifications. (NRS 287.043, 287.045) 
 The Executive Officer of the Public Employees’ Benefits Program is currently authorized 
to appoint certain specified personnel, who are in the unclassified service. (NRS 287.0426) 
Section 8 of this bill eliminates the references to the specific titles of those personnel and instead 
authorizes the Executive Officer to appoint such officers and employees in the unclassified 
service as are necessary for the administration of the Program. 
 Under existing law, the coverage of a retiree under the Program terminates if his former 
local governmental employer terminates its contract for coverage with the Program. (NRS 
287.043) Local governmental retirees who were enrolled in the Program on November 30, 2008, 
received grandfather rights to retain coverage under the Program despite the cancellation by their 
former employer of its contract with the Program after that date. (Section 15 of Chapter 496, 
Statutes of Nevada 2007, p. 2882) Section 9 of this bill clarifies the existing law relating to such a 
termination of coverage to specifically exclude its applicability to retirees who hold those 
grandfather rights. Section 9 also clarifies the authority of the Board of the Program to adopt 
regulations, including regulations relating to the coverage provided by the Program to active and 
retired officers and employees of local governments.  
 Section 19 of this bill ratifies any regulations adopted by the Board on or after October 1, 
2003, as conforming to the statutory authority of the Board on the date of their adoption. In 
addition, section 9 requires the Board to adopt regulations relating to the procedures for: (1) 
payments by local governments of the subsidies for coverage of their retirees under the Program; 
and (2) termination of such coverage as a result of delinquent subsidy payments. Effective 
November 1, 2009, section 10 of this bill eliminates the requirement that the Program offer a 
flexible benefit plan to participants in the Program who are provided coverage under Medicare. 
(NRS 287.043) Section 11 of this bill clarifies that money received by the Program for the 
purpose of offsetting the costs of providing coverage to current and future state retirees is 
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required to be deposited in the State Retirees’ Health and Welfare Benefits Fund instead of the 
Fund for the Public Employees’ Benefits Program. (NRS 287.0435, 287.04362) 
 Under existing law, a state agency is required to pay to the Program a certain portion of 
the cost of coverage under the Program for each state officer or employee of that state agency 
who participates in the Program. State officers and employees are required to authorize 
deductions from their compensation for the remaining portion of the costs of coverage. (NRS 
287.046) In addition, existing law authorizes the payment by state agencies, within the limits set 
biennially by law, of a portion of the costs of coverage for their officers and employees under the 
Program from authorized or appropriated money. (NRS 287.044) Section 13 of this bill gives the 
Board of the Program the authority to allocate money paid by participating state agencies for the 
costs of coverage under the Program between officers and employees and their dependents. 
Section 13 also consolidates the requirements relating to the payment of the costs of coverage for 
active state officers and employees under the Program. As a result of this consolidation, section 
15 only addresses the payment of costs of coverage for state retirees under the Program. For the 
purposes of calculating the amount of the subsidy for the coverage of a state retiree under the 
Program, section 15 also expands the prohibition against the proration of any year of service from 
years of state service to years of service by the retiree with a local governmental employer. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=204 
Effective July 1, 2009, and November 1, 2009  
 
SB415 – Section 1 of this bill establishes the amount of the State’s share of the costs of 
premiums or contributions for group insurance for state officers and employees who 
participate in the Public Employees’ Benefits Program. (NRS 287.044, 287.0445, 287.046) 
Section 2 of this bill also establishes the base amount that is used to calculate the share of the 
costs of premiums or contributions for group insurance that is required to be paid by the state and 
local governments for retired public officers and employees. (NRS 287.023, 87.046) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=1092 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB427 – Retired public employees receive retirement allowances through membership in 
and contributions to the Public Employees’ Retirement System. (Chapter 286 of NRS) This 
bill makes a number of changes to the System. 
 Section 1.8 of this bill reduces the postretirement increases for retirees who become 
members of the System on or after January 1, 2010, so that the increase in benefits caps at 4 
percent at the 12th anniversary and each year thereafter. Currently, it would increase again to 5 
percent at the 14th anniversary. The rates at which a member and an employer contribute to the 
System and the amount of a member’s monthly retirement allowance are based on the member’s 
compensation while employed, subject to certain limitations. (NRS 286.025, 286.410, 286.535, 
286.537, 286.551) Section 2 of this bill revises the type of callback pay that may be considered 
compensation for employees who become 
members of the System on or after January 1, 2010. 
 Section 3 of this bill requires the Public Employees’ Retirement Board to post on its 
website any document that a public employer is required to submit to the System on or after 
January 1, 2010, relating to the contribution mechanism used by the public employer. Section 4 of 
this bill provides that the term of the members of the Police and 
Firefighters’ Retirement Fund Advisory Committee are 4 years and authorizes removal of the 
members only for cause. 
 Sections 4.3, 4.5 and 4.7 of this bill allow the Public Employees’ Retirement System to 
retain the contribution rate when it exceeds the actuarially determined rate by less than 2 percent 
to reduce the unfunded liability of the system. (NRS 286.410, 286.421, 286.450) 
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 Under existing law, public employers are required to periodically file payroll reports and 
remit contributions to the System with respect to their employees. (NRS 286.460) Section 5 of 
this bill makes a public employer that reports ineligible wages responsible to the employee for 
any resulting impact to the employee’s benefit.  
 Under existing law, a member of the System other than a police officer or firefighter is 
eligible to retire at age 65 if he has at least 5 years of service, at age 60 if he has at least 10 years 
of service and at any age if he has at least 30 years of service. (NRS 286.510) Section 6 of this 
bill increases the age at which a member whose effective date of membership is on or after 
January 1, 2010, is eligible to retire with at least 10 years of service from 60 years to 62 years. 
 Under existing law, a member of the System who is a police officer or firefighter is 
eligible to retire at age 65 if he has at least 5 years of service, at age 55 if he has at least 10 years 
of service, at age 50 if he has 20 years of service and at any age if he has at least 25 years of 
service. (NRS 286.510) Section 6 of this bill provides that such a member whose effective date of 
membership is on or after January 1, 2010, is eligible to retire at age 65 if he has at least 5 years 
of service, at age 60 if he has at least 10 years of service and at age 50 if he has 20 years of 
service, thus eliminating the ability of such later-hired police officers and firefighters to retire 
after 25 years of service regardless of age.   
 Under existing law, a retirement benefit is required to be reduced by 4 percent of the 
unmodified benefit for each full year, and an additional 0.33 percent for each additional month, 
that the member is under the appropriate retirement age. (NRS 286.510) Section 6 of this bill 
increases the amount of such reductions for members who have an effective date of membership 
on or after January 1, 2010, to 6 percent of the unmodified benefit for each full year, and an 
additional 0.5 percent for each additional month, that the member is under the appropriate 
retirement age. 
 Under existing law, the monthly retirement allowance is calculated by multiplying a 
member’s average compensation, over the member’s 36 consecutive months of highest 
compensation, by 2.5 percent for every year of service earned before July 1, 2001, and 2.67 
percent for every year of service earned thereafter. 
(NRS 286.551) Section 7 of this bill provides that the monthly retirement allowance for each 
member whose effective date of membership is on or after January 1, 2010, will be determined by 
multiplying the member’s average compensation by 2.5 percent for every year of service. Section 
7 also limits, for a member whose effective date of membership is on or after January 1, 2010, to 
10 percent per year the amount of an increase in compensation that can be considered when 
determining a retirement allowance, as calculated over a 60-month period that commences 24 
months immediately preceding the 36 consecutive months of highest compensation.  Section 1.7 
of this bill then entitles an employee whose retirement allowances are so limited to a refund for a 
portion of the employee’s contributions to the System. 
 Existing law prescribes certain requirements relating to the reinstatement by a retired 
public officer or employee, or surviving spouse thereof, of coverage under the health insurance 
plan of his last public employer. (NRS 287.0475) Sections 9 and 12 of this bill bifurcate the 
reinstatement requirements such that section 9 contains the requirements for retirees of local 
governments to reinstate coverage under the plans of their former local government employer and 
section 12 contains the requirements for retirees of the State to reinstate coverage under the 
Public Employees’ Benefits Program.  
 Under existing law, a state agency is required to pay to the Program a certain portion of 
the cost of coverage under the Program for each state officer or employee of that state agency 
who participates in the Program. (NRS 287.046) Calculation of the subsidy for local government 
retirees is made in the same manner. (NRS 287.023) For employees who are initially hired by the 
State on or after January 1, 2010, section 11 of this bill: (1) eliminates the subsidy for coverage 
under the Program for retired officers and employees who have less than 15 years of service, with 
the exception of disabled retirees; and (2) requires continuous coverage under the Program by 
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persons since their retirement to qualify for the subsidy. Section 10 of this bill makes conforming 
changes for local government retirees. 
 Existing law sets forth various requirements concerning relations between local 
governments and their employees. Section 13 of this bill requires a new, extended or modified 
collective bargaining agreement to be approved by the governing body of the local government 
employer at a public hearing. It also requires the chief executive officer of the local government 
to provide a report on the fiscal impact of the agreement. Section 14 of this bill adds a 
requirement that before a dispute can be submitted to a fact finder, the parties to the dispute 
governed by chapter 288 of NRS must have failed to reach an agreement after at least six 
meetings. 
 Sections 14, 15 and 16 of this bill require a fact finder or arbitrator, in determining the 
financial ability of a local government employer to grant monetary benefits, to consider funding 
for the current year being negotiated, or, in the case of a multi-year contract, the ability to pay 
over the life of the contract. If the fact finder or arbitrator determines that there is such a current 
financial ability, he is required to consider, to the extent appropriate, the compensation of other 
government employees, both in an out of this State. Sections 14, 15 and 16 also require local 
government employers subject to collective bargaining to hold an open public meeting within 45 
days after the receipt of a decision from a fact finder or arbitrator, as applicable. The meeting 
must include a discussion of the issues, the statement of the fact finder or arbitrator and the  
 
overall fiscal impact of the decision. The fact finder or arbitrator must not be asked to discuss the 
decision during the meeting. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=1147 
Effective June 3, 2009, and January 1, 2010 
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Juvenile 
 
Certification 
AB237 

Notes:  The juvenile court has authority to certify 
a child as an “adult” for purposes of prosecuting 
certain criminal charges. NRS 62B.390 provides 
for a “presumptive certification” in certain cases, 
but there are exceptions.  This bill modifies one of 
the exceptions so that the court can consider 
certain facts without requiring the child to admit to 
any wrongdoing. 
 
Related Court Cases: In Re William M., 124 Nev. 
Adv. Op No. 95 (2008); (language of exception to 
presumptive certification found unconstitutional). 
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________  

Existing law provides for the certification of a child as an adult for criminal proceedings under 
certain circumstances. (NRS 62B.390) Under the concept that is commonly referred to as 
“presumptive certification,” the juvenile court is required to certify a child for criminal 
proceedings as an adult if the child is charged with certain offenses and was 14 years of age or 
older at the time of allegedly committing the offense, unless an exception applies. (NRS 62B.390) 
One such exception to presumptive certification is when the juvenile court specifically finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that the actions of the child were substantially the result of the 
substance abuse or emotional or behavioral problems of the child. The Nevada Supreme Court 
recently ruled that this exception to presumptive certification violates a child’s right against self-
incrimination under the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution by requiring the child 
to admit to criminal conduct to challenge certification. (In re William M., 124 Nev. Adv. Op. No. 
95 (2008)) This bill eliminates the exception to presumptive certification that was found 
unconstitutional by the Nevada Supreme Court and provides instead that the juvenile court is not 
required to certify the child as an adult if the child has substance abuse or emotional or behavioral 
problems that may be appropriately treated through the jurisdiction of the juvenile court. This bill 
also raises the threshold age at which a child may be certified as an adult under presumptive 
certification from 14 years of age to 16 years of age. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=482 
Effective May 11, 2009 
Amends: NRS 62B 
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SB235  
Notes: NRS 62B provides that certain charges 
against juveniles are not “delinquent acts” that fall 
under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court 
(murder, sexual assault, etc.)  This bill adds to that 
list category A and B felonies/fact pattern under 
certain circumstances. Existing law provides the 
10 factors a court must consider when determining 
whether a transfer to adult court is appropriate. 
 

 

 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

If a person should be transferred from the juvenile court to the criminal court for criminal 
proceedings if: (1) the person is charged with the commission of a delinquent act that occurred 
when the person was at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age; (2) the delinquent act 
would have been a category A or B felony if committed by an adult; (3) the person is identified 
by law enforcement as having committed the delinquent act before the person reaches 21 years of 
age; and (4) the person is apprehended by law enforcement after the person reaches 21 years of 
age. If the juvenile court finds probable cause to believe that the person committed the delinquent 
act, the juvenile court is required to consider a number of factors in determining whether, based 
upon the interests of justice and the need for protection of the public, the charges should be 
dismissed and the person should be discharged or the case and record should be transferred for 
criminal proceedings.  
 Under existing law, the juvenile court does not have jurisdiction over certain offenses that 
are committed by juveniles, such as murder, attempted murder and other serious offenses. (NRS 
62B.330) Section 3 of this bill excludes from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court a category A or 
B felony and any other related offense arising out of the same facts as the category A or B felony 
if the person was at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age when the offense was 
committed and the person: (1) is not identified by law enforcement as having committed the 
offense and charged before the person reaches the age of 20 years, 3 months; or (2) is not 
identified by law enforcement as having committed the offense before the person reaches 21 
years of age. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=644 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 62A; NRS 62B 
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Sex Offenders 
AB81  

 
Notes: This bill repeals provisions requiring the 
Central Repository to analyze data concerning the 
recidivism rates of sex offenders, and to request 
and receive certain information regarding children. 
Attorneys are no longer statutorily authorized to 
receive criminal history records for their clients 
upon request. Records obtained pursuant to NRS 
179A must be used solely for purpose intended.  
Provisions requiring a Repository for Information 
Concerning Missing Persons is also repealed. 
 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Section 1.3 of this bill defines the term “records of criminal history of the United States or 
another state” for the purposes of disseminating certain information relating to certain offenses to 
employers and the use of such information.  
 Section 2 of this bill authorizes the Records and Technology Division of the Department 
of Public Safety to request and receive from the Federal Bureau of Investigation information on 
the background and personal history of certain persons about whom an agency of this State or a 
local government is authorized by law to have accurate personal information for the protection of 
the agency or persons within the agency’s jurisdiction. (NRS 179A.075) 
 Section 3 of this bill: (1) revises the circumstances in which an agency of criminal justice 
must provide records of criminal history to the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services of 
the Department of Health and Human Services or to the Aging Services Division of the 
Department; and (2) removes the requirement that agencies of criminal justice provide a person’s 
records of criminal history to the person’s attorney under certain circumstances. (NRS 179A.100)  
 Existing law requires the Director of the Department of Public Safety to establish a 
program within the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History to compile and 
analyze data concerning the recidivism of offenders who commit sexual offenses and to assess the 
effectiveness of certain programs for the treatment of juvenile sex offenders.  
 Section 25 of this bill repeals those provisions of existing law. (NRS 179A.270, 
179A.280, 179A.290) Sections 15.3, 15.5 and 15.7 of this bill require the Director of the 
Department of Health and Human Services to establish a substantially similar program within the 
Department to compile and analyze data concerning the recidivism of juvenile sex offenders and 
to assess the effectiveness of certain programs for the treatment of juvenile sex 
offenders.  
 Section 15.9 of this bill requires the Division of Child and Family Services of the 
Department of Health and Human Services to provide certain information collected by the 
Division concerning acts committed by a child adjudicated delinquent to the Director of the 
Department rather than to the Central Repository for use in the program established pursuant to 
sections 15.3, 15.5 and 15.7 of this bill. (NRS 62H.220) 
 Section 19 of this bill: (1) removes the provisions authorizing the Central Repository and 
the Investigation Division of the Department of Public Safety to send requests for certain 
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identifying information regarding certain missing children to the parents or guardians of such 
children; (2) removes the duty of a law enforcement agency which receives such identifying 
information to transmit that information to the Central Repository and the Investigation Division; 
and (3) removes the duty of the Central Repository and the Investigation Division to compare any 
such identifying information received with the information on file concerning unidentified 
deceased children. (NRS 432.200) 
 Section 25 of this bill repeals the provisions which provide for the creation of the 
Repository for Information Concerning Missing Persons within the Central Repository and the 
provision of a toll-free telephone service concerning information about missing persons. (NRS 
179A.400, 79A.410)  
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=180 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 179A (numerous sections); NRS 62H; NRS 239B; NRS 432 
 
Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice 
SB113 

 
Notes: Both subcommittees are required to study 
relevant issues and provide a report and 
recommendations to the Advisory Commission on 
the Administration of Justice (Commission).   
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 
 
Section 2 of this bill creates in statute the Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice of the Advisory 
Commission on the Administration of Justice. Section 2 also: (1) requires the Chairman of the 
Commission to appoint the members of the Subcommittee; (2) requires the Subcommittee to 
study issues related to juvenile justice and report to the commission with recommendations to 
address such issues; and (3) sets forth the salaries and per diem that members of the 
Subcommittee may receive. 
 Section 3 of this bill creates in statute a Subcommittee on Victims of Crime of the 
Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice. Section 3 also: (1) requires the Chairman 
of the Commission to appoint the members of the Subcommittee; (2) requires the Subcommittee 
to study issues related to victims of crime and report to the Commission with recommendations to 
address such issues; and (3) sets forth the salaries and per diem that members of the 
Subcommittee may receive. 
  Section 5 of this bill transfers responsibility for staff support of the Advisory 
Commission from the Attorney General to the Director of the Legislative Counsel Bureau. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=250 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 176 
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Treatment/DCFS 
AB364 

 
Notes: NRS 432B provides procedure for 
petitioning the court to order the admission of 
children with emotional disturbances to a locked 
facility for treatment.  This bill provides some 
additional safeguards for these children.  Section 6 
requires that any second opinion evaluations must 
be conducted timely and by a team not affiliated 
with facility where the child has been admitted.  
Same standard for renewal/extension. Also, the 
court may consider a verbal statement in 
opposition to the petition for admission.  
 In adoption cases, agency must now 

provide court with a copy of any order that provides for visitation with a sibling, and the court 
must hold a hearing to determine whether to include those visitation provisions in the Decree. 
______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Existing law sets forth the procedure for petitioning a court to order the admission of certain 
children with emotional disturbances to a locked facility for treatment. (NRS 432B.607-
432B.6085) Section 1.3 of this bill clarifies that as used in those provisions, “court-ordered 
admission of a child” includes a child for whom a petition is filed to continue placement after an 
emergency admission. Section 1.5 of this bill requires each agency which provides child welfare 
services to establish appropriate policies to ensure that children in the custody of the agency have 
timely access to clinically appropriate psychotropic medication. Section 11 of this bill requires 
the Division of Child and Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services to 
adopt consistent policies with respect to access to such medication by children in division 
facilities. 
 Section 3 of this bill requires a petition for the court-ordered admission of a child with an 
emotional disturbance into a locked facility to be filed within 5 days after an emergency 
admission or the child must be released. (NRS 432B.6075) Section 4 of this bill clarifies that the 
court proceeding for the court-ordered admission of a child who is alleged to be a child with an 
emotional disturbance must include an evidentiary hearing. (NRS 432B.6076) Section 5 of this 
bill expands the manner in which a person is allowed to oppose a petition for the court-ordered 
admission of a child into a locked facility to include an opposition stated verbally in court. 
Section 6 of this bill provides that if a court authorizes a second evaluation team to examine a 
child who is subject to a court-ordered admission to a locked facility, the second examination 
must be conducted within 5 business days by a team that is not affiliated with, employed by or 
otherwise connected to the facility where the child has been admitted. (NRS 432B.6078) Section 
7 of this bill requires a court to apply the same standards in considering a petition to renew a 
court-ordered admission of a child as were applied to the original petition. Section 8 of this bill 
extends the time for developing a plan for the care, treatment and training of a child subject to a 
court-ordered admission to a locked facility from 5 to 10 days after the child is admitted to the 
facility, and removes the requirement that the plan include certain criteria which the child must 
satisfy before discharge. 
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 Section 10 of this bill requires a court to conduct a hearing to determine whether to grant 
visitation rights to a sibling as part of an adoption decree when the adoption is of a child in the 
custody of an agency which provides child welfare services. Section 10 further requires the 
agency which provides child welfare services to provide the court that is conducting the adoption 
proceedings with a copy of any existing order for visitation with a sibling of the child and allows 
certain interested parties to petition to participate in the determination as to whether to include 
visitation rights in the adoption decree. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=714 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 432B (numerous sections); NRS 127 (new section); NRS 433B 
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Miscellaneous 
  
Elder Issues/Ombudsman 
AB176 – Sections 1 and 2 of this bill change the name of the Nevada State Board of Examiners 
for Administrators of Facilities for Long-Term Care to the Board of Examiners for Long-Term 
Care Administrators. 
 Existing law establishes various penalties the Board may impose as disciplinary action 
against nursing facility administrators and administrators of a residential facility for groups who 
commit certain violations. (NRS 654.190) Section 3 of this bill increases the maximum 
administrative fine the Board may impose upon such persons from $5,000 to $10,000 for 
each violation. Section 3 also provides that the Board may deny the issuance or renewal of a 
license and impose any combination of authorized disciplinary actions against such persons 
for a violation. Additionally, section 3 revises the manner in which notice of a hearing relating to 
disciplinary action must be given to a licensee. Furthermore, section 3 establishes the Board’s 
authority to subpoena witnesses and documents. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=369 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB254 – The 2007 Legislature created the Office of Ombudsman of Consumer Affairs for 
Minorities within the Consumer Affairs Division of the Department of Business and Industry as a 
temporary position for the 2007-2009 biennium. (Chapter 348, Statutes of Nevada 2007, pp. 
1662, 1676) This bill makes the Ombudsman of Consumer Affairs for Minorities a 
permanent position within the Office of the Director of the Department. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=508 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB65 – To receive an allotment under 42 U.S.C. § 3058b, federal law requires states to create the 
position of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman to carry out certain duties of advocacy and 
investigation for residents of long-term care facilities. (42 U.S.C. § 3058g) Existing law 
authorizes the Administrator of the Aging Services Division of the Department of Health and 
Human Services to appoint advocates for residents of facilities for long-term care and to appoint 
representatives of the advocates. (NRS 427A.125, 427A.127) Existing law also sets forth the 
duties of the advocates, including the power to investigate the complaint of a resident of a facility 
for long-term care. (NRS 427A.135-427A.165) The advocates and representatives currently fulfill 
the duties established for the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman by federal law, but federal law 
requires the establishment of the actual office and title of “State Long-Term Care Ombudsman” 
for the State to receive federal funding. Section 5 of this bill creates the Office of the State 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman and allocates the duties previously carried out by the 
appointed advocates to the Ombudsman.  
 Section 6 of this bill replaces the representatives of the advocates who were in the 
Division and authorizes the appointment of one or more advocates to assist the Ombudsman. 
Section 6 also authorizes the creation of a program within the Division to train and use volunteer 
advocates. Sections 7-12 of this bill transfer the duties and indemnities of the formerly appointed 
“advocate or his representative” to the Ombudsman or advocates working under his direction. 
Existing law creates the Office of Ombudsman for Aging Persons and sets forth the duties of that 
office. (NRS 427A.300, 427A.310)  
 Sections 13 and 14 of this bill abolish the Office of Ombudsman for Aging Persons and 
create the Office of the Community Advocate for Elder Rights. In addition, section 14 removes 
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the requirement to publish a county guide to the resources and services available for aging 
persons in each county. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=127 
Effective May 4, 2009 
 
Official State/Observances/Historical 
AB180 – Existing law designates various emblems of the State of Nevada, including a state 
tartan, a state artifact and a state fossil. This bill designates Engine No. 40 of the Nevada 
Northern Railway as an official state locomotive of the State of Nevada. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=374 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB301 – Existing law sets forth certain days of observance in this State to commemorate certain 
persons or occasions or to publicize information regarding certain important topics. (NRS 
236.018-236.075) This bill requires the Governor annually to proclaim March 31 to be 
“Cesar Chavez Day” in the State of Nevada. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=588 
Effective May 18, 2009 
 
SB166 – Existing law establishes various official state emblems, including a state bird, state 
reptile, state animal, state fish and others. (NRS 235.020-235.130) This bill establishes the 
Vivid Dancer Damselfly (Argia vivida) as the official state insect.  
 This insect was selected through a contest that was open to all fourth grade and Gifted 
and Talented Education (GATE) classrooms in Nevada to select a state insect because Nevada is 
one of only eight states in the country that does not have a state insect. The contest was open to 
public, private, parochial and homeschooled pupils. To participate in the contest, the classes were 
required to submit a one-page, research-based essay supporting the nomination of an insect found 
in Nevada, including the pupils’ rationale for why that insect would be a good symbol for the 
State of Nevada. The 74 classrooms that participated in the contest represented 57 schools in 
seven counties. 
  
 The winners are the fourth grade class taught by Mr. David R. Slater at John R. Beatty 
Elementary School, which is located on Hidden Palms Parkway in Las Vegas. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=462 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB256 – The grounds of Northern Nevada Adult Mental Health Services include a cemetery that 
was formerly a part of the Nevada Hospital for Mental Diseases. In 949, the Legislature required 
the board of commissioners of the hospital to abolish the use of the cemetery. (Chapter 184, 
Statutes of Nevada 1949, p. 408) This bill designates the area of the former cemetery as a 
historic cemetery. This bill also requires the reinterment of human remains from gravesites 
found in a certain area outside the designated boundaries of the cemetery to the area inside 
the historic cemetery. This bill also provides for the Administrator of the Office of Historic 
Preservation of the Department of Cultural Affairs, in cooperation with persons with an interest in 
the matter, to oversee the maintenance and improvement of the cemetery by Northern Nevada 
Adult Mental Health Services of the Division of Mental Health and Developmental Services of 
the Department of Health and Human Services. 
 In 1959, a portion of the former cemetery was leased to the City of Sparks. This bill 
directs the State of Nevada to terminate the lease. Upon termination of the lease, the area covered 
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by the lease will become a part of the cemetery. Section 2 of this bill repeals the statute that 
abolished the use of the cemetery. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=697 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Conceal and Carry 
AB230 – Existing law authorizes a retired law enforcement officer who is a resident of this State 
to apply to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for certification to become a qualified 
retired law enforcement officer. (NRS 202.3678) Such certification confirms that the retired law 
enforcement officer meets the requirements to carry a concealed firearm under Nevada law and 
federal law. (NRS 202.350; 18 U.S.C. § 926C(d)) This bill requires the law enforcement 
agency from which a law enforcement officer retired to offer the retired law enforcement 
officer the opportunity to obtain the firearms qualification that is necessary to obtain such 
certification at least twice per year. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=471 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Legislature 
AB231 – The Legislative Commission is authorized to establish fees for registration as a lobbyist. 
(NRS 218.932) This bill exempts a veteran who is not compensated for his lobbying activities 
and who provides proof of his discharge or release from military service under honorable 
conditions from the requirement to pay any fee established for registration as an 
uncompensated lobbyist. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=472 
Effective May 18, 2009 
 
AB535 – Section 1 of this bill provides that reports made to the Legislature or the 
Legislative Counsel Bureau may be submitted electronically. Sections 2 and 3 of this bill 
allow a Legislator to purchase and use letterhead and business cards after leaving office if the 
letterhead or business card clearly identifies the person as a former Legislator or retired 
Legislator. Sections 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13 and 14 of this bill revise certain statutes concerning a 
Legislator who does not seek reelection or who is defeated for reelection. Such a Legislator 
continues to serve on legislative committees after the general election until the next regular 
or special session of the Legislature convenes. Sections 9.5 and 10 of this bill revise the statutes 
concerning the membership of the Legislative Commission and the Interim Finance Committee to 
provide that the membership of a Legislator who does not seek reelection or who is defeated for 
reelection terminates on the day after the general election. Sections 5 and 6 of this bill expand the 
membership of the Legislative Committee on Public Lands and authorize the Legislative 
Commission to appoint alternate members. Section 11 of this bill revises the description of the 
Administrative Division of the Legislative Counsel Bureau to reflect its duties more accurately. 
Sections 11.2, 11.4 and 11.6 of this bill expand the authority of the Legislative Counsel to 
represent the Legislature’s official interests in various actions and proceedings. Section 13.5 of 
this bill repeals the prospective expiration of provisions that require the prefiling of measures 
proposed by certain nonlegislative requesters and that make various other changes relating to bill 
draft requests. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1076 
Effective May 29, 2009, and July 1, 2009 
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SB160 – Section 1 of this bill provides that for any speech or debate in either House of the 
Legislature, a member of the Senate or Assembly shall not be questioned in any other place. 
The purpose and effect of section 1 is to implement the constitutional doctrines of 
separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity by codifying in statutory form 
the constitutional right of State Legislators to be protected from having to defend 
themselves, from being held liable and from being questioned or sanctioned in 
administrative or judicial proceedings for speech, debate, deliberation and other actions 
performed within the sphere of legitimate legislative activity. 
 Under case law, the constitutional doctrine of legislative privilege and immunity provides 
a testimonial privilege and an evidentiary privilege which protect a Legislator from having to 
testify or disclose documents in administrative or judicial proceedings when such acts would 
intrude upon, interfere with or pry into the legislative process. (Gravel v. United States, 408 U.S. 
606, 92 S.Ct. 2614 (1972); United States v. Rayburn House Office Bldg., 497 F.3d 654 (D.C. Cir. 
2007)). Section 2 of this bill amends the Nevada statute governing testimonial and evidentiary 
privileges to confirm that the constitutional doctrine of legislative privilege and immunity 
provides a testimonial privilege and an evidentiary privilege. (NRS 49.015) 
 Sections 6, 7.4 and 9 of this bill amend provisions of the Nevada Ethics in Government 
Law (Ethics Law) to make those provisions comport with the constitutional doctrines of 
separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity. (Chapter 281A of NRS) In 
particular, section 9 amends NRS 281A.420 to clarify that the responsibility of a State Legislator 
to make disclosures concerning gifts, loans, interests or commitments and the responsibility of a 
State Legislator to abstain from voting upon or advocating the passage or failure of a matter are 
governed by the Standing Rules of the Legislative Department of State Government. However, 
other provisions of the Ethics Law remain applicable to State Legislators so that, for example, 
State Legislators will continue to be required to file the same financial disclosure forms as other 
public officers and the provisions prohibiting misuse of office that are applicable to other public 
officers will continue to apply to State Legislators with regard to conduct that falls outside the 
scope of legitimate legislative activity. Section 9 also clarifies that the provisions of NRS 
281A.420 concerning disclosure, voting and abstention do not apply to State Legislators or allow 
the Commission on Ethics to exercise jurisdiction or authority over State Legislators with regard 
to disclosure, voting and abstention. 
 On December 22, 2008, the First Judicial District Court in and for Carson City held that 
the Commission on Ethics could not apply the provisions of NRS 281A.420 concerning 
disclosure, voting and abstention to State Legislators because under the constitutional doctrines of 
separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity, the Legislator’s own House is the 
only governmental entity that may sanction the Legislator for performing legislative actions, like 
voting, that fall within the sphere of legitimate legislative activity and are an essential part of the 
legislative function. (Warren B. Hardy II v. Commission on Ethics, Nev. First Jud. Dist. Ct. Case 
No. 08 OC 00381 1B (Dec. 22, 2008)) [Legislative Counsel’s Note. The Nevada Supreme Court 
affirmed the decision of the district court on May 21, 2009. (Commission on Ethics v. Warren B. 
Hardy II, Nev. Sup. Ct. Case No. 53064)] 
 The decision of the district court was based on the Nevada Supreme Court’s 
pronouncement that “[u]nder the separation of powers doctrine, individual legislators cannot, nor 
should they, be subject to fines or other penalties for voting in a particular way.” (Guinn v. 
Legislature, 119 Nev. 460, at 472 (2003)) The decision of the district court was also based on a 
long line of cases from the United States Supreme Court which hold that under the constitutional 
doctrines of separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity, Federal and State 
Legislators must be free to represent the interests of their constituents with assurance that they 
will not later be called to task for that representation by the other branches of government. 
(Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367, 71 S.Ct. 783 (1951); Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 
89 S.Ct. 1944 (1969); Gravel v. United States, 408 U.S. 606, 92 S.Ct. 2614 (1972); Supreme 
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Court of Virginia v. Consumers Union, 446 U.S. 719, 100 S.Ct. 1967 (1980)) Given this well 
established and long-standing precedent, the district court found that the constitutional doctrines 
of separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity are intended to protect the 
independence of individual Legislators by giving them broad freedom of speech, debate, 
deliberation and action during the legislative process and by shielding them from executive and 
judicial oversight that realistically threatens to control their conduct as Legislators. 
 Thus, because of the constitutional doctrines of separation of powers and legislative 
privilege and immunity, the district court determined that any inquiry into the ethical propriety of 
legislative actions concerning disclosure, voting and abstention must be conducted by the 
Legislative Department and cannot be conducted by an administrative agency of the Executive 
Department, such as the Commission on Ethics. The district court also determined that because 
each House is given the exclusive constitutional power to determine the rules of its legislative 
proceedings and to punish its members for improper conduct related to those legislative 
proceedings, the Standing Rules adopted by each House concerning disclosure, voting and 
abstention take precedence over NRS 281A.420. Therefore, out of respect for the separation of 
powers under Section 1 of Article 3 of the Nevada Constitution and out of respect for the 
exclusive constitutional power of each House to determine its rules and punish its members under 
Section 6 of Article 4 of the Nevada Constitution, the district court held that the determination of 
whether a State Legislator has properly followed the Standing Rules concerning disclosure, 
voting and abstention is a matter reserved exclusively to the Legislator’s own House. 
 Finally, the district court emphasized that its decision applied only to the provisions of 
NRS 281A.420 concerning disclosure, voting and abstention and that the constitutional doctrines 
of separation of powers and legislative privilege and immunity do not provide State Legislators 
with blanket protection from the Nevada Ethics in Government Law. Rather, State Legislators 
remain subject to the Ethics Law for conduct that falls outside the scope of legitimate legislative 
activity. 
 Sections 3.4-5.4 and 7.2-8.23 of this bill clarify the meaning of terms used in the Ethics 
Law and codify long-standing interpretations of those terms. Additionally, the definitions in 
sections 4 and 5 ensure that the Ethics Law accurately reflects the constitutional and legal 
differences between a “State Legislator” and a “member of a local legislative body.” The 
definition of “investigatory panel” in section 8.1 recognizes that when the two-member panel is 
deciding whether there is just and sufficient cause to refer an ethics complaint to the Commission 
for a hearing, the panel is performing an investigatory function, not an adjudicatory function. 
Section 8.2 revises and clarifies the definition of “public officer” in the Ethics Law by employing 
terminology used in the definition of “public officer” in NRS 281.005 and by including members 
of boards of trustees of general improvement districts within the meaning of the term “public 
officer.” Sections 3.4, 3.6, 8.23 and 17.5 of this bill define the terms “intentionally,” 
“knowingly,” “willful violation” and “willfully” in the Ethics Law to conform with the legal 
meanings generally ascribed to those terms. A “willful” act is an act done intentionally and 
knowingly. (In re Fine, 116 Nev. 1001 (2000); Black’s Law 
Dictionary 1593 (7th ed. 1999) (defining “willful”)) A person acts “intentionally” when he acts 
voluntarily or deliberately, rather than accidentally or inadvertently. (Batt v. State, 111 Nev. 1127 
(1995); In re Fine, 116 Nev. 1001 (2000); Nevada Service Employees Union v. Orr, 121 Nev. 675 
(2005)) A person acts “knowingly” when he has knowledge of the facts which constitute the act 
or omission. (NRS 193.017, 624.024; State v. Rhodig, 101 Nev. 608 (1985); Garcia v. Sixth Jud. 
Dist. Ct., 117 Nev. 697 (2001)) 
 Section 5.6 of this bill clarifies that public officers and employees cannot assert common-
law privileges and immunities in proceedings under the Ethics Law but may assert constitutional 
or statutory privileges and immunities in such proceedings. Section 5.8 of this bill moves the 
existing provisions of NRS 281.236 into the Ethics Law so that those provisions may be enforced 
by the Commission on Ethics. Under the existing provisions of NRS 281.236, certain regulated 
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businesses and industries must observe a 1-year “cooling off” period before they may hire a 
former public officer or employee who had significant involvement in regulating the business or 
industry. Section 5.8 contains the same substantive provisions as NRS 281.236, except that the 
requirement to observe the 1-year “cooling off” period is imposed on the former public officer or 
employee instead of on the regulated business or industry. 
 Sections 8.25, 8.35 and 8.45 of this bill clarify existing provisions of the Ethics Law 
which prohibit members of the Commission on Ethics and the Commission’s Executive Director 
and Counsel from performing certain lobbying activities on behalf of private parties. (NRS 
281A.200, 281A.230, 281A.250) Section 8.35 also provides that the Executive Director must 
have experience in administration, investigations and law. 
 The Ethics Law imposes civil penalties for certain violations (NRS 281A.480), but it 
does not contain an express statute of limitations. When a law imposes civil penalties but does not 
contain an express statute of limitations, it is presumed that the Legislature intended for a 
generally applicable statute of limitations to apply to proceedings brought under the law. 
(DelCostello v. Int’l Bhd. of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151, 103 S.Ct. 2281 (1983); 3M Co. v. Browner, 
17 F.3d 1453 (D.C. Cir. 1994); 51 Am. Jur. 2d Limitation of Actions § 129 (2000)) Because NRS 
11.190 contains a generally applicable 2-year statute of limitations for actions brought upon a 
statute for a penalty or forfeiture, the 2-year period in NRS 11.190 is presumptively applicable to 
proceedings brought under the Ethics Law. (Community Cause v. Boatwright, 177 Cal. Rptr. 657 
(Cal. Ct. App. 1981)) For purposes of clarity and certainty of application, sections 8.55 and 26 of 
this bill codify the existing 2-year statute of limitations expressly into the Ethics Law. 
(NRS 281A.280) The Ethics Law places restrictions on certain public officers and employees 
with regard to representing or counseling a private person for compensation before various 
agencies. (NRS 281A.410) Section 8.7 of this bill clarifies those restrictions by replacing the 
terms “member of the executive branch” and “member of the legislative branch” with more 
specific, descriptive and accurate terms. Section 8.7 also clarifies the methods for filing the 
disclosure form certain public officers must file if they have represented or counseled a private 
person for compensation before certain agencies. 
 The Ethics Law requires public officers to disclose conflicts of interest and to abstain 
from voting because of certain types of conflicts. (NRS 281A.420) Because public officers must 
disclose conflicts before determining whether to abstain, section 9.5 of this bill rearranges the 
order of the existing disclosure and abstention provisions in the statute so that the disclosure 
provisions come before the abstention provisions. Section 9.5 also changes the abstention 
requirements which apply to members of certain county and city planning commissions so that 
those members are subject to the same abstention requirements which apply to other public 
officers under the statute. Section 9.5 additionally requires the Commission to give appropriate 
weight and proper deference to the public policy of this State which favors the right of public 
officers to vote, provided they have properly disclosed all conflicts. Under this public policy, 
abstention is required only in clear cases where the independence of judgment of a reasonable 
person in the public officer’s situation would be materially affected by the conflicts. This public 
policy demands proper disclosures 
of conflicts but prefers fewer instances of abstention because abstention disrupts the normal 
course of representative government and deprives the public and the public officer’s constituents 
of a voice in governmental affairs. 
The Ethics Law allows public officers and employees to bid on or enter into contracts with 
governmental agencies when certain requirements are met, including that the contracting process 
is controlled by the rules of competitive bidding. (NRS 281A.430)  
 Section 11 of this bill allows public officers and employees to enter into such contracts in 
situations where existing law exempts the contracts from the rules of competitive bidding because 
the contract is an emergency contract or because no responsible bids were received in response to 
a previous request for bids on the contract. (NRS 332.112, 332.148) 
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 The Ethics Law contains procedures for investigating and adjudicating alleged ethical 
violations. (NRS 281A.440) Section 12 of this bill: (1) authorizes a public officer or employee 
who requested an advisory opinion regarding his own conduct to waive certain time limits; (2) 
provides a public officer or employee with 30 days 
to file an informational response to an ethics complaint and also provides that no objection or 
defense is waived by the failure to assert it in the informational response or during the 
investigatory stage of the proceedings; (3) grants the 
Executive Director an additional 10 days to complete his investigation of an ethics complaint and 
to present a recommendation regarding just and sufficient cause to the investigatory panel; and 
(4) grants the Commission a total of 60 days to hold a hearing and render an opinion if the 
investigatory panel finds just and sufficient cause, unless the public officer or employee waives 
the time limit.  
 The Ethics Law requires public officers to file a form acknowledging that they have 
received, read and understand the statutory ethical standards. (NRS 281A.500) Section 14 of this 
bill requires public officers to file the form at certain times while holding office and to 
acknowledge in the form that they have a responsibility to inform themselves of any amendments 
to the statutory ethical standards. Section 14 provides methods for public officers to obtain hard 
copies of the statutory ethical standards and also provides for Internet access to the statutory 
ethical standards. Section 14 additionally clarifies the methods for filing the form and provides 
that the willful refusal to execute and file the form constitutes a willful violation of the Ethics 
Law. 
 Finally, when the Nevada Constitution specifies a particular method for removing a 
public officer from office for misconduct, that constitutional method is exclusive, and the 
public officer may not be removed from office through statutory removal proceedings. 
Because certain elected and appointed state officers may be removed from office only through 
impeachment pursuant to Article 7 of the Nevada Constitution, they may not be removed from 
office through statutory removal proceedings. (Robison v. First Jud. Dist. Ct., 73 Nev. 169 
(1957)) Similarly, because State Legislators may be removed from office only through expulsion 
by their own House pursuant to Section 6 of Article 4 of the Nevada Constitution, they may not 
be removed from office through impeachment or statutory removal proceedings. (Hiss v. 
Bartlett, 69 Mass. 468 (1855); State ex rel. Martin v. Gilmore, 20 Kan. 551 (1878); In re 
Speakership, 25 P. 707 (Colo. 1891); State ex rel. Haviland v. Beadle, 111 P. 720 (Mont. 1910); 
State ex rel. Ezzell v. 
Shumate, 113 S.W.2d 381 (Tenn. 1938); State ex rel. Danforth v. Hickey, 475 S.W.2d 617 (Mo. 
1972)) Sections 13 and 18-24 of this bill conform existing statutory law with the constitutional 
provisions governing impeachment, expulsion and removal from office. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=438 
Effective January 1, 2009, and May 28, 2009  
 
SB161 – Existing law establishes the Nevada Youth Legislative Issues Forum, consisting of 21 
members who are enrolled in grades 9-12 in public schools or otherwise eligible for enrollment in 
public schools but enrolled in a homeschool or private school. (NRS 385.515, 385.525) Section 2 
of this bill: (1) changes the name of the Nevada Youth Legislative Issues Forum to the 
Nevada Youth Legislature; (2) changes the date for appointment of the members from June 
30 to March 30; (3) changes the commencement date of members’ terms from July 1 to 
June 1; and (4) provides an alternative method for appointing a pupil to the Nevada Youth 
Legislature if a Senator does not make an appointment by March 30. (NRS 385.515) 
 Section 3 of this bill: (1) expands the eligibility requirements to authorize a pupil to apply 
not only to the Senator of the senatorial district in which the pupil resides, but also to the Senator 
of the senatorial district in which the pupil is enrolled in a public school or a private school or, if 
he is homeschooled, otherwise eligible to be enrolled in a public school; (2) authorizes only 
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pupils who are enrolled in grades 10-12 in public schools or private schools or, if they are 
homeschooled, otherwise eligible for such enrollment in public schools to apply for appointment 
to the Nevada Youth Legislature; (3) prohibits a member from being appointed by a relative; and 
(4) clarifies that pupils who wish to be appointed or reappointed to the Nevada Youth Legislature 
may submit only one application to an appropriate appointing authority in a calendar year. (NRS 
385.525) 
 Section 5 of this bill revises the eligibility requirements for the Chair of the Nevada 
Youth Legislature. (NRS 385.545) Section 6 of this bill: (1) authorizes, rather than requires, the 
Nevada Youth Legislature to teleconference or 
videoconference its public hearings; and (2) requires each member of the Nevada Youth 
Legislature to conduct at least one meeting during his term to afford the youth of this State an 
opportunity to discuss issues of importance to the youth in this State. (NRS 385.555)  
 Section 7 of this bill revises the date by which the Nevada Youth Legislature must submit 
to the Legislative Counsel its request for the drafting of one legislative measure. (NRS 385.565) 
Section 10 of this bill extends by 2 years the date by which the money appropriated to the Nevada 
Youth Legislature during the 2007 Legislative Session will revert to the State General Fund. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=440 
Effective May 12, 2009, and July 1,2 009 
 
Rural/Government/Regulations 
AB54 – This bill authorizes the board of county commissioners of a county whose population is 
100,000 or more but less than 400,000 (currently Washoe County) to establish: (1) a program to 
provide financial assistance to persons to connect to a public water or sewer system under 
certain circumstances; and (2) a program to provide financial assistance to owners of public 
or private property to make such property resistant to flood damage. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=130 
Effective, May 29, 2009 
 
AB96 – Existing law provides that to be eligible for a Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship a 
student must be enrolled in at least 6 semester credit hours in a community college or 12 semester 
credit hours in another eligible institution. (NRS 396.930) The law does not specify whether 
enrollment in more than one eligible institution affects a student’s eligibility for a Scholarship or 
how to administer the Scholarship for such a student. 
 This bill clarifies that a student who is enrolled in more than one eligible institution 
is eligible for a Millennium Scholarship if the student meets certain requirements, and that 
the Scholarship must be administered by the eligible institution at which the student is 
enrolled in a program of study leading to a recognized degree or certificate. This bill also 
directs the Board of Regents of the University of Nevada to establish procedures and guidelines 
for the administration of Millennium Scholarships for students who are enrolled in more than one 
eligible institution. (NRS 396.930, 396.934) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=210 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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AB97 – This bill requires the Committee on Local Government Finance to adopt 
regulations to establish procedures for transferring a function from one local government to 
another local government. 
 This bill also requires the Committee on Local Government Finance, in consultation with 
the Director of the Department of Administration, to adopt regulations to establish procedures for 
transferring a function from a local government to a state agency or from a state agency to a local 
government. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=211 
Effective May 19, 2009 
 
AB192 – Existing law authorizes and sets forth the requirements for local governments to enter 
into performance contracts for the purchase and installation of operating costsavings measures to 
reduce costs related to such matters as energy, water and the disposal of waste, and related labor 
costs. (NRS 332.300-332.440) Existing law sets forth the procedures by which a local 
government will compile a list of the qualified service companies that it determines have a record 
of established projects or have demonstrated technical, operational, financial and managerial 
capabilities to design and carry out operating cost-savings measures. Under existing law, the local 
government must solicit proposals for a performance contract from such companies. (NRS 
332.350, 332.360) Sections 2-5, 11 and 12 of this bill provide that a company must apply to 
the local government, meet certain qualifications and be preapproved by a local 
government before it may submit a proposal for a performance contract. 
 Section 6 of this bill requires that performance contracts for operating costsavings 
measures identify the specific dollar amount and units or percentages of consumption that will be 
eliminated or avoided as a result of the operating costsavings measures. 
 Section 6.5 of this bill requires a local government that enters into a performance contract 
for operating cost-savings measures to submit a report annually to the Legislature or, when the 
Legislature is not in session, the Interim 
Finance Committee. 
 Section 8 of this bill amends the definition of “building” to provide that performance 
contracts apply only to existing buildings. (NRS 332.310)  
 Section 9 of this bill adds ground source systems of heating and cooling to the list of 
operating cost-savings measures that may be included in a performance contract. (NRS 332.330) 
 Section 13 of this bill eliminates the option for a performance contract to be structured as 
a shared-savings contract. (NRS 332.370) 
 Section 14 of this bill provides that the bonding requirements set forth in the provisions 
of chapter 339 of NRS apply to performance contracts that exceed $100,000. (NRS 332.390) 
 Existing law authorizes a local government to reinvest any savings realized under a 
performance contract into operating cost-savings measures. (NRS 332.410) Section 15 of this bill 
requires that such reinvestment comply with the provisions of NRS 332.300-332.440 and sections 
2-6.5 of this bill. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=396 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB225 – Existing law requires the board of county commissioners, in a county where a district 
for a fire department has been created and where the fire department transports sick or injured 
persons to a medical facility, to adopt an ordinance that either: (1) requires the fire department to 
impose and collect fees to defray the expenses of furnishing such transportation; or (2) prohibits 
the imposition and collection of such fees. (NRS 244.2961) Section 1 of this bill repeals the 
option of adopting an ordinance prohibiting the imposition and collection of such fees, 
except in counties for which a nonprofit corporation has been granted an exclusive 
franchise to provide ambulance service. Section 1 also requires that, in a county whose 



 

 107

population is 400,000 or more (currently Clark County), such an ordinance limit the number of 
transports the fire department may make annually to not more than 1,000 transports, with an 
exception for emergency situations in which a private ambulance is not available. Section 2 of 
this bill, with respect to a county that has already adopted an ordinance prohibiting the imposition 
and collection of such fees, allows the county until January 1, 2010, to amend or repeal that 
ordinance. Section 3 of this bill requires the board of county commissioners of a county whose 
population is 400,000 or more to submit a quarterly report to the Legislature and the Legislative 
Committee on Health Care regarding the number of yearly transports made by the fire department 
and all ambulance companies. The report must include, without limitation, the fees charged for 
those transports, whether or not the persons transported had health insurance and what medical 
facilities the persons were transported to and from. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=458 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB329 – On November 5, 2002, the voters in White Pine County approved County Question No. 
10, concerning the operation and maintenance of a county swimming pool facility. During the 
2003 Legislative Session, a one-quarter of 1 percent sales tax was imposed to support the 
operation and maintenance of a county swimming pool. Sections 1 and 2 of this bill amend 
NRS to provide that the money collected from the tax may be used for the operation and 
maintenance of a county swimming pool and recreational facility. (NRS 377A.020, 
377A.030) Section 3 of this bill authorizes the Board of County Commissioners to use the money 
in the fund for the county swimming pool to include the operation and maintenance of a county 
recreational facility. (NRS 377A.062) 
 This bill further clarifies that no other approval by the voters is required for the 
imposition of the tax because on November 5, 2002, voters in White Pine County approved 
County Question No. 10, concerning the imposition of a sales and use tax for the operation and 
maintenance of a county swimming pool facility. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=653 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB415 – Existing law grants to the Nevada Legislature the power to increase, diminish, 
consolidate or abolish the offices of county clerk, county recorder, auditor, sheriff, district 
attorney and public administrator. (Nev. Const., Art. 4, § 32) As interpreted by the Nevada 
Supreme Court, Nev. Const., Art. 4, § 32, does not set forth an exhaustive list of all the county 
offices that the Legislature may increase, diminish, consolidate or abolish but, instead, clarifies 
that although the offices of county clerk, county recorder, auditor, sheriff, district attorney and 
public administrator are constitutional offices, the Legislature may nonetheless increase, 
diminish, consolidate or abolish those offices. (Harvey v. Second Judicial Dist. Court, 117 Nev. 
754, 764-66 (2001)) The Court has further determined that the Legislature may either exercise or 
delegate the authority set forth in Nev. Const., Art. 4, § 32. (Cawley v. Pershing County, 50 Nev. 
237, 247 (1927)) 
 This bill, in counties whose population is less than 40,000 (currently counties other 
than Clark, Douglas, Elko and Washoe Counties and Carson City), authorizes the 
governing body of the county, after making certain findings and after approval of the 
residents of the county pursuant to an advisory ballot question (NRS 293.482), to combine 
or separate any county offices, except for constitutional county offices that are not listed in 
Nev. Const., Art. 4, § 32   thus, this bill does not authorize the governing body of a county to 
combine or separate such offices as county commissioner or district judge. (Nev. Const., 
Art. 4, § 26, Art. 6, § 5) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=803 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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AB463 – Section 1 of this bill restricts a department, division or other agency of this State from 
employing a person as a consultant for the agency. Section 1 requires the Interim Finance 
Committee to approve the employment of a consultant under certain circumstances and 
limits the approval of the employment of the person as a consultant if the person is a former 
employee of a department, division or other agency of this State and at least 1 year has not 
expired before the person is employed as a consultant. Section 1 also requires each board, 
commission, school district and institution of the Nevada System of Higher Education to submit 
to the Interim Finance Committee, at least once every 6 months, a report concerning each 
consultant employed by the entity. Section 1 also requires that contracts with temporary 
employment services be awarded by open competitive bidding. Section 1 further provides that 
certain exceptions apply for the employment of persons for a period of less than 4 months under 
certain conditions and for the employment of certain persons by the Department of Transportation 
for transportation projects that are federally funded.  
 Section 2.5 of this bill requires that information concerning the use of consultants and 
temporary employment services be included and explained in the budget process by a state 
agency. Section 2.7 of this bill requires the Legislative Auditor to conduct an audit of the use by 
agencies of the Executive Branch of State Government of contracts with consultants. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=892 
Effective June 1, 2009 
 
AB510 – Section 2 of this bill requires that certain matters be decided by the entire Public 
Utilities Commission of Nevada and allows the Commission to designate hearing officers as 
acting commissioners in certain circumstances. 
 Section 3 of this bill requires the Commission to appoint an Executive Director and 
specifies the qualifications and duties of the Executive Director. Section 1 of this bill revises 
provisions to be consistent with this new requirement.  
 Section 4 of this bill revises the dates by which electric utilities must file general rate 
applications. 
 Section 5 of this bill provides that the provisions of chapter 704 of NRS do not prohibit 
the Commission from allowing an electric utility to provide reduced rates to low-income 
customers. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=986 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB59 – Under existing law, a board of county commissioners in a county whose population is 
less than 400,000 (currently counties other than Clark County) is authorized to impose a 
surcharge to enhance or, in smaller counties, to enhance and improve the telephone system for 
reporting an emergency in the county. A board of county commissioners in a county whose 
population is less than 100,000 (currently counties other than Clark and Washoe Counties) is not 
authorized to impose the surcharge unless the board has first adopted a 5-year master plan for the 
emergency telephone system, which is required to address estimates of costs and proposed 
sources of funding. (NRS 244A.7643)  Section 1 of this bill defines “telephone system” for the 
purposes of this authority. (NRS 244A.7641)  
 Section 2 of this bill makes the requirement to adopt a 5-year master plan applicable 
on or after July 1, 2010, to a county whose population is 100,000 or more but less than 
400,000 (currently Washoe County). Section 2 also requires, for the duration of the 
imposition of a surcharge, an annual review and, if necessary, an update of the master plan 
in all counties in which such a plan was adopted.  
 Under existing law, the proceeds of such a surcharge are placed in a special revenue fund 
of the county. If the unencumbered balance of the proceeds of the surcharge in the fund at the end 
of any fiscal year exceeds $500,000, the board of county commissioners is required to decrease 
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the amount of the surcharge imposed during the next fiscal year by the amount necessary to 
ensure that the unencumbered balance in the fund at the end of the next fiscal year does not 
exceed $500,000. (NRS 244A.7645)  
 Section 3 of this bill increases the threshold amount that triggers a decrease in the 
surcharge in the fund of a county whose population is 40,000 or more but less than 400,000 
(currently Carson City and Elko, Douglas and Washoe Counties) to $1,000,000. Section 3 also 
expands the purposes for which a County whose population is 40,000 or more but less than 
400,000 (currently Carson City and Elko, Douglas and Washoe Counties) may use the proceeds 
of the surcharge to enhance the emergency telephone system. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=120 
Effective May 22, 2009 
 
SB144 – This bill sets forth various provisions governing the activities of public safety bomb 
squads and bomb technicians. Section 7.5 of this bill provides that the provisions of the bill 
apply in each county in this State: (1) in which there is a public safety bomb squad; and (2) in 
the absence of a memorandum of understanding setting forth the responsibilities of the public 
safety bomb squad. Section 7.5 also provides that in a county in which there is not a public safety 
bomb squad, the sheriff of the county or his designee is responsible for carrying out those duties 
of a public safety bomb squad which he determines are appropriate in that county.  
 Section 4 of this bill defines a “bomb technician” as a person who is certified as a bomb 
technician by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and is an active member of a public safety 
bomb squad. Section 6 of this bill defines a 
“public safety bomb squad” as a group which consists of members who are bomb technicians and 
which is accredited by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Section 8 of this bill sets forth the 
primary responsibilities of a public safety bomb squad. 
 Section 9 of this bill specifies that each public safety bomb squad is responsible for all 
render-safe procedures for all actual or suspected improvised explosive devices to which the 
public safety bomb squad responds. Section 9 also imposes duties upon a public safety bomb 
squad, including the duty to provide maximum safety for the public in accordance with certain 
national guidelines.  
 Section 10 of this bill requires each law enforcement agency in this State to establish a 
plan to ensure the 
timely notification of the appropriate public safety bomb squad of any actual or suspected 
improvised explosive device. Section 7 of this bill specifies that a suspected improvised explosive 
device includes any item that, based on training, experience or circumstances, would cause a 
reasonable person to believe that the item may pose an immediate threat of an explosive or 
destructive nature.  
 Section 11 of this bill provides that each bomb squad commander is responsible for the 
activities of the public safety bomb squad, requires the bomb squad commander to establish 
policies and tactical plans consistent with the National Guidelines for Bomb Technicians and 
provides that the bomb squad commander retains final authority concerning the render-safe 
procedures for incidents involving explosives to which the public safety bomb squad responds. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=384 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB147 – Chapter 414 of NRS authorizes the Governor to prepare a comprehensive state 
emergency management plan and authorizes political subdivisions of this State to establish local 
organizations for emergency management in accordance with the state emergency management 
plan. (NRS 414.060, 414.090) Section 4 of this bill requires broadcasters in this State to work 
in cooperation with the Division of Emergency Management of the Department of Public 
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Safety and the Nevada Broadcasters Association to develop comprehensive, coordinated 
plans for preparing for and responding appropriately to an emergency or disaster.  
 Section 5 of this bill authorizes the Nevada Broadcasters Association or its successor 
organization, the Nevada State Cable Telecommunications Association or its successor 
organization, any member of the Nevada State Cable Telecommunications Association or its 
successor organization and any other provider of emergency broadcasts, including, without 
limitation, a provider who uses emerging technologies, to establish a program for training and 
certifying first response broadcasters who, with certain restrictions, must be given access to an 
area affected by an emergency or disaster for the purpose of restoring, repairing or resupplying 
any facility or equipment critical to the ability of a broadcaster to acquire, produce and transmit 
essential emergency- or disaster-related public information programming. Each program 
established pursuant to section 5 must be consistent with federal law and guidelines. 
 Existing law provides the Governor with broad authority to seize materials and facilities 
for emergency management without regard to the limitations of any existing law. (NRS 414.070) 
Sections 7 and 9 of this bill provide that this grant of authority to the Governor and the authority 
granted to the executive heads or governing bodies of the political subdivisions of this State must 
not be construed to allow the confiscation of equipment, supplies or facilities of a broadcaster or 
first response broadcaster if the equipment, supplies or facilities will be used to enable the 
broadcast of essential emergency- or disaster-related public information programming in an area 
affected by an emergency or disaster.  
 Section 6 of this bill provides that, to the extent practicable and consistent with not 
endangering public safety, broadcasters and first response broadcasters must be given priority for 
the distribution of fuel, food, water and any other equipment, supplies or facilities over all 
persons other than persons who provide essential emergency services, health care and utility 
restoration services. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=393 
Effective May 22, 2009 
 
SB186 – Section 4 of this bill requires the district board of health in certain counties to 
adopt regulations for the issuance of permits to operate facilities for the management of 
waste tires. Section 4 authorizes the State Environmental Commission to adopt similar 
regulations for other counties. If a permit for the operation of a facility for the management of 
waste tires is issued, the district board of health or the State Environmental Commission must 
adopt regulations prohibiting the disposal of waste tires in any municipal solid waste landfill in 
the health district or county in which the facility is operated.  
 Section 5 of this bill prohibits a person from operating a facility for the management of 
waste tires unless the operator holds a permit to operate the facility and complies with the terms 
and conditions of the permit. A person who operates a facility in violation of the provisions of 
section 5 is guilty of a misdemeanor and, in addition, is subject to civil penalties and injunctive 
relief. (NRS 444.600) 
 Existing law prohibits the disposal of used or waste motor vehicle tires other than 
disposal at a site, landfill or incinerator which has been issued a permit by the Division of 
Environmental Protection of the State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources or a 
district board of health. (NRS 444.583) Section 6 of this bill prohibits the disposal of waste tires 
generated in a health district or county in which a facility for the management of waste tires has 
been issued a permit at any municipal solid waste landfill in the State. A person who violates 
section 6 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 per violation and 
is also subject to civil penalties and injunctive relief. (NRS 444.600, 444.635) Section 6 provides  
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exceptions for the inadvertent or unintentional disposal of a waste tire in a municipal solid waste 
landfill or if the unavailability of a facility for the management of waste tires makes compliance 
impracticable. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=527 
Effective May 28, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
 
SB304 – Existing law requires physicians and persons who attend to pregnant women to conduct 
a test for syphilis on pregnant women during the third trimester of pregnancy. (NRS 442.010) 
Section 1 of this bill requires an additional test for syphilis during the first trimester of 
pregnancy. 
 The State Board of Health is required to regulate certain medical laboratories and may 
adopt regulations concerning those laboratories. (Chapter 652 of NRS) Federal laws and 
regulations relating to medical laboratories provide three categories of laboratory tests: (1) 
waived tests; (2) tests of moderate complexity; and (3) tests of high complexity. (42 C.F.R. § 
493.5) Existing state law provides that regulations adopted by the Board may not be more 
stringent than the federal regulations unless the regulations relate to waived tests or the 
qualifications and duties of the personnel of a medical laboratory. (NRS 652.123) Section 3 of 
this bill provides that regulations relating to tests for the detection of the human 
immunodeficiency virus, regardless of whether it is a waived test, may not be more stringent than 
federal regulations. Section 2 of this bill requires a laboratory which conducts a test for the 
detection of the human immunodeficiency virus that is classified as a waived test to: (1) conduct 
the test in accordance with the quality assurance guidelines established by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention of the United States Department of Health and Human Services; and (2) 
comply with certain reporting requirements. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=867 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Appropriations/Budget 
AB543 - Existing law authorizes a county to impose an ad valorem tax for capital projects in the 
amount of 5 cents per $100 of the assessed valuation of the county. (NRS 354.59815) Section 1 
of this bill requires the deposit into the State General Fund of a portion of the proceeds of 
any such tax imposed during the next 2 fiscal years in a county whose population is 100,000 
or more (currently Clark and Washoe Counties). 
 Existing law authorizes a board of county commissioners, after receiving the approval of 
the voters, to impose a supplemental governmental services tax of 1 cent on each $1 valuation of 
a vehicle. (NRS 371.045) Section 4 of this bill authorizes the board of a county whose population 
is 100,000 or more but less than 400,000 (currently Washoe County) to impose such a tax without 
voter approval and expands the purposes for which such a county may expend the proceeds 
thereof. Section 5 of this bill expands the purposes for which a county whose population is 
400,000 or more (currently Clark County) may expend the proceeds of such a tax. 
 Section 8 of this bill requires the deposit into the State General Fund of the portion of the 
property taxes levied for the next 2 fiscal years for operating purposes by Clark and Washoe 
Counties at the rate of 4 cents per $100 of assessed valuation. 
 Section 9 of this bill requires the transfer to the general fund for Clark County of certain 
proceeds for the next 2 fiscal years of taxes imposed in the County on revenues from the rental of 
transient lodging, on the privilege of new residential, commercial, industrial and other 
development, and on the privilege of operating a vehicle on the public streets, roads and 
highways. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1099 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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AB552 – Existing law requires the State Controller to transfer 0.75 percent of certain local sales 
and use taxes collected during the preceding month in each county and from out-of-state 
businesses to the appropriate account in the State General Fund as compensation to the State for 
the costs of collecting these taxes. (NRS 374.785) This bill increases the compensation rate for 
local sales and use taxes, other than the Local School Support Tax, to 1.75 percent. 
 Existing law provides that the collection allowance applicable to taxes on intoxicating 
liquor, cigarettes and other products made from tobacco, and sales and use taxes will increase 
from 0.25 percent to 0.5 percent on July 1, 2009. (Chapter 4, Statutes of Nevada 2008, 25th 
Special Session, pp. 18-20 and 23) Section 18 of this bill repeals the provision effecting this 
change, thereby maintaining the collection allowance at the rate of 0.25 percent. 
 Existing law requires the imposition of certain taxes on revenue from the rental of 
transient lodging in each county and incorporated city in this State, and the payment of all or part 
of the proceeds of those taxes to the State. (§§ 3, 4 and 6 of I.P. 1; NRS 244.3352, 244.3354, 
268.096, 268.0962) Sections 4 and 17 of this bill require the payment of those proceeds to the 
State on or before the last day of the month immediately following the month for which those 
proceeds are collected. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1118 
Effective June 1, 2009, July 1, 2009, and October 1, 2029 
 
AB563 – An Act relating to education; ensuring sufficient funding for K-12 public 
education for the 2009-2011 biennium; apportioning the State Distributive School Account in 
the State General Fund for the 2009-2011 biennium; authorizing certain expenditures; making 
appropriations for purposes relating to basic support, class-size reduction and other educational 
purposes; authorizing temporarily the board of trustees of a school district to use money raised 
through its general obligations for the purchase of equipment for the transportation of pupils; 
revising provisions governing local funds available for certain school districts for the 2009-2011 
biennium; and providing other matters properly relating thereto. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1157 
Effective June 1, 2009, and July 1, 2010 
 
SB245 – Nevada has enacted the County Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Law which, in part, authorizes 
certain counties to create regional transportation commissions and impose certain taxes on fuel. 
(Chapter 373 of NRS) Sections 2-41 and 64 of this bill reorganize the provisions relating to 
regional transportation commissions into chapter 277 of NRS to be known as the Regional 
Transportation Commission Act. 
 Sections 17 and 31 of this bill authorize the regional transportation commission in a 
county with a population of 400,000 or more (currently Clark County) to construct, install and 
maintain vending stands in a building, terminal or parking facility owned, operated or leased by 
the commission. Such vending stands may provide any approved articles, food or beverages to 
passengers of public mass transportation within the county. 
 Sections 15 and 28 of this bill authorize regional transportation commissions, under 
certain circumstances, to place street banners along public highways and within rights-of-way and 
public easements. Fees collected for placing street banners must be given to the governmental 
entities that own or control the public easements or rights-of-way where the street banners are 
placed, less an administrative fee given to the commissions to fund road repair and maintenance. 
 Section 34 of this bill authorizes a regional transportation commission to construct, 
modify, operate and maintain certain electrical and communications systems. Section 38 of this 
bill authorizes a regional transportation commission that budgets $1,000,000 or more in a fiscal 
year for the purchase of fuel to enter into a fuel hedge contract under certain circumstances. 
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 Section 55 of this bill requires the governing body of each city that participates in a 
regional transportation commission to approve the dissolution of the commission, in addition to 
the governing body of the county. (NRS 373.120) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=683 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB340 – Existing law establishes the Fund for a Healthy Nevada in the State Treasury, into which 
the State Treasurer is required to deposit: (1) fifty percent of all money received by the State 
pursuant to any settlement entered into by the State and a manufacturer of tobacco products; and 
(2) fifty percent of all money recovered by the State from a judgment in a civil action against a 
manufacturer of tobacco products. (NRS 439.620) Existing law requires the Department of Health 
and Human Services to allocate, by contract or grant, for expenditure not more than 15 percent of 
available revenues from the Fund for a Healthy Nevada for programs that prevent, reduce or treat 
the use of tobacco and the consequences of the use of tobacco. (NRS 439.630)   
 This bill requires that the money be allocated for programs that are consistent with 
the guidelines of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services relating to evidence-based best practices to 
prevent, reduce or treat the use of tobacco and the consequences of the use of tobacco. This 
bill further requires that the money be allocated: (1) to the district board of health in each county 
whose population is 100,000 or more (currently Clark and Washoe Counties) for expenditure for 
such programs in the respective county; (2) for such programs in counties whose population is 
less than 100,000 (all counties other than Clark and Washoe Counties); and (3) for evaluations, 
statewide tobacco cessation programs and other statewide services deemed necessary by the 
Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services and district boards of health. 
This bill also removes the requirement that the Department or the Grants Management Advisory 
Committee conduct public hearings regarding existing or proposed programs that reduce or 
prevent the use of tobacco. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=945 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB408 – Existing law authorizes the payment of various benefits to members of the Nevada 
National Guard from the Patriot Relief Account in the State General Fund. (NRS 412.1435) This 
bill authorizes payment from the Account of $100 to a member of the Nevada National 
Guard who: (1) returns from deployment in a combat zone; (2) was on active service for 45 
days or more in full-time National Guard duty; and (3) not more than 90 days after 
returning from deployment in the combat zone, attends a course on reintegration into the 
community with his spouse, an adult member of his immediate family or an adult with 
whom he cohabits.  
 This bill also provides that the interest and income on any unexpended appropriations 
made to the Patriot Relief Account must be credited to the Account. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1077 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB431 – An act relating to state financial administration; authorizing expenditures by various 
officers, departments, boards, agencies, commissions and institutions of the State 
Government for the fiscal years commencing on July 1, 2009, and ending on June 30, 2010, 
and beginning on July 1, 2010, and ending on June 30, 2011; authorizing the collection of 
certain amounts from the counties for the use of the services of the State Public Defender; and 
providing other matters properly relating thereto. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1155 
Effective June 1, 2009, and July 1, 2009 
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Central Repository 
SB28 – Section 2 of this bill deletes the requirement that a dentist who makes a dental 
examination of an unidentified dead body forward the record of the dental examination to 
the Investigation Division and the Central Repository and instead requires the dentist to 
forward the record to the coroner, who is required to enter that information into the 
computer for the National Crime Information Center. Section 2 also deletes the requirement 
that a sheriff, chief of police or other law enforcement agency transmit to the Investigation 
Division and to the Central Repository certain information concerning a person missing under 
suspicious circumstances.  
 In addition, section 2 deletes the requirements that the Investigation Division and the 
Central Repository maintain records to assist in the identification of dead bodies and provide such 
records to the State Disaster   Identification Team of the Division of Emergency Management of 
the Department of Public Safety upon request. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=55 
Effective May 4, 2009 
 
Schools 
AB100 – The Deputy Superintendent for Administrative and Fiscal Services in the Department of 
Education investigates, inspects and reports on the funds and accounts of school districts. (NRS 
385.315) Section 1 of this bill requires the Deputy Superintendent to perform similar duties 
for the funds and accounts of charter schools and university schools for profoundly gifted 
pupils. 
 The governing body of a charter school is required to appoint a trustee upon closure of 
the school. (NRS 386.536) Section 2 of this bill provides that the trustee appointed by the 
governing body is subject to the approval of the sponsor and requires the sponsor to make the 
appointment if the governing body is not able to do so. Section 2 also provides that if the 
sponsor of a charter school provides financial compensation to the administrator or person 
appointed by the governing body, the sponsor may receive reimbursement from the charter 
school for the costs incurred by the sponsor in providing the financial compensation for a 
period not to exceed 6 months. 
 A charter school that meets certain requirements, including certain financial and 
performance standards, is eligible for an exemption from an annual performance audit and must 
instead undergo a performance audit every 3 years. (NRS 386.5515) Section 3 of this bill 
provides that if such a charter school no longer satisfies the requirements for an exemption or if 
reasonable evidence of noncompliance in achieving the educational goals and objectives of the 
charter school exists, the charter school shall submit to an annual performance audit. 
 Existing law provides that upon the request of a parent or legal guardian of a pupil 
enrolled in a charter school, the board of trustees of the school district in which the charter school 
is located shall authorize the pupil to participate in a class, extracurricular activity and sports 
within the school district under certain circumstances. Section 4 of this bill amends existing law 
to provide for such participation in the school district in which the pupil resides rather than the 
school district in which the charter school is located. (NRS 386.560) 
 The sponsor of a charter school may request, upon completion of each school year, 
reimbursement from the governing body of the school for the administrative costs associated with 
sponsorship. The total amount of such administrative costs must not exceed a specified 
percentage of the total amount of money apportioned to 
the charter school during the year. (NRS 386.570) Section 5 of this bill revises the schedule of 
payments for reimbursement of administrative costs from yearly to quarterly and authorizes a 
charter school to apply for a delay in the payment of a quarterly reimbursement if a financial 
hardship exists. Section 5 also provides that to determine the maximum amount of administrative 
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costs, the total amount apportioned to the charter school during the year must be adjusted by the 
final computation of apportionment for the school. 
 Sections 6 and 9 of this bill revise provisions governing the annual reports of charter 
schools and school districts. (NRS 386.600, 387.303) The Department of Education is required to 
develop a formula for determining 
the minimum amount of money that each school district is required to expend each fiscal year for 
textbooks, instructional supplies and instructional hardware. (NRS 387.206) Section 8 of this bill 
requires the development of such a formula and minimum expenditures for charter schools. 
 Existing law requires the board of trustees of a school district and a college or university 
within the Nevada System of Higher Education which sponsors a charter school to submit an 
annual report to the State Board of Education on the evaluation of the progress made by the 
charter school in achieving its educational goals and objectives. (NRS 386.610) Section 7 of this 
bill requires an annual report to be made by the Department for each charter school sponsored by 
the State Board. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=215 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB191 – Existing law requires each school to conduct physical examinations of pupils in certain 
grades to determine if a child has scoliosis, a visual or auditory problem or a gross physical 
defect, and to conduct examinations of the height and weight of a representative sample of pupils 
in certain grades. (NRS 392.420) The requirement for examinations of the height and weight of a 
representative sample of pupils in certain grades is scheduled to expire on June 30, 2010. 
(Chapter 414, Statutes of Nevada 2007, p. 1873) Section 2 of this bill extends the prospective 
expiration of the requirement that each school conduct examinations of the height and 
weight of a representative sample of pupils to June 30, 2015. Section 1 of this bill revises the 
grades in which the examinations of the height and weight of a representative sample of 
pupils are conducted to require each school district to conduct and report on the 
examinations for grades 4, 7 and 10 and authorizes a school district to conduct the 
examinations in other grade levels. (NRS 392.420) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=395 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB77 – This bill provides for the establishment of programs for teen mentoring in public high 
schools in this State. Specifically, this bill: (1) authorizes the board of trustees of each school 
district to establish a policy for a program of teen mentoring in the public high schools 
within the school district; (2) sets forth certain provisions that the policy for teen mentoring 
must include; (3) authorizes the principal of each public high school to establish such a 
program of teen mentoring in accordance with the policy or a plan approved by the board 
of trustees; (4) authorizes each board of trustees and public high school to accept gifts, 
grants and donations to carry out a program of teen mentoring; and (5) specifies that the 
provisions of this bill do not prevent a public high school from continuing to provide any 
similar program of teen mentoring that exists on the effective date of this bill. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=158 
Effective May 22, 2009 
 
SB209 – Existing law creates the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship Program and 
prescribes the eligibility requirements for the Millennium Scholarship, including a requirement 
that a student must have graduated from a public or private high school in this State not more than 
6 years before he applies for the Millennium Scholarship. Existing law also authorizes the Board 
of Regents of the University of Nevada to establish criteria with respect to certain students who 
have been on active duty serving in the Armed Forces of the United States to exempt such 
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students from the 6-year limitation on applications for the Millennium Scholarship. (NRS 
396.926, 396.930) This bill requires the Board of Regents to establish criteria with respect to 
students who actively served or participated in a charitable, religious or public service 
assignment or mission to exempt such students from the 6-year limitation on applications 
for the Millennium Scholarship. The criteria must provide for the award of Millennium 
Scholarships to those students who qualify for the exemption and who otherwise satisfy the 
eligibility criteria to the extent that money is available after all other obligations for the award of 
Millennium Scholarships for the current school year have been satisfied. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=593 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
License Plates 
AB29 - Existing law creates the Account for License Plates for the Promotion of Agriculture 
Within This State and authorizes the provision of grants from the Account to other public 
agencies to promote agriculture within Nevada. (NRS 561.411) This bill authorizes the Director 
of the State Department of Agriculture to provide grants from the Account to nonprofit 
organizations for that purpose. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=92 
Effective May 18, 2009 
 
AB172 – Under existing law, certain charitable organizations which receive additional fees from 
the issuance of special license plates during a fiscal year are required to file with the Commission 
on Special License Plates a balance sheet and recent bank statement on or before September 1 
following the end of the fiscal year. (NRS 482.38277) Section 1 of this bill requires these 
organizations to file additional information with the Commission and requires this 
additional information to be filed with the Department also. Section 3 of this bill makes 
these additional information requirements subject to the existing law providing that if a 
charitable organization fails to comply with the requirements, the Department of Motor 
Vehicles may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, suspend the collection of 
additional fees on behalf of the organization and the production of the organization’s 
special license plate. (NRS 482.38279) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=363 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB139 – This bill entitles qualified persons to be issued license plates specially designed by the 
Department with a gold star to indicate that the recipient is a family member of a person killed in 
the line of duty while on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States. This bill excepts  
these special license plates from: (1) the provisions that require a minimum number of 
applications for the plates; (2) the requirement that the Commission approve or disapprove 
the plates; and (3) the limit on the number of separate designs of special license plates that 
may be issued by the Department at any one time. (NRS 482.3765, 482.377, 482.3775, 
482.378) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=351 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
PERS 
SB174 – Under existing law, a volunteer fire department may choose, by the joint application of a 
majority of its members, to participate in the Public Employees’ Retirement System. If a 
volunteer fire department chooses to participate in the System, all members of the department 
automatically become participants in the System. (NRS 286.367) 
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 Also under existing law, with certain limited exceptions, a retired public employee who 
would otherwise be receiving retirement benefits from the System but who accepts employment 
or an independent contract with a public employer is disqualified from receiving retirement 
benefits from the System if that employment or contract is in a position that is eligible for the 
System. (NRS 286.520) Such positions include volunteer firefighters. 
 This bill exempts volunteers of a fire department from the preceding 
disqualification so that a retired public employee may volunteer with a fire department 
while continuing to receive retirement benefits from the System. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=493 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Discrimination 
SB207  

Notes: Sexual orientation is defined as having or 
being perceived as having an orientation for 
heterosexuality, homosexuality and bisexuality.  A 
person who believes he/she has been discriminated 
against based upon sexual orientation in places of 
public accommodation may file a complaint with 
the Nevada Equal Rights Commission.  
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Under existing law, Nevada has declared as its public policy the right of all people to have access 
to places of public accommodation without discrimination based on race, religious creed, color, 
age, sex, disability, sexual orientation, national origin or ancestry. (NRS 233.010) Existing law 
makes it unlawful for places of public accommodation to discriminate against a person based on 
race, color, religion, national origin or disability. (NRS 651.070) Section 2 of this bill provides 
the same protection from discrimination based on sexual orientation in places of public 
accommodation. 
 Existing law authorizes the Nevada Equal Rights Commission to investigate cases of 
discrimination in places of public accommodation and authorizes a person who believes he has 
been discriminated against based on race, color, religion, national origin or disability to file a 
complaint with the Commission. (NRS 233.150, 651.110) Section 3 of this bill authorizes a 
person who believes he has been discriminated against based on sexual orientation to file a 
complaint with the Commission. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=591 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 651.050; 651.070; 651.110  
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Real Property 
Appraisal  
AB287 – Section 4 of this bill prohibits certain persons from improperly influencing or 
attempting to improperly influence the development, reporting, result or review of an 
appraisal under certain circumstances. Sections 1, 2, 24 and 27 of this bill apply this 
prohibition to real estate brokers and salesmen, mortgage brokers and agents, appraisers and 
mortgage bankers. 
 Section 25 of this bill revises provisions setting forth unprofessional conduct for an 
appraiser to expand the scope of conduct that is considered unprofessional with regard to 
appraising real estate when the appraiser’s compensation is affected by the appraised value 
of the real estate. 
 Sections 5-22 and 26 of this bill provide for the registration and regulation of 
appraisal management companies.  
 Section 23 of this bill revises the requirements for continuing education for appraisers. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=567 
Effective May 21, 2009, July 1, 2009, and January 1, 2010 
 
Common Interest Communities 
AB129 – Section 1 of this bill: (1) states that the provisions of chapter 116 of NRS do not 
modify the tariffs, rules and standards of a public utility; and (2) provides that the governing 
documents of associations of common-interest communities must be consistent and not 
conflict with the tariffs, rules and standards of a public utility. 
 Section 2 of this bill prohibits an association of any common-interest community from 
restricting the parking of certain utility service vehicles, law enforcement vehicles and 
emergency services vehicles under certain circumstances. (NRS 116.350) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=284 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB204 – Existing law provides that, not less than 30 days or more than 60 days before the 
beginning of the fiscal year of a unit owners’ association of a common-interest community, the 
executive board of the association must provide each unit’s owner with certain information 
pertaining to the budget of the association. (NRS 116.31151) Section 1 of this bill requires the 
executive board to also make available to each unit’s owner information pertaining to a 
policy established by the association for the collection of any fees, fines, assessments or costs 
imposed against a unit’s owner, including the unit’s owner’s responsibility to pay such fees, 
fines, assessments or costs and the rights of the association to recover the fees, fines, 
assessments or costs if the unit’s owner does not pay them. 
 Under existing law, a unit-owners’ association of a common-interest community has 
priority over certain other creditors with respect to a lien on a unit for any construction penalty 
imposed against the unit’s owner, any assessment levied against the unit or certain fines imposed 
against the unit’s owner. Such a lien is also prior to a first security interest on the unit recorded 
before the assessments became delinquent to the extent of the assessments for common expenses 
based on the periodic budget adopted by the association which would have become due in the 
absence of acceleration during the 6 months preceding an action to enforce the lien. (NRS 
116.3116) Section 2 of this bill changes the 6-month threshold for super priority of a lien for an 
association to 9 months, unless federal regulations adopted by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage 
Corporation or the Federal National Mortgage Association require a shorter period of priority for  
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the lien. If such federal regulations require a shorter period, the period must be determined in 
accordance with the federal regulations, except that the period must not be less than the 6 months 
preceding an action to enforce the lien, as currently provided in existing law. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=416 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB251 – Existing law provides that the executive board of a unit-owners’ association may 
nominate a person to serve on the executive board and that qualified members of the association 
may also have their names placed on the ballot along with the nominees for election to the 
executive board. Existing law also provides that the election of any member of the executive 
board of a unit-owners’ association must be conducted by secret written ballot, unless the 
declaration of the association provides that voting rights may be exercised by delegates or 
representatives. (NRS 116.31034) Section 1 of this bill provides that, before notice is provided 
to each unit’s owner of his eligibility to serve on the executive board, the executive board 
may determine that if the number of candidates nominated for membership on the 
executive board is less than or equal to the number of open positions on the executive board, 
the appropriate officer of the association will send a notice to each unit’s owner informing 
each unit’s owner that a unit’s owner who is qualified to be a member of the executive 
board may nominate himself for membership on the executive board by submitting a 
nomination to the executive board within 30 days after the notice. If the executive board 
decides to send such a notice and, at the closing of the period for nominations, the number of 
candidates nominated for membership on the executive board is greater than the number of 
members to be elected to the executive board, then the association must conduct an election for 
membership on the executive board. If, after any additional nominations, the number of 
candidates nominated for membership on the executive board continues to be less than or equal to 
the number of open positions on the executive board, then such nominees shall be deemed to be 
duly elected members of the executive board. 
 Existing law requires the Commission on Common-Interest Communities and 
Condominium Hotels to adopt regulations governing the issuance of certificates for community 
managers. (NRS 116A.410) Section 2 of this bill provides that those regulations must establish a 
procedure for a person who was previously issued a certificate and who no longer holds a 
certificate to reapply for and obtain a new certificate without undergoing any period of 
supervision by another community manager, regardless of the length of time that has passed since 
the person last acted as a community manager. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=501 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB311 - Existing law requires a unit owners’ association with an annual budget of less than 
$75,000 to have its financial statement audited once every 4 fiscal years unless an audit for a 
fiscal year in which an audit will not be conducted is requested by 15 percent of the total number 
of voting members of the association. (NRS 116.31144) This bill requires the financial 
statement of such an association to be reviewed in the year immediately preceding the year 
in which a study of the association’s reserves is conducted unless an audit is otherwise 
requested by 15 percent of the voting members of the association. 
 Existing law also requires an association with an annual budget of $75,000 or more but 
less than $150,000 to have its financial statement audited once every 4 fiscal years and reviewed 
every fiscal year for which an audit is not conducted. (NRS 116.31144) This bill requires the 
financial statement of such an association to be reviewed every fiscal year unless an audit is 
otherwise requested by 15 percent of the voting members of the association. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=613 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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AB361 – Existing law assigns the responsibility for maintenance of a unit in a common interest 
community to the owner of the unit, and maintenance of a common element in the community to 
the unit-owners’ association. (NRS 116.3107) Existing law provides procedures for the executive 
board of the association to fine a unit’s owner who fails to maintain his residence according to the 
governing documents. (NRS 116.31031) 
 Section 1 of this bill provides that the association may, without liability for trespass, 
enter on the grounds of a unit that is vacant or that is in the foreclosure process, whether 
vacant or not, to maintain the exterior of the unit or abate a public nuisance on the exterior 
of the unit if, after notice and a hearing, the unit’s owner refuses or fails to do so. Section 1 
also provides that any amount of the costs for such maintenance or abatement which are not paid 
by the unit’s owner will be a lien against the unit. Further, this section provides that the lien has 
priority over certain other liens, claims, encumbrances and titles, except certain liens recorded 
before the declaration for the association was recorded and certain liens of assessments and taxes. 
Finally, this section provides that the period of priority of the lien shall be indefinite, unless 
regulations of the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation or the Federal National Mortgage 
Association provide for a shorter period of priority for the lien, but even if such organization’s 
regulations provide for a shorter period of priority for the lien, the period of priority shall not be 
less than 6 months. 
 Section 2 of this bill specifically authorizes a unit-owners’ association to charge a unit’s 
owner for the maintenance and abatement services provided pursuant to section 1 of the bill. 
(NRS 116.3102) Section 3 of this bill further provides that a lien for such maintenance and 
abatement services has priority over a first security interest on the unit. (NRS 116.3116) 
 Section 4 of this bill provides that a unit-owners’ association may record in the office of 
the county recorder a request for a trustee or other authorized person to provide the association 
with a copy of the deed after the sale of a unit upon a deed of trust for any unit within the 
association. (NRS 107.090) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=711 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB216 – Existing law provides that a unit’s owner may not change the appearance of the common 
elements or the exterior appearance of a unit without permission of the association. (NRS 
116.2111) However, an association may not unreasonably restrict, prohibit or withhold approval 
for a unit’s owner to add to a unit shutters to improve the security of the unit or to reduce the 
costs of energy for the unit. This bill provides that an association may not unreasonably 
restrict, prohibit or withhold such approval for a unit’s owner to add shutters that are 
attached to certain common elements or limited common elements under certain 
circumstances. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=605 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB253 – Section 2 of this bill provides additional ethical requirements for members of an 
executive board of a unit-owners’ association by requiring: (1) a member who stands to gain 
any personal profit or compensation from a matter before the executive board to disclose the 
matter to the executive board and to abstain from voting on the matter; and (2) a member who has 
a member of his household or relative who stands to profit from a matter before the executive 
board to disclose before voting on the matter. (NRS 116.31185, 116.31187) 
 With some exceptions, existing law requires an executive board to hold open meetings, 
including meetings to consider a contract. (NRS 116.31085) Sections 3 and 5 of this bill require 
an association that solicits bids for association projects, including, without limitation, projects 
that involve maintenance, repair, replacement or restoration of any part of the common elements 
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or which involve services provided to the association, to consider and open the bids during a 
meeting of the executive board of the association. 
 Existing law provides for remedial and disciplinary action for any violation of the 
provisions of chapter 116 of NRS governing common-interest communities which will apply to a 
violation of section 2 or 3 of this bill. 
(NRS 116.745-116.795)  
 Existing law provides that except as otherwise provided in the declaration, an association 
may not require a unit’s owner to secure or obtain any approval from the association in order to 
rent or lease his unit. (NRS 116.335) Section 6 of this bill provides that unless, at the time a unit’s 
owner purchased his unit, the declaration prohibited the unit’s owner from renting or leasing his 
unit or required the unit’s owner to secure or obtain any approval from the association in order to 
rent or lease his unit, the association may not: (1) prohibit the unit’s owner from renting or 
leasing his unit; or (2) require the unit’s owner to secure or obtain any approval from the 
association in order to rent or lease his unit. Section 6 also provides that if a declaration contains 
a provision establishing a maximum number or percentage of units in the common-interest 
community which may be rented or leased: (1) that provision of the declaration may not be 
amended on or after October 1, 2009, to decrease that maximum number or percentage of units 
which may be rented or leased; (2) a unit’s owner may request a waiver of such provision upon a 
showing of economic hardship under certain circumstances; and (3) any units owned by the 
declarant must not be counted or considered in determining the maximum number of units in the 
common-interest community that may be rented or leased. 
 Section 7 of this bill makes the provisions allowing the transient commercial use of 
units within a planned community that is restricted to residential use in certain 
circumstances applicable in all counties rather than just in larger counties. (NRS 116.340) 
 Existing law requires a unit’s owner or his authorized agent to furnish to a purchaser a 
resale package which includes certain documents relating to the association. (NRS 116.4109) 
Section 8 of this bill: (1) requires the unit’s owner to furnish the resale package at his own 
expense; and (2) requires the disclosure of any transfer fees, transaction fees or other fees 
associated with the resale of the unit. 
 Section 9 of this bill increases the amount of the administrative fine that may be imposed 
against a person who engages in certain activity without holding the required certificate or permit 
from $5,000 to $10,000. (NRS 116A.900) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=694 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
SB261 – This bill makes various changes relating to common-interest ownership to: (1) 
incorporate certain revisions to the Uniform Common-Interest Ownership Act promulgated 
by the Uniform Law Commission; and (2) eliminate references to the preparation of certain 
plans regarding certain common-interest communities and condominium hotels. 
 Sections 2, 3, 6 and 9 of this bill provide that the provisions of the Uniform Act only 
apply to a nonresidential condominium if the declaration so provides.  
 Sections 4 and 7 of this bill clarify the applicability of the Uniform Act by revising the 
definition of “common-interest community” to: (1) reflect the revisions promulgated by the 
Uniform Law Commission; and (2) clarify that certain agreements to share expenses do not create 
a common-interest community. (NRS 116.021) 
 Sections 8 and 10-26 of this bill eliminate references to the preparation of certain plans 
for certain common-interest communities and condominium hotels. (NRS 116.089, 116.1206, 
116.2105, 116.2109, 116.211, 116.2112, 116.2113, 116.2114, 116.2117, 116.345, 116.4103, 
116.4109, 116B.225, 116B.295, 116B.350, 116B.365, 116B.760) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=704 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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SB351 – Section 3 of this bill provides that a unit-owners’ association must deposit all funds of 
the association into certain financial institutions. Section 3 also provides that an association 
shall invest all funds of the association in certain investments.  
 Section 7 of this bill clarifies existing law to provide that a change in the use of a unit 
which requires unanimous approval of the units’ owners includes only changes to the boundary of 
a unit or the allocated interests of a unit. (NRS 116.2117) 
 Section 9 of this bill provides that the executive board of an association may not fill a 
vacancy on the board without a vote of the units’ owners if the governing documents 
provide that the vacancy must be filled by a vote of the membership of the association. (NRS 
116.3103) 
 Existing law requires an association to: (1) establish reserves for the repair, replacement 
and restoration of the major components of the common elements; (2) include in the annual 
budget certain information pertaining to the repair, replacement and restoration of the major 
components of the common elements; and (3) conduct a study every 5 years of the reserves 
required to repair, replace and restore the major components of the common elements. (NRS 
116.3115 116.31151, 116.31152)  
 Sections 12, 12.3 and 12.7 of this bill require an association to perform such functions 
with respect to any other portion of the common-interest community which the association has a 
duty to maintain, repair, replace or restore in addition to the major components of the common 
elements. 
 Section 13 of this bill amends existing law to exempt architectural records submitted by a 
unit’s owner from the records which must be made available by an association. (NRS 116.31175) 
 Section 14 of this bill amends existing law to add to the information statement provided 
as part of a purchase of a unit in a common-interest community a statement that the provisions of 
the Declaration of Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions or other governing documents may be 
superseded by provisions of chapter 116 of NRS. (NRS 116.41095) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=970 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Disclosures 
SB106 – Existing law requires the seller of a home or improved lot that is adjacent to open range 
to make certain disclosures to the purchaser concerning the livestock that may enter the property 
from the adjacent open range. (NRS 113.065) This bill amends the existing law to: (1) require 
the seller to disclose to the purchaser that the lot may be subject to R.S. 2477 roads or other 
rights-of-way; (2) require the seller to provide to the purchaser a copy of the disclosure 
document that is signed and acknowledged by the purchaser; (3) require the seller to record 
a copy of the disclosure document in the office of the county recorder where the property is 
located; and (4) provide an affirmative defense to the seller in an action brought by the 
purchaser against the seller for damages allegedly suffered as a result of any right-of-way 
included in the disclosure. (NRS 113.065) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=223 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Foreclosure/Mortgage/Brokers/Escrow 
AB140 – Sections 2 and 7 of this bill revise existing law by requiring that a notice of sale of real 
property under execution or a notice of sale of real property pursuant to a trustee’s power of sale 
be served upon the State Board of Health if the real property is operated as a licensed health 
facility. Sections 2 and 6.7 of this bill require, if the sale of property is a residential 
foreclosure, a separate notice to be served upon any tenant or subtenant, other than the 
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judgment debtor, in actual occupation of the real property subject to a notice of sale under 
execution or a notice of sale pursuant to a trustee’s power of sale to inform the tenant or 
subtenant that the property is subject to a notice of sale. (NRS 21.130)  
 Sections 3 and 8 of this bill make it unlawful for a person to willfully remove or deface a 
notice of sale under execution or a notice of sale pursuant to a trustee’s power of sale which is 
posted on real property. (NRS 21.140, 107.084)  
 Sections 4 and 6 of this bill require the purchaser of a vacant residential property at a 
foreclosure sale or a trustee’s sale to maintain the exterior of the property. Sections 4 and 6 also 
authorize the appropriate governmental entity to assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per day, 
under certain circumstances, for failure to maintain the property. 
 Existing law provides that a person who holds over and continues in possession of real 
property that has been foreclosed after a 3-day notice to quit has been served upon him may be 
removed. (NRS 40.255) Section 5 of this bill provides that a tenant or subtenant, other than the 
person whose name appears on the mortgage or deed of trust, may be removed only after the 
expiration of a specified period not to exceed 60 days if the property has been sold as a residential 
foreclosure. Section 5 also requires the tenant or subtenant who remains in occupation of the real 
property to remit rent to the new owner of the property pending expiration of the specified period. 
Section 5 further prohibits any person from entering a record of eviction for a tenant or subtenant 
who vacates the property within the specified period if the property has been sold as a residential 
foreclosure. Finally, section 5 allows the new owner of the real property, if the property has been 
sold as a residential foreclosure, to negotiate a new purchase, lease or rental agreement with the 
tenant or subtenant in occupation of the property or to offer a payment in exchange for the tenant 
or subtenant vacating the property on a date earlier than the end of the specified period. 
 Section 5.5 of this bill requires a landlord to file proof of service with the court of any 
notice required to be served before the removal of a person who holds over and continues in 
possession of real property after receiving a 3-day notice to quit. (NRS 40.280) 
 Section 9 of this bill requires a landlord to disclose in writing to a prospective tenant if 
the property to be leased or rented is the subject of foreclosure proceedings. Section 9 also makes 
it a deceptive trade practice for any landlord to willfully fail to make such a disclosure. 
 Section 10 of this bill amends section 3 of Assembly Bill No. 149 of this session to 
ensure that social security numbers are redacted from the copy of a promissory note before 
it is attached to a notice given before a trustee’s power of sale is carried out. (NRS 107.085) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=301  
Effective July 1, 2009 and October 1, 2009 
 
AB144 – Existing law requires annual or biennial examinations for various mortgage brokers. 
(NRS 645B.060) Section 1 of this bill prohibits the results of an annual examination from 
being released to the public until after a period of time set by the Commissioner of 
Mortgage Lending to determine any objections made by the mortgage broker to the results.  
 Existing law provides requirements regarding certain information on mortgage brokers 
that is to be made available for public inspection. (NRS 645B.090) Section 2 of this bill revises 
those requirements in regard to mortgage brokers who make or offer for sale in this State any 
investments in promissory notes secured by liens on real property. The revised requirements 
relate to information regarding ownership and management structure, annual or biennial 
examinations, other examinations or audits, investigations or hearings, and standards for 
withholding other information. 
 Existing law prohibits a mortgage broker or mortgage agent from accepting money from 
an investor to acquire ownership of or a beneficial interest in a loan secured by a lien on real 
property unless the mortgage broker has first obtained a written appraisal of the real property 
securing the loan. (NRS 645B.300) Section 2.5 of this bill requires the appraisal to be made not 
more than 6 months before the mortgage broker’s first solicitation for the loan and the appraisal 
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to meet certain standards. Section 2.5 further requires a mortgage broker to make additional 
disclosures to an investor if the investor waives the requirement that an appraisal be obtained. 
 Existing law provides requirements regarding disciplinary action for certain violations of 
law relating to the business of a mortgage broker. (NRS 645B.690) Section 3 of this bill revises 
those requirements in regard to mortgage brokers who make or offer for sale in this State any 
investments in promissory notes secured by liens on real property. If such a mortgage broker 
receives the lowest possible rating on two consecutive annual or biennial examinations, the 
license of that mortgage broker will be suspended or revoked. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=305 
Effective October 1, 2009 
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Existing law sets forth procedures governing foreclosures on real property upon default. A trustee 
under a deed of trust has the power to sell the property to which the deed of trust applies, subject 
to certain restrictions. (NRS 107.080, 107.085) Section 1 of this bill establishes additional 
restrictions on the trustee’s power of sale with respect to owner-occupied housing by providing a 
grantor of a deed of trust or the person who holds the title of record with the right to request 
mediation under which he may receive a loan modification. Once mediation is requested, no 
further action may be taken to exercise the power of sale until the completion of the mediation. 
 Each mediation must be conducted by a senior justice, judge, hearing master or other 
designee pursuant to rules adopted by the Nevada Supreme Court, and a fee of not more than $85 
per hour may be charged and collected for the mediation.  
 Section 2 of this bill also restricts the trustee’s power of sale with respect to owner-
occupied housing by revising the period in which a deficiency in performance or payment under 
the trust agreement may be made good before the trustee may exercise that power. Similarly, 
section 3 of this bill restricts the trustee’s power of sale with respect to owner-occupied housing 
by revising the manner in which service of notice that a person is in danger of losing his home 
must be made.  
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In addition, section 4 of this bill authorizes the Nevada Supreme Court to adopt rules providing 
for voluntary mediation with respect to a homeowner who is not in default but is at risk of 
default. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=313 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends:  NRS 107 
 
AB151 – Section 1 of this bill requires a mortgage broker to include his license number on 
each loan secured by a lien on real property for which he engages in activity as a mortgage 
broker. If a mortgage broker fails to comply with section 1, the Commissioner of Mortgage 
Lending may impose an administrative fine of not more than $10,000 and may place conditions 
on the license of the mortgage broker or suspend or revoke the license. (NRS 645B.670) In 
addition, a mortgage broker who fails to comply with section 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor. (NRS 
645B.950) 
 Section 2 of this bill requires a financial institution that offers nontraditional 
mortgage loan products to make certain written disclosures to a borrower with respect to a 
nontraditional loan secured by a lien on real property. The disclosures must be written in 
language that is easy to understand and printed in at least 10- point type or font. In addition, 
section 2 requires the financial institution to certify to the Commissioner of Financial Institutions 
that the disclosures have been made. Section 2 also authorizes the financial institution to contract 
with a nonprofit or government-operated consumer credit counseling or housing counseling 
agency or a nonprofit or government-operated legal services agency to make the required 
certifications. A financial institution that fails to comply with section 2 is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. (NRS 668.115) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=319 
Effective May 29, 2009 
 
AB152 – Section 2 of this bill defines the term “loan modification consultant.” 
 Existing law does not currently require a foreclosure consultant to be licensed. (NRS 
645F.300-645F.450) Section 3 of this bill requires the Commissioner of Mortgage Lending to 
adopt separate regulations for the licensing of a person who performs any of a variety of 
specified services for compensation, a foreclosure consultant and a loan modification 
consultant. 
 Section 3.1 of this bill requires such persons to execute a written contract with a 
homeowner before providing certain services for compensation. Section 3.1 also requires the 
Commissioner to adopt regulations describing the information that must be contained in such a 
written contract. 
 Sections 3.3 and 6.5 of this bill require a person who performs certain services for 
compensation, a foreclosure consultant and a loan modification consultant to deposit any money 
received as compensation for the performance of certain services in a trust account. Section 3.3 
also requires such persons to maintain certain records regarding such trust accounts and prohibits 
withdrawals from such trust accounts until the completion of certain services as agreed upon in a 
written contract for the performance of such services. Section 3.3 further authorizes the 
Commissioner or his authorized agents to inspect and audit the records associated with the trust 
accounts. 
 Section 3.5 of this bill grants certain additional powers to the Commissioner with regard 
to the conduct of any examination, periodic or special audit, investigation or hearing. Section 3.7 
of this bill requires the Commissioner to adopt regulations to establish rates to be paid by a 
person who performs certain services for compensation, a foreclosure consultant and a loan 
modification consultant for supervision and examinations by the Commissioner or the Division of 
Mortgage Lending of the Department of Business and Industry. (NRS 645F.280) Section 3.9 of 
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this bill requires the Commissioner to collect an assessment from such persons for deposit in the 
Fund for Mortgage Lending. (NRS 645F.290) 
 Section 5 of this bill revises the definition of “homeowner” as it applies to services 
performed by foreclosure consultants by expanding the definition to include any record owner of 
residence, rather than only the record owner of a 
residence in foreclosure at the time the notice of the pendency of an action for foreclosure is 
recorded or the notice of default and election to sell is recorded. (NRS 645F.360) 
 Section 6 of this bill provides that an attorney at law is exempt from the provisions 
governing a person who performs any covered service for compensation, a loan modification 
consultant, a foreclosure consultant or a foreclosure purchaser unless the services rendered by the 
attorney are performed in the course and scope of his employment by or other affiliation with a 
mortgage broker or mortgage agent. (NRS 645F.380) 
 Section 6.5 of this bill provides that the violation of certain provisions by such persons 
shall be deemed to constitute mortgage lending fraud, as that term is described in NRS 205.372. 
(NRS 645F.400) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=320 
Effective May 29, 2009 and July 1, 2009 
 
AB471 – Section 1 of this bill provides a right to cure a deficiency in payment on a mortgage 
or other encumbrance before a judicial foreclosure sale at any time not later than 5 days 
before the date of sale. 
 Under existing law, a judgment creditor or a beneficiary of a deed of trust may obtain, 
after a hearing, a deficiency judgment after a foreclosure sale or trustee’s sale if it appears from 
the sheriff’s return or the recital of consideration in the trustee’s deed that there is a deficiency of 
the proceeds of the sale and a balance remaining due the judgment creditor or beneficiary of the 
deed of trust. (NRS 40.455) Section 2 of this bill provides that if the judgment creditor or the 
beneficiary of the deed of trust is a financial institution, a court may not award a deficiency 
judgment to the judgment creditor or the beneficiary of the deed of trust if: (1) the real property is 
a single-family dwelling and the debtor or grantor was the owner of the property; (2) the debtor or 
grantor used the loan to purchase the property; (3) the debtor or grantor occupied the property 
continuously after obtaining the loan; and (4) the debtor or grantor did not refinance the loan. 
 Section 3 of this bill provides that the amendatory provisions of this bill apply only 
prospectively to obligations secured by a mortgage, deed of trust or other encumbrance upon real 
property on or after the effective date of this bill. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=912 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB486 – Sections 2, 13 and 19 of this bill authorize the Commissioner of Mortgage Lending 
to require escrow agencies, escrow agents, mortgage brokers, mortgage agents and 
mortgage bankers to pay restitution under certain circumstances.  
 Sections 3, 14 and 20 of this bill provide that if any person engages in the escrow 
business or the business of a mortgage broker, agent or banker without a license, the contract for 
the transaction in question may be voided by the other parties to the contract. Sections 3, 17 and 
20 of this bill authorize the Commissioner to impose an administrative fine of $50,000 under the 
same circumstances.  
 Sections 4, 5, 15, 16, 21 and 22 of this bill provide that parties to certain escrow and 
mortgage transactions may bring a civil suit against the person who has engaged in the escrow or 
mortgage business without a license and also establish provisions relating to the exercise of 
jurisdiction by a court of this State.  
 Section 6 of this bill increases the fine imposed on escrow agencies or agents from $500 
to $10,000 for each occurrence of certain violations. 
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 Sections 8 and 9 of this bill require a mortgage broker, as a condition to doing business in 
this State, to deposit with the Commissioner a corporate surety bond or other security in the 
amount of $50,000 for the principal office and $25,000 for each branch office, not to exceed an 
aggregate amount of $75,000.  
 Section 10 of this bill allows a surety to cancel a bond with notice and requires the 
Commissioner to inform a mortgage broker or mortgage agent that his license will be revoked 
unless an equivalent bond or security is deposited before the cancellation.  
 Section 11 of this bill provides for the manner in which claims against a bond may be 
paid. Section 12 of this bill provides that a mortgage broker or mortgage agent has a fiduciary 
obligation to his client. 
 Section 24 of this bill grants regulatory authority over mortgage lending and related 
professionals, including foreclosure consultants, to the Commissioner by requiring the 
Commissioner to adopt regulations relating to mortgage lending and other professionals. Section 
25 of this bill requires certain persons and institutions in the business 
of servicing mortgage loans secured by a lien on real property located in this State to register with 
the Commissioner. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=938,  
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
AB513 – Sections 3 and 4 of this bill establish educational prerequisites and continuing 
education requirements for an escrow agent or agency. Sections 5, 9 and 15 of this bill 
provide that the jurisdiction and authority of the Commissioner of Mortgage Lending is 
unaffected by the expiration or voluntary surrender of a license as an escrow agent or agency, 
mortgage broker, mortgage agent or mortgage banker.  
 Sections 6, 12 and 18 of this bill provide that the Commissioner may subpoena 
documents without also subpoenaing the custodian of such documents. (NRS 645A.060, 
645B.070, 645E.310) 
 Section 8 of this bill provides that if the beneficial interest in a loan for real property 
belongs to more than one natural person, the holders of 51 percent or more of the outstanding 
principal balance may act on behalf of all the holders of the beneficial interests of record. 
 Sections 10 and 16 of this bill eliminate the exemption of consumer finance companies 
from licensing and other requirements governing mortgage brokers, mortgage agents and 
mortgage bankers. (NRS 645B.015, 645E.150)  Sections 11 and 17 of this bill revise existing law 
by requiring proof of the right to transact mortgage loans, if applicable, in another jurisdiction as 
a condition to obtaining an exemption to licensing and other provisions governing mortgage 
brokers, agents and bankers. (NRS 645B.016, 645E.160) 
 Existing law requires a mortgage broker to include a servicing fee in any loan for which 
he engages in activity as a mortgage broker. (NRS 645B.305) Section 13 of this bill limits the 
requirement to only such loans in which a private investor has acquired a beneficial interest. 
Section 13 also requires a mortgage broker to make additional disclosures pertaining to fees 
earned by the mortgage broker and any impact such fees may have on the terms of the loan. 
 Section 14 of this bill revises existing law to provide that the Commissioner has the 
discretionary authority, rather than a mandatory obligation, to revoke the license of a mortgage 
broker or mortgage agent under certain circumstances. (NRS 645B.690) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=989 
Effective May 29, 2009, and January 1, 2011 
 
SB333 – Existing law authorizes a borrower to terminate the operation of a mortgage, deed of 
trust or other instrument encumbering real property as security for future advances of principal by 
sending written notice to the lender. (NRS 106.380) This bill revises the procedure for a lender 
to record a statement regarding such a termination and sets forth the procedure for a 
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lender to provide an address for the purpose of receiving such termination notices that is 
different from any address that is listed for the lender in the mortgage, deed of trust or 
other instrument. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=917 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Homestead 
SB67 – Under existing law, the owner of property used as a homestead is authorized to file a 
written declaration of homestead for that property, which protects up to $550,000 of equity in the 
property from forced sale, except in certain circumstances. (Nev. Const. Art. 4, § 30; NRS 
115.010, 115.020) The contents of such a declaration are prescribed by law. (NRS 111.312, 
115.020) Section 1 of this bill requires the Real Estate Division of the Department of Business 
and Industry, after soliciting and considering recommendations from the county recorders, to 
prescribe a form that may be used for filing a declaration of homestead. Section 1 also 
requires the Division and each county recorder to make the form available to the public, free of 
charge. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=138 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Landlord/Tenant 
AB512 – Existing law requires a landlord and a tenant to perform certain obligations with respect 
to a lease of real property. As part of a lease, a landlord may demand a tenant provide security for 
the tenant’s obligations, such as: (1) payment of rent; (2) repairing damage to the premises; and 
(3) cleaning the dwelling. (NRS 118A.240-118A.250) 
 Section 2 of this bill provides that, instead of requiring a security deposit, a landlord 
may allow a tenant to provide the landlord with a surety bond, or a combination of a surety 
bond and other security, to cover the amount of security demanded by the landlord. This 
section also: (1) provides that a landlord is not required to accept a surety bond; and (2) 
provides that a landlord may not require a tenant to provide a surety bond in place of 
security. Section 2 also provides that a tenant may dispute items contained in a landlord’s 
claim against a surety and prohibits a surety, under certain circumstances, from reporting a 
landlord’s claim to a credit reporting agency unless the surety obtains a judgment against 
the tenant. (NRS 118A.242) 
 Section 3 of this bill requires, at the termination of the landlord’s interest in the dwelling 
unit under certain circumstances, that the successor in interest accept the tenant’s security or 
surety bond, or a combination thereof, and prohibits the successor in interest from demanding 
additional security or surety during the term of the rental agreement. (NRS 118A.244)  
 Section 1 of this bill amends the existing definition of security to provide that a payment 
made to a licensed surety to secure a surety bond is not security for the purposes of determining 
security given to a landlord. (NRS 188A.240) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=988 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Mining 
SB108 – Existing law authorizes the use of hollow metal posts and durable plastic pipe to define 
the boundaries of a lode mining claim if the post or pipe is securely capped with no open 
perforations. (NRS 517.030) This bill provides that a hollow metal post which is used to mark 
the boundaries of a lode mining claim must be securely capped or crimped in a manner that 
securely closes the top of the post and have no open perforations. This bill also provides that 
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any durable plastic pipe used to mark a claim must be replaced on or before November 1, 2011. If 
replaced on or before that date, the durable plastic pipe must be taken from the lode mining claim 
and disposed of in a lawful manner. After that date, any such durable plastic pipe may be 
removed and placed adjacent to the location from which it is removed. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=227 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 

Planning/Zoning 
AB294 – Under existing law, the concept of requiring certain minimum distances between group 
homes was enacted initially in 1999, and the minimum distance was at that time set at 660 feet. 
(Chapter 619, Statutes of Nevada 1999, pp. 3365-66) In 2001, the minimum distance between 
group homes was altered to be a range of 660 feet to 1,500 feet. (Chapter 395, Statutes of Nevada 
2001, pp. 1907-09) Most recently, the range of minimum distances between group homes was 
raised to be a range of 1,500 feet to 2,500 feet. (Chapter 297, Statutes of Nevada 2007, pp. 1131-
33) However, at all relevant times, the applicable section specifying the distances between group 
homes (NRS 278.021, replaced in revision by NRS 278.02386) has stated that there is no 
presumption that the location of more than one group home within the specified distance or range 
is inappropriate under all circumstances. 
 On July 9, 2008, the United States District Court for the District of Nevada struck down 
the entirety of Nevada’s “group home statute” (NRS 278.0238- 278.02388), finding that it was 
facially discriminatory and therefore preempted by the Fair Housing Amendments Act, 42 U.S.C. 
§§ 3601-31. (Nevada Fair Hous. Ctr., Inc. v. Clark County, 565 F. Supp. 2d 1178, 1183 (D. Nev. 
2008)) 
 This bill directs the Legislative Commission to conduct an interim study concerning 
group homes. In relevant part, the committee appointed by the Legislative Commission to 
conduct the interim study must examine potential methods by which the siting of group 
homes may be monitored and regulated in a manner that is consistent with federal law. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=576 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB304 – Under existing law, certain plans and zoning regulations must incorporate the 
consideration of certain policies, including the protection of existing neighborhoods and 
communities. (NRS 268.190, 278.02528, 278.0274, 278.150, 278.160, 278.170, 278.250) 
Sections 1.4 and 2-16 of this bill require certain local governmental entities to address the 
preservation of historic neighborhoods in those plans and regulations. 
 Existing law designates certain areas in the urban core of the Las Vegas Valley as the 
Southern Nevada Enterprise Community. Existing law also establishes the Southern Nevada 
Enterprise Community Advisory Board and requires the Board to prepare, develop and carry out 
a project of infrastructure improvement in the Community. (Chapter 407, Statutes of Nevada 
2007, pp. 1781-86) Section 25 of this bill changes the name of the Board, and section  6 of this 
bill revises the membership. Section 27 of this bill expands the duties of the Board to include 
identifying, seeking funding for and carrying out additional projects in the Community. Section 
1.7 of this bill creates the Southern Nevada Enterprise Community Projects Fund and authorizes 
the Board to administer the Fund. 
 Section 32 of this bill requires the City of Las Vegas and the Nevada Department of 
Transportation to cooperate in funding and bringing about the approval, design and construction 
of the project to reopen F Street in Las Vegas. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=599 
Effective June 2, 2009, and October 1, 2009 
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Specialty Courts/Drugs 
 
Alcohol 
AB432 – Under existing law, certain employees of certain establishments that sell alcohol must 
have successfully completed an alcoholic beverage awareness program. The owner of an 
establishment that is not in compliance must pay an administrative fine, to be imposed by the 
Department of Taxation. Money from the administrative fines must be divided equally into the 
Fund for the Compensation of Victims of Crime and the Alcoholic Beverage Awareness Program 
Account in the State General Fund. (NRS 369.630) Section 1 of this bill provides that peace 
officers may enforce the requirements of the provision relating to employees having 
successfully completed the program by issuing a notice of a civil infraction for violations. 
Section 1 also revises the provision for distribution of the money received by the Department for 
fines from establishments found in violation, providing that instead of depositing 50 percent of 
the money in the Fund for the Compensation of Victims of Crime and 50 percent of the money in 
the Alcoholic Beverage Awareness Program Account, 50 percent of the money must be deposited 
in the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence and 50 percent of the money must be 
deposited in the account created in the State General Fund for the support of community juvenile 
justice programs and must be used only to enforce laws that prohibit the purchase, consumption 
or possession of alcoholic beverages by persons under the age of 21 years. 
 Section 2 of this bill requires each recipient of money from the collection of fines for 
civil infractions to submit a report to the Legislature concerning the amount of money received 
and how the money was used. In addition, certain law enforcement agencies and the Department 
of Taxation are required to submit a report to the Legislature concerning the enforcement of the 
provisions requiring employees to participate in an alcoholic beverage awareness program. 
 Section 4 of this bill requires the Legislative Auditor to conduct an audit of any fines 
imposed pursuant to NRS 369.630 after July 1, 2007. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=821 
Effective October 1, 2009 
 
Drug Endangered Children 
AB337 – This bill creates the Office of Statewide Coordinator for Children Who Are 
Endangered by Drug Exposure in the Office of the Attorney General. The Attorney General 
appoints the Statewide Coordinator for Children Who Are Endangered by Drug Exposure, who 
will engage in activities to assist in the establishment of programs for children who are 
endangered by drug exposure and to educate the public about children who are endangered by 
drug exposure. Section 2 of this bill defines “child who is endangered by drug exposure” for the 
purposes of these provisions. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=668 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
Manufacture of Drugs/Safe Habitation 
SB60 – Existing law provides that a building or place which was used for the purpose of 
unlawfully manufacturing a controlled substance, immediate precursor or controlled substance 
analog which has not been deemed safe for habitation by a governmental entity or from which all 
materials or substances involving the controlled substance, immediate precursor or controlled 
substance analog have not been removed or remediated by an entity certified or licensed to do so 
is a public nuisance. (NRS 40.140, 202.450) Sections 2 and 4 of this bill provide that the 
district board of health in a county whose population is 400,000 or more (currently Clark 
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County) or the State Board of Health in all other counties is the governmental entity 
responsible for determining that the building or place is safe for habitation.  
 Existing law provides that in any sale, lease or rental of real property, the fact that the 
property is or has been the site of a crime that involves any quantity of methamphetamine must be 
disclosed to the buyer, lessee or tenant unless: (1) all materials and substances involving 
methamphetamine have been removed from or remediated on the property by an entity certified 
or licensed to do so; or (2) the property has been deemed safe for habitation by a governmental 
entity. (NRS 40.770)  
 Existing law requires similar disclosures to a transferee of a manufactured home, mobile 
home or commercial coach that is or has been the site of a crime that involves any quantity of 
methamphetamine. (NRS 489.776) Sections 3 and 9 of this bill provide that the district board of 
health in a county whose population is 400,000 or more or the State Board of Health in all other 
counties is the governmental entity responsible for determining that the property is safe for 
habitation.  
 Section 1 of this bill requires a district board of health and the State Board of Health to 
evaluate the removal or remediation of substances involving a controlled substance, immediate 
precursor or controlled substance analog and any material, compound, mixture or preparation that 
contains any quantity of methamphetamine. Section 1 further requires the State Environmental 
Commission to adopt regulations: (1) concerning the monitoring of the removal or remediation of 
such substances; and (2) establishing standards pursuant to which a property, building or place 
may be deemed safe for habitation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=121 
Effective May 26, 2009 and July 1, 2009 
 
Prescription Drugs 
AB326 – Existing law provides for the creation of a computerized program to track prescriptions 
for controlled substances listed in schedule II, III or IV. Section 7 of this bill requires that the 
database of the computerized program be made available on the Internet to persons who 
are authorized to dispense controlled substances in this State.  
 Section 7 further requires that the computerized program contain the contact information 
of each practitioner and person authorized to dispense controlled substances who elects to access 
the database of the program. In addition, section 7 requires the Board and the Investigation 
Division of the Department of Public Safety to establish a course of training in the computerized 
program and further requires that a person complete the course of training before the Board 
provides the person with access to the database of the program. (NRS 453.1545) 
 Section 9 of this bill requires the Legislative Committee on Health Care to conduct a 
study of the abuse of prescription narcotic drugs and the manner of monitoring and addressing 
such abuse in this State and to submit a written report to the Director of the Legislative Counsel 
Bureau for transmittal to the next regular session of the Legislature on or before January 15, 
2011. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=649 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB370 – Existing law authorizes the issuance of a license to an applicant to conduct a pharmacy 
upon compliance with all licensing requirements. (NRS 639.231) This bill authorizes the 
establishment of remote sites and satellite consultation sites for the dispensing of 
prescriptions, and telepharmacies, which are connected to such sites via computer link, 
video link and audio link to enable a registered pharmacist or a dispensing practitioner at 
the telepharmacy to oversee the dispensing of prescriptions to patients at a remote site or 
satellite consultation site. 



 

 132

 Section 6 of this bill requires a remote site or satellite consultation site to be located at 
least 50 miles from the nearest pharmacy and in a service area with a total population of less than 
2,000. Section 6 also authorizes such sites to be operated by a pharmaceutical technician or a 
dispensing technician. Section 6 further requires the State Board of Pharmacy to adopt regulations 
which establish the manner of determining a “service area.” Sections 8 and 9 of this bill exempt 
those sites from the requirement that every pharmacy must be managed by a registered 
pharmacist. (NRS 639.220, 639.284) 
 Section 5 of this bill requires the State Board of Pharmacy to adopt regulations for the 
operation of remote sites, satellite consultation sites and telepharmacies and for the definition, 
registration, discipline, qualifications, powers and duties of dispensing practitioners and 
dispensing technicians. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=721 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB538 – Existing law provides that the limited and regulated use of marijuana by persons who 
suffer from certain medical conditions and who obtain a registry identification card through a 
program governed by the State Department of Agriculture is exempt from prosecution under the 
laws of this State. (Chapter 453A of NRS) This bill transfers the responsibility for the 
governance of the registry identification card program from the State Department of 
Agriculture to the Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1087 
Effective May 22, 2009, and July 1, 2009 
 
Specialty Court 
AB47 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

 
Sections 1.5 and 5.5 of this bill remove the 3-year waiting period and require a court to 
immediately, upon completion of a program for the treatment of mental illness or mental 
retardation or a program of treatment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs, seal all records relating to 
the case. (NRS 176A.265, 453.3365) 
 Sections 2-5 and 7 of this bill require a court, upon completion of a presentence program 
of treatment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs, to seal all records relating to the case.  
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Specialty Courts/Drugs
Specialty Court

• SB47 Changes to Specialty Court 
– Repeals the three year waiting period for sealing of 

specialty court records, and requires that the record 
for the offense for which the defendant was 
sentenced to specialty court be sealed upon final 
completion of the program

– Defendants who successfully complete the ‘3rd DUI 
Treatment Program’ do not have to have their license 
suspended for an additional year when the offenses is 
treated like 2nd DUI
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 Section 7.5 of this bill provides that certain offenders who are convicted of driving under 
the influence and are accepted into a program of treatment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs must  
not have their license, permit or privilege to drive revoked. (NRS 484.37941) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=110 
Effective May 19, 2009 
 
Amends: NRS 176.A256, NRS 179.245, NRS 179.275, NRS 179.285, NRS 179.295, NRS 
453.3365, NRS 458.330, NRS 484.37941 
 
AB102  

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes a court to assign a person who commits certain crimes to an appropriate 
program of treatment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs established by the court or to an 
appropriate facility for the treatment of abuse of alcohol or drugs which is certified by the Health 
Division of the Department of Health and Human Services. (NRS 453.580)  
 Section 6 of this bill authorizes a court to establish a program for the treatment of 
problem gambling. Existing law creates the Advisory Committee on Problem Gambling and 
provides a grant of money or a contract for services to certain programs for the prevention and 
treatment of problem gambling. (Chapter 458A of NRS) Sections 7-12 of this bill provide that a 
problem gambler who has been convicted of certain crimes and who committed the crime in 
furtherance or as a result of problem gambling is eligible to be assigned by a court to a program 
of treatment and provide eligibility requirements and conditions that must be completed for such 
treatment. The conditions upon the election of treatment must include an agreement to pay 
restitution to the victim of the crime. 
 Existing law allows a court to seal the records related to a dismissal or acquittal of 
criminal charges. (NRS 179.255) Section 14 of this bill allows a court to seal records relating to 
the setting aside of a conviction if the person satisfactorily completed a program for treatment of 
problem gambling and satisfied the conditions upon the election of that treatment. The sealing of 
these records is subject to the same procedures, and has the same effect, as the sealing of records 
related to a dismissal or acquittal of criminal charges. (NRS 179.255, 179.265-179.301) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=217 
Effective October 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 458A, NRS 458A.010, NRS 179.255 
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Specialty Court

• AB102 Problem Gambling Court
– Authorizes a court to establish a program for the 

treatment of problem gambling 
– Provides that a problem gambler who has been 

convicted of certain crimes and who committed the 
crime in furtherance or as a result of problem 
gambling is eligible to be assigned by a court to a 
program of treatment and provide eligibility 
requirements and conditions that must be completed 
for such treatment. The conditions upon the election 
of treatment must include an agreement to pay 
restitution to the victim of the crime. 
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AB187  
 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

_______________________________________ 

Existing law authorizes a district court to establish a program for the treatment of offenders with 
mental illness. (NRS 176A.250-176A.265) Sections 2-15 of this bill, using that existing law as a 
model, authorize a district court to establish a program for the treatment of certain eligible 
defendants who are veterans or members of the military. Section 8 of this bill authorizes a court 
to suspend further proceedings, without entering a judgment of conviction and with the consent of 
an eligible defendant, and to place the defendant on probation with terms conditions that include 
successful completion of the program of treatment. Section 8 also generally prohibits a court from 
assigning a defendant to a program of treatment if the defendant: (1) committed an offense for 
which the suspension of sentence or the granting of probation is prohibited by existing law; (2) 
committed an offense that involved the use of force or violence; or (3) was previously convicted 
of a felony that involved the use or threatened use of force or violence. Section 9 of this bill 
requires a court, under certain circumstances, to seal documents relating to a case involving a 
defendant who was assigned to the program of treatment after the defendant is discharged from 
probation. Sections 17 and 19 of this bill authorize justice courts and municipal courts to transfer 
original jurisdiction of certain cases involving misdemeanors to the district court for the purpose 
of assigning offenders to the program of treatment. (NRS 4.370, 5.050)  
 Sections 1, 16 and 18 of this bill also require a district court, justice court and municipal 
court to ask a defendant if he is a veteran or a member of the military. (NRS 176.015) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=389 
Effective July 1, 2009 
Amends: NRS 176.015, NRS 176.0613, NRS Chpt. 176A, NRS 176A.010, NRS 176A.500, 
NRS 179.245, NRS 179.275, NRS 179.285, NRS 179.295, NRS Chpt. 4, NRS 4.370, NRS 
Chpt. 5, NRS 5.050 
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Specialty Courts/Drugs
Specialty Court

• AB187 Veterans’ Court
– Allows a court to create a specialty court 

specifically for veterans of the military
– Allows transfers of defendants between 

limited and general jurisdictions to participate 
in such a program

– Requires all judges to ask all defendants if 
they are veterans of the military
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Victims 
 
Compensation 
AB114 

 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

This bill extends the time to appeal a compensation officer’s denial of a claim seeking 
compensation from the Fund for the Compensation of Victims of Crime from 15 to 60 days. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=256 
Effective May 6, 2009 
Amends: NRS 217.110 
 
AB116  

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 
 
 
 

To receive compensation from the Fund for the Compensation of Victims of Crime, a fund which 
is created in existing law, a victim must submit an application to a compensation officer 
appointed by the State Board of Examiners, who conducts an investigation, determines eligibility 
and renders a decision about the payment of compensation to the victim. (NRS 217.090, 217.100, 
217.260) During an investigation, a compensation officer may order certain reports, including 
investigative and police reports. (NRS 217.110) 
 Section 1 of this bill requires a law enforcement agency or juvenile court, as applicable, 
to provide the compensation officer with a copy of the requested investigative and police reports 
within 10 days after the receipt of such a request or within 10 days after the report is completed, 
whichever is later. Section 2 of this bill exempts certain contributory conduct of a victim in cases  
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Compensation

• AB114 Compensation Decision Appeal
– Extends the time a victim of crime has to 

appeal a decision of the Fund for the 
Compensation of Victims of Crime from 15 to 
60 days
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Victims
Compensation

• AB116 Compensation procedure
– Requires a law enforcement agency or juvenile court, 

as applicable, to provide the compensation officer 
with a copy of the requested investigative and police 
reports within 10 days after the receipt of such a 
request or within 10 days after the report is 
completed, whichever is later  

– Exempts certain contributory conduct of a victim in 
cases involving domestic violence or sexual assault 
from the required considerations of a compensation 
officer 
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involving domestic violence or sexual assault from the required considerations of a compensation 
officer in determining whether to make an order for compensation. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=258 
Effective May 22, 2009 
Amends: NRS 217.110 
 
AB283 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Existing law establishes the Fund for the Compensation of Victims of Crime. (NRS 217.260) The 
victims of certain crimes, the dependents of those victims and certain members of the victim’s 
household may apply to the State Board of Examiners for compensation from the Fund for certain 
expenses and losses, not to exceed $50,000 per award. (NRS 217.100, 217.160, 217.200) This bill 
increases the amount of compensation that may be awarded to $100,000 and further authorizes an 
additional award of up to $50,000 in certain circumstances. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=563 
Effective May 29, 2009 
Amends: NRS 217.200 
 
Notification 
AB61  

 

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Section 1 of this bill requires the Administrator of the Division of Mental Health and 
Developmental Services of the Department of Health and Human Services or his designee to 
notify certain victims of criminal acts of the discharge, conditional release or escape from the 
custody of the Administrator of certain persons committed to the custody of the Administrator, 
such as a person who was acquitted by reason of insanity or a person who was found incompetent 
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Victims
Compensation

• AB283 Family Compensation
– Increases the amount of an award that the 

dependants or family of certain victims of 
crime can receive to $100,000, with a 
possible additional award of $50,000
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Victim Notification

• AB61 Victim Notification
– Requires Division of Mental Health to notify a 

victim if a perpetrator, who was remanded to 
the custody of Division, is conditionally 
released or escapes

– A court must inform a victim of his/her right to 
be notified
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with no substantial probability of attaining competency in the foreseeable future. This section also 
requires the Administrator to provide the victim notice of such a discharge or release within a 
certain period of time. (NRS 175.539, 178.425) 
 Section 1 is patterned after a provision of existing law that similarly requires the Director 
of the Department of Corrections to notify a victim of an offender of the release into the 
community or escape of the offender from the custody of the Department. (NRS 209.521) 
 Section 3 of this bill requires a court to provide documentation to certain victims of a 
person committed to the custody of the Administrator and to certain other persons of their right to 
be notified of the information set forth in section 1 of this bill. (NRS 178.5698) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=137 
Effective May 6, 2009 
Amends: NRS Chpt. 178, NRS 178.3981, NRS 178.5698 
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Resolutions/Studies/Committees 
 
Article 6 Changes 
SJR2 74th  

Notes: The Commission on Judicial Selection 
will recommend candidates to the Governor for 
judicial appointment. 
Also requires each judge who declares his/her 
candidacy for retention election to undergo a 
performance review, which will include a review 
of the judge’s record and an interview.  The 
review will also include a recommendation by the 
Commission as to whether the judge or justice 
should be retained.  Results of the review will be 
made public. The Article 6 Commission recently 
adopted a report prepared by the Grant Sawyer 
Center for Justice Studies.   

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This resolution amends the Nevada Constitution, which currently provides for the popular 
election of justices of the Supreme Court and judges of the district court, to provide for: (1) the 
initial appointment by the Governor of justices and judges, from candidates recommended by the 
Commission on Judicial Selection; and (2) any subsequent retention of those justices and judges 
by approval of a ballot question concerning their retention. (Nev. Const. Art. 6, §§ 3, 5) Under 
this resolution, if a vacancy occurs in the Supreme Court or a district court for any reason, the 
Governor appoints a justice or judge from candidates selected by the Commission on Judicial 
Selection, and the initial term of that justice or judge expires on the first Monday of January 
following the general election occurring at least 12 months after the justice or judge is appointed. 
Thereafter, if the justice or judge wishes to serve another term, he must declare his candidacy for 
a retention election. If 55 percent or more of the votes cast are in favor of the retention of the 
justice or judge, he will then serve a 6-year term and must run in a retention election if he wishes 
to serve another 6-year term. If the justice or judge does not declare his candidacy for the 
retention election or if less than 55 percent of the votes cast are in favor of his retention, a 
vacancy is created at the end of his term which must be filled by appointment. 
 In addition, this resolution amends the Nevada Constitution to require each justice or 
judge who has declared his candidacy for a retention election to undergo a review of his 
performance as a justice or judge. This resolution creates the Commission on Judicial 
Performance and requires the Commission to perform these reviews. The review of each justice 
or judge must consist of a review of the record of the justice or judge and at least one interview of 
the justice or judge. At the conclusion of this review, the Commission must prepare and release to 
the public a report containing information about the review and a recommendation on the 
question of whether the justice or judge should be retained. 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=241 
On File May 22, 2009, On 2010 General Election Ballot 
Amends: Nevada Constitution Article 6 (new section), Article 6, Sections 3, 5, 15, 20, 21 
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SJR9 74th  

Notes: Pursuant to SB 234 passed during the 73rd 
Legislative Session in 2005, a study was 
conducted as to whether the State of Nevada 
would benefit from the establishment of an 
intermediate appellate court, report available on 
www.nevadajudicary.us 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This resolution proposes an amendment to the Nevada Constitution to allow the Legislature to 
establish an intermediate appellate court, known as the court of appeals. If the Legislature 
establishes the court of appeals, the court must consist of at least three judges. The initial judges 
will be elected at the first general election after the creation of the court, and each judge will be 
elected to serve a term of 6 years. 
 The court will have appellate jurisdiction in civil cases arising in district court and in 
criminal cases within the original jurisdiction of the district courts. The Nevada Supreme Court 
must fix the jurisdiction of the court and provide for the review of appeals decided by the court. 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=242,  
On File April 29, 2009, On 2010 General Election Ballot 
Amends: Nevada Constitution Article 6 (new section); Article 6, Sections 1, 4, 7, 11, 15, 20, 
21; Article 7, Section 3; Article 15, Section 8 
 
Child Welfare 
SCR4 

 
Notes: Additional goals: Assess disproportionate 
number of minority children in foster care, reduce 
number of kids in foster care, ensure that child 
abuse/neglect cases are properly investigated 
before child is removed from home, assess 
childrens’ use of prescription medication while in 
state custody, and develop and implement an 
assessment to determine risk of allowing a child 
to remain in their home. 
________________________________________

________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

This concurrent resolution urges certain agencies which provide child welfare services to develop  
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a standardized practice model and to address certain issues related to child and family services. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=247 
Effective May 1, 2009 
 
Committees/Commissions 
AB9 – Section 3 of this bill creates the Legislative Committee on Senior Citizens, Veterans 
and Adults with Special Needs as a statutory committee and provides for its membership. 
Section 4 of this bill provides for the meetings of the Committee, prescribes the manner in which 
meetings must be conducted and provides for the compensation of the members of the 
Committee. Section 5 of this bill authorizes the Committee to study and comment upon issues 
relating to senior citizens, veterans and adults with special needs and authorizes the Committee to 
conduct investigations and hold hearings. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=32  
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
AB85 – Existing law requires certain sex offenders to register with certain law enforcement 
agencies. (Chapter 179D of NRS) This bill creates an advisory committee to study state and 
federal laws concerning sex offender registration. The advisory committee must consist of the 
Attorney General, one member of the Assembly appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly, one 
member of the Senate appointed by the Senate Majority Leader, representatives of law 
enforcement agencies, district attorneys’ offices and public defenders’ offices and a 
representative of the American Civil Liberties Union and any other organization authorized by 
the Attorney General to appoint a member of the advisory committee. The advisory committee 
must prepare and submit to the Legislative Commission a biennial report of its findings and 
recommendations for proposed legislation concerning sex offender registration. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=184 
Effective May 19, 2009 
 
SB79 – Sections 3-7 of this bill create the Nevada Commission on Services for Persons with 
Disabilities within the Office of Disability Services in the Department of Health and Human 
Services. The duties of the Commission include determining and evaluating the needs of persons 
with disabilities in this State, promoting programs and services for such persons and 
recommending appropriate legislation concerning such persons. Section 9 of this bill restructures 
the Committee on Communication Services for Persons Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing and 
Persons With Speech Disabilities into a subcommittee of the Commission. (NRS 426.255) 
Similarly, section 12 of this bill restructures the Advisory Committee on Personal Assistance for 
Persons with Severe Functional Disabilities into a subcommittee of the Commission. (NRS 
426.731) 
 Sections 15-21 of this bill amend provisions relating to the Commission on Mental 
Health and Developmental Services to include co-occurring disorders in the scope of powers and 
duties of the Commission and to require the Commission to create a subcommittee on the mental 
health of children. (NRS 433.314-433.327) 
 Under existing law, the members of the Advisory Committee in the Office of Minority 
Health of the Department of Health and Human Services, the Advisory Board on Maternal and 
Child Health and the Committee on Emergency Medical Services are appointed by the Governor. 
(NRS 232.482, 442.133, 450B.151) 
 Sections 14, 24 and 25 of this bill require the State Board of Health to appoint those 
members. Section 24 also provides that the legislative members of the Advisory Board on 
Maternal and Child Health are nonvoting members. Section 25 further amends the membership of 
the Committee on Emergency Medical Services to include an ex-officio member who is a 
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representative of a committee or group which focuses on the provision of emergency medical 
services to children.  
 Section 26 of this bill repeals provisions creating and governing the Task Force on 
Prostate Cancer and the Task Force on Cervical Cancer. (NRS 457.300-457.390) Section 27 of 
this bill provides that a person who, on July 1, 2009, is a member of a committee or board that is 
restructured, or the appointing authority for which is revised, by the provisions of this act may 
continue to serve until the expiration of his term. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=160 
Effective July 1, 2009 
 
SB371 – Existing law establishes various legislative committees that meet throughout the year, 
though primarily during the interim between regular legislative sessions. The Legislature also 
assigns studies to the Legislative Commission for completion during the interim. This bill 
increases the authority of the Legislative Commission over committees established by 
statute and interim studies assigned to the Legislative Commission. Sections 2, 4, 7, 8 and 11-
13 of this bill establish beginning and ending dates for studies conducted by statutory committees 
or the Legislative Commission, unless otherwise ordered by the Legislative Commission. Section 
8 also prohibits assignment of staff of the Legislative Counsel Bureau to committees not chaired 
by Legislators, except as otherwise required by statute. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=1007 
Effective May 28, 2009 
 
Pardons Board 
SJR1 

 
Notes: The Governor, the Chief Justice of the 
Supreme Court and the Attorney General shall 
appoint three members each to the Board. 
________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________

________________________________________ 

Under the Nevada Constitution and existing law, the State Board of Pardons Commissioners 
consists of the Governor, the justices of the Supreme Court and the Attorney General. (Nev. 
Const. Art. 5, § 14; NRS 213.010) 
 This joint resolution proposes to amend the Nevada Constitution to: (1) replace the State 
Board of Pardons Commissioners with the Clemency Board consisting of nine members 
appointed by the Governor, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the Attorney General to 
carry out the duties currently carried out by the State Board of Pardons Commissioners; (2) 
provide that at least five members appointed to the Clemency Board must have experience  
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working in the criminal justice system; (3) require the Legislature to provide for the organization 
and duties of the Clemency Board; and (4) require the Clemency Board to meet at least quarterly. 
(Nev. Const. Art. 5, § 14) 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/reports/history.cfm?ID=252 
On File May 22, 2009, Return to 2011 Session 
Amends: Nevada Constitution Article 5, Section 14 
 
Studies 
SB278 – This bill requires the Legislative Committee on Health Care to study: (1) the 
feasibility of establishing a health district in a county whose population is less than 100,000 
(currently counties other than Clark and Washoe Counties); (2) the feasibility of consolidating or 
integrating certain health and social services provided in a county whose population is 400,000 or 
more (currently Clark County); and (3) the feasibility of establishing regional centers for the 
provision of services for the prevention and treatment of alcohol and substance abuse. 
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Reports/history.cfm?ID=754 
Effective July 1, 2009 
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Index by Subject 
A note on using this index: 
The bills in this index have been ordered alphabetically by subject (subcategory).  For example, 
bills found earlier In this public under the ‘Criminal’ heading can be found herein, alphabetically, 
by the subcategory of criminal, i.e. Assault/Battery/DV. 
 
The bills under each subject heading are then grouped by bill number, AB first, and then SB. 
 
Administrative Hearings/Penalties/Fees 
 AB28  Revises provisions governing hearings conducted by the Department of Motor 
 Vehicles. 
 Page 3 
 
 AB87  Revises provisions concerning the collection of debts owed to the State. 
 Pages 3 and 4 
 
 SB76  Revises provisions governing the administrative procedures for the summary 
 suspension of licenses issued by certain state agencies. 
 Pages 4 and 5 
 
 SB151  Provides for the payment of certain claims from the Recovery Fund of the State 
 Contractors' Board. 
 Page 5 
 
 SB362  Clarifies and revises provisions related to the suspension or revocation of 
 professional licenses by health care professional licensing boards. 
 Page 5 
 
ADR 
 AB48  Allows a public body to resolve disputes in a contract for a public work by way of 
 processes other than arbitration. 
 Page 6 
 
Alcohol 
 AB432  Revises provisions governing alcohol-c beverage awareness programs. 
 Page 130 
 
Animals 
 AB15  Revises provisions governing sterilization requirements for dogs and cats. 
 Page 15 
 
 AB199  Revises provisions relating to fights between animals 
 Page 15 
  
 SB132  Revises provisions governing the treatment of animals. 
 Page 16 
 
Appraisal 
 AB287  Makes various changes concerning appraisals of real estate. 
 Page 118 
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Appropriations/Budget 
 AB543  Temporarily redirects a portion of the taxes ad valorem levied in Clark and 
 Washoe Counties to the State General Fund and revises the provisions governing the 
 imposition and use of a supplemental governmental services tax in certain counties. 
 Page 111 
 
 AB552  Makes various changes regarding certain tax collection allowances and the 
 payment of certain taxes to the State. 
 Page 112 
 
 AB563  Ensures sufficient funding for K-12 public education for the 2009-2011 
 biennium. 
 Page 112 
 
 SB245  Makes various changes relating to regional transportation commissions. 
 Pages 112 and 113 
 
 SB340  Revises provisions governing the allocation of certain money from the Fund for a 
 Healthy Nevada. 
 Page 113 
 
 SB408  Authorizes payments from the Patriot Relief Account in the State General Fund 
 to certain members of the Nevada National Guard who return from deployment in a 
 combat zone. 
 Page 113 
 
 SB431  Authorizes expenditures by agencies of the State Government. 
 Page 113 
 
Article 6 Changes 
 SJR2*  Proposes to amend the Nevada Constitution to revise provisions relating to the 
 selection of justices and judges. 
 Page 138 
 
 SJR9*  Proposes to amend the Nevada Constitution to allow the Legislature to establish 
 an intermediate appellate court. 
 Page 139 
 
Assault/Battery/DV 
 AB93  Revises the definition of the crime of assault. 
 Page 17 
 
 AB164  Revises certain provisions concerning the crime of battery. 
 Pages 17 and 18 
 
 AB253  Revises the crime of resisting, delaying or obstructing a public officer in the 
 discharge of his duties. 
 Page 18 
 
 AB384  Revises provisions governing certain unlawful acts committed by prisoners. 
 Pages 18 and 19 
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Bail Bonds 
 AB462  Revises the provisions governing sureties. 
 Page 78 
 
Boating 
 AB73  Makes various changes to provisions governing watercraft. 
 Page 19 
 
Central Repository 
 SB28  Revises reporting requirements concerning missing persons and unidentified dead 
 bodies. 
 Page 114 
 
Child Care Facilities 
 AB89  Revises provisions governing the regulation of licensed child care facilities. 
 Page 62 
 
 AB103  Provides for the audit, inspection, review and survey of certain facilities for 
 children. 
 Pages 62 and 63 
 
Child Custody/Adoption/Child Placement 
 AB59  Creates a rebuttable presumption against an award of custody or unsupervised 
 visitation for any person who has abducted a child in the past. 
 Pages 63 and 64 
 
 AB76  Revises provisions governing the placement of children who are in the custody of 
 an agency which provides child welfare services. 
 Page 64 
 
 AB500  Revises provisions relating to domestic relations. 
 Page 65 
 
 SB342  Expands the relatives who receive preference when a child is placed in the 
 custody of a person other than the parent of the child by a court, an agency which 
 provides child welfare services or other person. 
 Pages 65 and 66 
 
Child Support 
 AB101  Revises provisions governing the support of children. 
 Pages 66 and 67 
 
 AB280  Enacts revisions to the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act. 
 Page 68 
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Child Welfare 
 SCR4  Urges certain agencies which provide child welfare services to develop a 
 standardized practice model and to address certain issues related to child and family  
 services. 
 Pages 139 and 140 
 
Civil Filing Fees/Court Funding/More Judges 
 AB64  Increases the number of judges in the Second and Eighth Judicial Districts. 
 Pages 78 and 79 
 
 AB65  Provides for the collection and disposition of additional court fees. 
 Pages 79 and 80 
 
 AB531  Revises provisions governing the distribution of the proceeds of certain 
 administrative assessments. 
 Page 80 
 
 SB433  Provides for salaries of certain state employees and provides for furloughs for 
 certain public employees. 
 Page 81 
 
Commercial/Financial/Trade Practices/Personal Info. 
 AB90  Revises certain provisions concerning the investigation and prosecution of 
 deceptive trade practices. 
 Page 19 
 
 AB233  Makes various changes concerning scrap metal. 
 Pages 19 and 20 
 
 AB322  Makes various changes concerning conduct related to racketeering. 
 Pages 20 and 21 
 
 AB389  Revises provisions governing the protection of personal identifying information. 
 Page 21 
 
 SB82  Makes various changes relating to prepaid or stored value cards. 
 Pages 21 and 22 
 
 SB125  Makes changes relating to personal identifying information. 
 Page 22 
 
 SB193  Revises provisions governing dealers in antiques. 
 Page 22 
 
 SB223  Revises the provisions relating to certain crimes involving credit cards and debit 
 cards. 
 Page 22 
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Committees/Commissions 
 AB9  Creates the Legislative Committee on Senior Citizens, Veterans and Adults With 
 Special Needs. 
 Page 140 
 
 AB85  Provides for the formation of a committee to study laws concerning sex offender 
 registration. 
 Page 140 
 
 SB79  Revises provisions governing various commissions, boards and committees 
 relating to health. 
 Pages 140 and 141 
 
 SB371  Makes various changes relating to interim studies and statutory committees of the 
 Legislature. 
 Page 141 
 
Common Interest Communities 
 AB129  Revises provisions governing common-interest communities. 
 Page 118 
 
 AB204  Revises provisions relating to common-interest communities. 
 Pages 118 and 119 
 
 AB251  Revises provisions relating to common-interest communities 
 Page 119 
  
 AB311  Revises provisions governing the financial statements of common-interest 
 communities. 
 Page 119 
 
 AB361  Makes changes relating to common-interest communities. 
 Page 120 
 
 SB216  Revises provisions regarding the addition of shutters in common-interest 
 communities. 
 Page 120 
 
 SB253  Makes various changes to provisions relating to common-interest communities. 
 Pages 120 and 121 
 
 SB261  Makes various changes relating to common-interest ownership. 
 Page 121 
 
 SB351  Makes various changes relating to common-interest communities. 
 Page 122 
 
Conceal and Carry 
 AB230  Revises the provisions governing the carrying of a concealed firearm. 
 Page 100 
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Court Records 
 AB46  Makes various changes concerning the right of certain persons to purchase or 
 possess a firearm. 
 Pages 82 and 83 
 
 AB497  Provides for the collection and sharing of certain statistical data and information 
 relating to the criminal justice system. 
 Page 83 
 
Court Reporters 
 AB509  Makes various changes to provisions governing certified court reporters. 
 Pages 83 and 84 
 
Credit Card Fee Collection 
 AB548  Revises the provisions governing the fees charged by certain governmental 
 entities for accepting payments by credit cards, debit cards and electronic transfers of 
 money. 
 Page 84 
 
Disclosures 
 SB106  Revises provisions governing the purchase of a home or lot that is adjacent to 
 open range. 
 Page 122 
 
Discrimination 
 SB207  Revises provisions relating to unlawful discrimination in places of public 
 accommodation. 
 Page 117 
 
Domestic Partnership 
 SB283  Revises provisions governing the rights of domestic partners. 
 Page 69 
 
Drug Endangered Children 
 AB337  Creates the Office of Statewide Coordinator for Children Who Are Endangered 
 by Drug Exposure in the Office of the Attorney General. 
 Page 130 
 
Elder Issues/Ombudsman 
 AB176  Revises provisions relating to administrators of facilities for long-term care. 
 Page 98 
 
 AB254  Makes the Ombudsman of Consumer Affairs for Minorities a permanent position 
 within the Office of the Director of the Department of Business and Industry. 
 Page 98 
 
 SB65  Revises certain provisions relating to advocacy for residents of facilities for long-
 term care. 
 Pages 98 and 99 
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Electronic Transmission of Ballots 
 AB41  Makes various changes to voter registration and voting procedures for certain 
 members of the Armed Forces of the United States and certain members of their families, 
 and certain other voters who reside outside the United States. 
 Page 58 
 
Financial 
 AB177  Revises provisions concerning short-term leases of passenger cars. 
 Page 6 
 
 AB472  Revises provisions concerning the collection of credit card debt. 
 Pages 6 and 7 
 
 SB348  Revises certain provisions of the Uniform Principal and Income Act (1997). 
 Page 7 
 
Foreclosure/Mortgage/Brokers/Escrow 
 AB140  Makes various changes to provisions relating to foreclosures of real property. 
 Pages 122 and 123 
 
 AB144  Revises various provisions relating to loans secured by liens on real property. 
 Pages 123 and 124 
 
 AB149  Revises provisions governing foreclosures on property. 
 Pages 124 and 125 
 
 AB151  Makes various changes concerning mortgage lending. 
 Page 125 
 
 AB152  Makes various changes concerning mortgage lending and related professions. 
 Pages 125 and 126 
 
 AB471  Revises provisions relating to the sale of real property. 
 Page 126 
 
 AB486  Makes various changes to provisions relating to mortgage lending. 
 Pages 126 and 127 
 
 AB513  Makes various changes to provisions governing licensing of escrow agencies and 
 mortgage brokers, agents and bankers. 
 Page 127 
 
 SB333  Makes various changes relating to real property. 
 Pages 127 and 128 
 
Foster Care 
 AB227  Revises provisions relating to the provision of foster care. 
 Pages 69 and 70 
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Guardianship 
 AB230  Revises the provisions governing the carrying of a concealed firearm. 
 Pages 70 and 71 
 
 SB287  Makes various changes concerning personal financial administration. 
 Pages 72 and 73 
 
 SB313  Revises provisions relating to guardianships. 
 Pages 73 and 74 
 
Health Care/Physicians/Surgery Center 
 AB10  Makes various changes concerning certain health care professionals who report 
 certain information to licensing boards or other governmental entities or who cooperate in 
 investigations of certain health care professionals. 
 Pages 1 and 2 
 
 AB196  Revises provisions relating to the licensure of facilities for refractive surgery.  
 Page 2 
 
 SB268  Makes various changes to provisions governing occupational licensing boards.  
 Page 3 
 
Homestead 
 SB67  Revises provisions governing declarations of homestead. 
 Page 128 
 
Identity Theft 
 AB27  Clarifies requirements and procedures for obtaining a Nevada identity theft 
 passport. 
 Page 3 
 
Judicial Discipline 
 AB496  Revises provisions governing judicial discipline. 
 Page 59 
 
Justice Court Masters 
 AB63  Makes various changes to provisions regarding justice courts. 
 Pages 84 and 85 
 
Juvenile Certification 
 AB237  Revises the provisions governing the certification of certain juveniles as adults 
 for criminal proceedings. 
 Page 92 
 
 SB235  Revises the provisions relating to the jurisdiction of the juvenile court over 
 certain offenses. 
 Page 93 
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Juvenile Sex Offenders 
 AB81  Makes various changes relating to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of 
 Criminal History. 
 Pages 94 and 95 
 
Landlord/Tenant 
 AB477  Exempts a person who works for a landlord of a dwelling unit used for a 
 residence for older persons from an additional background check. 
 Page 11  
 
 AB512  Revises provisions relating to security deposits for the rental of real property. 
 Page 128 
 
Legislature 
 AB231  Exempts certain veterans from the requirement to pay any fee established for 
 registration as an uncompensated lobbyist. 
 Page 100 
 
 AB535  Makes various changes relating to the Legislature and the Legislative Counsel 
 Bureau. 
 Page 100 
 
 SB160  Makes various changes relating to public officers and employees. 
 Pages 101, 102, 103, and 104 
 
 SB161  Revises provisions governing the Nevada Youth Legislative Issues Forum. 
 Pages 104 and 105 
 
Liability 
 AB332  Revises provisions governing immunity from liability for donating, receiving or 
 distributing certain grocery products or food. 
 Page 11 
 
License Plates 
 AB29  Revises provisions governing the use of money in the Account for License Plates 
 for the Promotion of Agriculture Within This State. 
 Page 116 
 
 AB172  Requires certain charitable organizations which receive proceeds from special 
 license plates to provide additional organizational information annually to certain entities. 
 Page 116 
 
 SB139  Provides for the issuance of special license plates for family members of persons 
 killed in the line of duty while on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States. 
 Page 116 
 
Manufacture of Drugs/Safe Habitation 
 SB60  Revises provisions governing buildings and other property that has been used in 
 crimes involving methamphetamine or certain other substances. 
 Pages 130 and 131 
 



 

 152

Marriage 
 AB262  Makes various changes concerning marriage. 
 Page 7 
 
 SB14  Makes various changes to fees relating to a marriage license that fund the Account 
 for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence. 
 Pages 7 and 8 
 
 SB130  Revises certain provisions governing certificates of permission to perform 
 marriages. 
 Page 8 
 
Mental Health 
 AB6  Revises provisions governing certain emergency admissions to mental health 
 facilities and hospitals.  
 Page 1 
 
Mining 
 SB108  Revises provisions governing the placement of markers on lode mining claims. 
 Pages 128 and 129 
 
Miscellaneous Crimes 
 AB132  Revises certain provisions relating to an award of damages in an action for 
 forcible or unlawful entry or detention of real property. 
 Page 23 
 
 AB182  Makes various changes concerning crimes involving explosives. 
 Page 23 
 
 AB266  Prohibits the sale of novelty lighters. 
 Page 24 
 
 AB286  Revises the provisions governing the crime of trespassing.  
 Page 24 
 
 AB461  Makes various changes relating to older persons. 
 Page 25 
 
 AB481  Revises provisions relating to certain crimes involving firearms, ammunition or 
 explosives. 
 Pages 25 and 26 
 
Municipal Elections 
 AB39  Revises the provisions of the North Las Vegas City Charter governing primary 
 municipal elections. 
 Page 60 
 
 AB79  Revises provisions concerning city elections. 
 Pages 60 and 61 
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Notary 
 SB92  Makes various changes relating to the regulation of notaries public. 
 Pages 11 and 12 
 
Official State/Observances/Historical 
 AB180  Designates Engine No. 40 of the Nevada Northern Railway as an official state 
 locomotive of the State of Nevada. 
 Page 99 
 
 AB301  Requires the Governor to proclaim March 31 as “Cesar Chavez Day” in the State 
 of Nevada. 
 Page 99 
 
 SB166  Designates the official state insect of Nevada. 
 Page 99 
 
 SB256  Designates an area on the grounds of Northern Nevada Adult Mental Health 
 Services as a historic cemetery. 
 Pages 99 and 100 
 
Pardons Board 
 SJR1  Proposes to amend the Nevada Constitution to replace the State Board of Pardons 
 Commissioners with the Clemency Board and to require the Legislature to provide for the 
 organization and duties of the Clemency Board. 
 Pages 141 and 142 
 
Partnerships/Corporations/Resident Agents 
 SB335  Revises provisions regarding regulation of accountants. 
 Page 13 
 
 SB350  Makes various changes relating to business. 
 Pages 13 and 14 
 
PERS 
 SB174  Exempts certain retired public employees who are serving as volunteer 
 firefighters from certain consequences of reemployment with a public employer. 
 Pages 116 and 117 
 
Planning/Zoning 
 AB294  Directs the Legislative Commission to conduct an interim study concerning 
 group homes. 
 Page 129 
  
 AB304  Makes various changes relating to the preservation and improvement of existing 
 neighborhoods. 
 Page 129 
 
Power of Attorney 
 SB314  Adopts the Uniform Power of Attorney Act. 
 Pages 12 and 13 
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Prescription Drugs 
 AB236  Revises provisions governing grants of money for water conservation and capital 
 improvements to certain water systems. 
 Page 131 
 
 AB370  Makes various changes to provisions governing pharmacies. 
 Pages 131 and 132 
  
 AB538  Transfers the program for the medical use of marijuana from the State 
 Department of Agriculture to the Health Division of the Department of Health and 
 Human Services. 
 Page 132 
 
Primary Date 
 SB162   Revises the date of the primary election and provisions governing voter 
 registration by mail. 
 Page 61 
 
Procedure (Criminal) 
 AB250  Revises provisions relating to certain affidavits or declarations of experts. 
 Page 26 
 
 AB499  Revises provisions relating to discovery in criminal proceedings. 
 Page 27 
 
 SB34  Makes certain changes concerning the use of court reporters in certain court 
 proceedings. 
 Page 27 
 
 SB35  Revises provisions relating to the prosecution of certain offenses. 
 Page 28 
 
 SB45  Revises provisions relating to certain criminal cases involving older persons and 
 vulnerable persons. 
 Page 28 
 
 SB84  Authorizes cities to create departments of alternative sentencing. 
 Pages 28 and 29 
 
Public Nusiance/Gangs 
 AB335  Makes various changes relating to nuisances and criminal gangs. 
 Pages 29 and 30 
 
 AB353  Makes various changes concerning certain crimes related to property. 
 Pages 30 and 31 
 
 SB142  Establishes the crime of criminal gang recruitment. 
 Page 31 
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Retirement/PERS/JRS 
 AB92  Revises the provisions governing the benefits of a retired justice or judge. 
 Page 85 
 
 AB488  Revises provisions governing the employment of retired public employees. 
 Page 86 
 
 SB41  Makes various changes to provisions relating to public retirement systems. 
 Page 87 
 
 SB103  Revises provisions relating to the Public Employees' Benefits Program. 
 Pages 87, 88, and 89 
 
 SB415  Establishes for the next biennium the amount to be paid to the Public Employees' 
 Benefits Program for group insurance for certain active and retired public officers and 
 employees. 
 Page 89 
 
 SB427  Revises provisions governing public employees. 
 Pages 89, 90, and 91 
 
Rural/Government/Government Relations 
 AB54  Authorizes certain counties to establish programs to provide financial assistance to 
 certain persons. 
 Page 105 
 
 AB96  Clarifies eligibility for and the administration of Millennium Scholarships for 
 students who are enrolled in more than one eligible institution. 
 Page 105 
 
 AB97  Requires the establishment of procedures for transferring governmental functions 
 between and among local governments and state agencies. 
 Page 106 
 
 AB192  Revises provisions governing certain performance contracts for operating cost-
 savings measures. 
 Page 106 
 
 AB225  Revises certain provisions relating to county fire departments. 
 Pages 106 and 107 
  
 AB329  Provides funding for recreational facilities in certain smaller counties. 
 Page 109 
 
 AB415  Makes various changes concerning the organization of county offices in certain 
 smaller counties. 
 Page 107 
 
 AB463  Restricts a department, division or other agency of this State from employing a 
 person as a consultant. 
 Page 108 
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 AB510  Revises various provisions governing the Public Utilities Commission of 
 Nevada. 
 Page 108 
 
 SB59  Revises provisions governing telephone systems used for reporting emergencies in 
 certain counties. 
 Pages 108 and 109 
 
 SB144  Enacts provisions governing public safety bomb squads. 
 Page 109 
 
 SB147  Establishes provisions governing broadcasters during emergencies. 
 Pages 109 and 110 
 
 SB186  Provides for the issuance of permits for the operation of facilities for the 
 management of waste tires. 
 Pages 110 and 111 
  
 
 SB304  Revises provisions relating to tests for certain communicable diseases. 
 Page 111 
 
School Crime 
 AB56  Revises provisions governing pupils with disabilities. 
 Pages 31 and 32 
 
 AB154  Revises provisions governing the policies of school districts relating to criminal 
 gang activity. 
 Page 32 
 
 SB163  Revises provisions governing safe and respectful learning environments in public 
 schools to prohibit bullying and cyber-bullying. 
 Page 32 
 
Schools 
 AB100  Revises provisions governing education. 
 Pages 114 and 115 
 
 AB191  Revises provisions governing certain examinations of the height and weight of 
 pupils. 
 Page 115 
 
 SB77  Provides for the establishment of programs of teen mentoring in public high 
 schools. 
 Page 115 
 
 SB209  Revises provisions governing the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship 
 Program. 
 Pages 115 and 117 
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Sentencing/Parole/Probation/Post-Conviction 
 AB105  Makes various changes concerning genetic marker testing of certain criminal 
 defendants. 
 Pages 33 and 34 
 
 AB117  Makes various changes relating to parole hearings. 
 Page 34 
 
 AB168  Revises sentencing provisions relating to certain convicted persons who provide 
 substantial assistance in the investigation or prosecution of other offenses. 
 Pages 34 and 35 
 
 AB179  Revises provisions governing post-conviction genetic marker analysis. 
 Page 35 
 
 AB239  Revises provisions relating to habitual criminals. 
 Page 36 
 
 AB259  Makes various changes relating to criminal offenders. 
 Pages 36 and 37 
 
 AB264  Revises provisions relating to defendants who are incompetent. 
 Pages 37 and 38 
 
 AB279  Requires the preservation of certain biological evidence under certain 
 circumstances. 
 Page 38 
 
 AB474  Revises parole eligibility for certain offenders. 
 Page 39  
 
 SB44  Designates certain employees of the Department of Corrections as category II 
 peace officers. 
 Page 39 
 
 SB236  Revises provisions relating to certain programs for persons released from 
 incarceration. 
 Page 40 
 
 SB238  Revises certain provisions relating to the restoration of civil rights for certain 
 criminal offenders. 
 Pages 40 and 41 
 
Sex Offenses/Prostitution/TPO 
 AB88  Makes various changes relating to child pornography. 
 Page 41 
 
 AB120  Makes changes concerning orders for protection of victims of sexual assault. 
 Pages 41 and 42 
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 AB238  Increases the penalty for soliciting a child for prostitution. 
 Page 42 
 
 AB309  Revises provisions relating to crimes. 
 Page 43  
 
 AB325  Revises provisions relating to sex offenders. 
 Page 43 
 
 AB380  Makes various changes relating to the sexual exploitation of children. 
 Page 44 
 
Specialty Courts 
 AB47  Revises provisions relating to specialty courts. 
 Pages 132 and 133 
 
 AB102  Revises provisions governing problem gambling. 
 Page 133 
  
 AB187  Authorizes the establishment by district courts of a program for the treatment of 
 certain offenders who are veterans or members of the military. 
 Page 134 
 
Studies 
 SB278  Requiring the Legislative Committee on Health Care to study certain issues 
 concerning the provision of health care. 
 Page 142 
 
Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice 
 SB113  Makes various changes relating to the Advisory Commission on the 
 Administration of Justice. 
 Page 95 
 
Traffic/DMV/Motor Vehicles/DUI 
 AB25  Revises provisions governing examinations of applicants for a Nevada driver's 
 license. 
 Page 44 
 AB109  Revises provisions governing special license plates. 
 Pages 44 and 45 
 
 AB163  Authorizes certain governmental entities to adopt regulations or ordinances to 
 allow certain low emission and energy-efficient vehicles to be operated in designated 
 lanes. 
 Page 45 
 
 AB169  Makes various changes concerning the regulation of motor carriers. 
 Page 46 
 
 AB209  Revises provisions governing the attendance of certain offenders at meetings of 
 panels of victims of crimes relating to driving under the influence. 
 Page 46 
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 AB247  Revises provisions governing the operation of bicycles. 
 Page 46 
 
 AB296  Revises provisions governing certain nonprofit carriers of elderly persons or 
 persons with disabilities. 
 Page 46 
 
 AB333  Revises certain provisions relating to motor vehicles. 
 Page 47 
 
 AB372  Makes various changes concerning registration of commercial motor vehicles. 
 Pages 47 and 48 
 
 AB407  Increases the fee for reinstatement of a driver's license or commercial driver's 
 license. 
 Page 48 
 
 AB412  Makes certain changes concerning the towing of occupied vehicles. 
 Page 48 
 
 AB417  Revises provisions governing the operation of vehicles. 
 Page 48 
 
 AB441  Revises provisions governing transportation. 
 Page 48 
 
 AB475  Makes various changes concerning the revision of statutes. 
 Pages 49 and 50 
 
 SB100  Revises the provisions governing the period of revocation of a driver's license 
 upon conviction of certain offenses involving driving under the influence. 
 Page 50 
 
 SB134  Revises provisions concerning the increased penalty imposed for certain traffic 
 violations occurring in work zones. 
 Page 51 
 SB199  Revises provisions governing the weighing of farm vehicles for purposes of 
 vehicle registration. 
 Page 51 
 
 SB217  Enacts provisions relating to the Department of Motor Vehicles and registration 
 under the federal Military Selective Service Act. 
 Pages 51 and 52 
 
 SB240  Provides for the evaluation and establishment of the maximum speed on certain 
 portions of State Route 159. 
 Page 52 
 
 SB243  Requires local law enforcement agencies to enforce certain state laws. 
 Page 52 
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 SB251  Revises certain provisions governing vehicles. 
 Page 53 
 
 SB360  Revises provisions governing the sale and title of salvage vehicles. 
 Page 54 
 
 SB394  Makes various changes to provisions relating to off-highway vehicles. 
 Pages 54 and 55 
 
Treatment/DCFS 
 AB364  Makes various changes concerning the protection of children. 
 Pages 96 and 97 
 
Victim Compensation 
 AB114  Makes changes concerning compensation to victims of crime. 
 Page 135 
 
 AB116  Revises provisions concerning compensation for victims of crime. 
 Pages 135 and 136 
 
 AB283  Revises provisions governing the payment of compensation to certain victims of 
 crime. 
 Pages 136 
 
Victim Notification 
 AB61  Requires notification of certain victims of crime of the discharge, conditional 
 release or escape of certain persons from the custody of the Administrator of the Division 
 of Mental Health and Developmental Services of the Department of Health and Human 
 Services. 
 136 and 137 
 
Wildlife/Hunting/Fishing 
 AB194 Makes various changes to provisions governing master guides and subguides. 
 Pages 55 and 56 
 
 AB246  Makes various changes relating to hunting. 
 Pages 56 and 57 
 
Wills/Probate 
 SB141  Enacts the Uniform International Wills Act. 
 Page 75 
 
 SB277  Revises various provisions relating to estates. 
 Pages 76 and 77 
 
Worker’s Comp./Unemployment/Employment/Insurance 
 AB243  Requires certain employers to grant leave to parents, guardians and custodians of 
 children to participate in certain school activities. 
 Pages 8 and 9 
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 AB281  Makes various changes concerning workers' compensation.     
 Pages 9 and 10 
 
 AB338  Authorizes a program to provide grants to nonprofit private entities concerning 
 small business start-ups for veterans and senior citizens. 
 Page 10 
 
 AB410  Makes various changes concerning workers' compensation. 
 Page 10 
 
 SB426  Revises provisions relating to insurance. 
 Pages 10 and 11 
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