IN TH	E JUSTICE COURT OF	TOWNSHIP
IN AN	D FOR THE COUNTY OF	, STATE OF NEVADA
Name: Address:		
Phone:	Landlord/Plaintiff	
VS.		CASE NO:
Name: Address:		DEPT. NO:
Phone:	Tenant/Defendant	
	TENANT'S AFFIDAVI (Other than Nonpayment of	
The undersi	gned tenant states that:	
1.	I am a tenant of a certain re	ntal unit within County, Nevada.
2.		the above named landlord on or about th rent due monthly or for a shorter period of
	time.	
	1 of 6 on (Other than Nonpayment of	
Rent, Private Ho Form #16	using)	©2006 Nevada Supreme Court Revised: April 14, 2006

3.	On the	, day of, 20, I received a:
	A.	30-day No-Cause Termination Notice to Vacate - NRS
		40.251(1)(b).
	B.	7-day No-Cause Termination Notice to Vacate - NRS
		40.251(1)(a)
	C.	5-day Notice of Termination for Violation of Lease or Rental
		Agreement – NRS 40.2516.
	D.	3-day Notice of Termination and Notice to Vacate for Wrongful
		Assignment or Subleasing, Waste, Unlawful Business,
		nuisance or Violations of Controlled Substances Laws - NRS
		40.2514.
4.	I have a	written rental agreement which allows me to stay until
		, 20
5.	The notice	which I received did not provide me with the statutorily required
	number of o	days as specified below:
	A.	30 days
	B.	7 days
	C.	5 days
	D.	3 days
6.	I have rece	ived a 5-day notice alleging a breach of my lease and I
	A.	did not breach it, or
	B.	did not receive notice of my right to cure the alleged breach
		within 3 days under NRS 40.2516, or
	C.	did not receive notice of my right to cure the alleged breach
		within 5 days under NRS 118A.430, or
	D.	have cured, or used my best efforts to cure, the alleged breach
Apartment		2 of 6
Tenant Affidavit/Declarati	ion (Other than Non	payment of
, unuavir, Decial all	ion (Outor man NOH)	aymont of

Tenant
Affidavit/Declaration (Other than Nonpayment of Rent, Private Housing)
Form #16

		within days after receiving the notice, or		
	E.	did not receive a subsequent 5-day notice called an unlawful		
		detainer notice.		
7.	Even though	n the terms of my original tenancy expired on,		
	20, the	landlord has renewed my tenancy by either accepting rent for a		
	new rental p	period and/or entering into a new rental agreement.		
8.	I have recei	ved a 3-day notice alleging that I have illegally subleased the		
	rental unit, o	carried on an unlawful business or created a nuisance and I deny		
	those allega	itions.		
9.	I have recei	ived a 3-day notice pursuant to NRS 40.255 alleging that the		
	rental unit ha	as been foreclosed upon or sold. Summary eviction proceedings		
	cannot be ut	ilized following these notices. NRS 40.255 requires the landlord		
	to proceed u	under NRS 40.290 - NRS 40.420 (formal unlawful detainer). This		
	action shoul	d be dismissed.		
10.	This action i	s brought in violation of the Federal Fair Housing Act or Nevada		
	laws forbidd	ing discrimination in housing, which provides me with a defense		
	under NRS	under NRS Chapter 118.115.		
11.	I received a	30-day notice to vacate and am a tenant who is 60 years of age		
	or older or w	ho has a physical or mental disability. The Notice failed to notify		
	me of my right to request to be allowed to continue in possession for an			
	additional 30 days as required by NRS 40.251(3).			
12.	The landlor	d issued the Notice as a retaliatory action in violation of NRS		
	118A.510 fc	or my:		
	A.	having complained of a health or safety violation to a		
		government agency.		
	B.	having complained to the landlord of a violation of the Nevada		
Apartment Tenant		3 of 6		
	ion (Other than Nonpousing)	ayment of		

Form #16

	Landlord Tenant Act.	
C.	organizing a tenants' union.	
D.	having complained to the landlord of a violation of a statute	
	imposing a criminal penalty, i.e.,(specify)	
	<u> </u>	
E.	having complained to a law enforcement agency of a violation	
	of the Nevada Landlord Tenant Act.	
F.	having complained to a law enforcement agency of a violation	
	of a statute imposing a criminal penalty, i.e., (specify)	
G.	having instituted or defended against a judicial administrative	
	proceeding or arbitration in which I raised an issue of	
	compliance with the legal requirements respecting the	
	habitability of dwelling units.	
H.	having complained in good faith of a violation of the Federal	
	Fair Housing Act or Nevada laws forbidding discrimination in	
	housing to (specify):	
	1. the landlord	
	2. a government agency	
	3. a fair housing agency	
	4. an attorney	
	5. an appropriate body	
	4 of 6	

Apartment
Tenant
Affidavit/Declaration (Other than Nonpayment of Rent, Private Housing)
Form #16

13.	I. having exercised rights which are guaranteed or protected under the Federal Fair Housing Act or Nevada laws forbidding discrimination in housing. Other (explain):		
•	WHEREFORE, the Tenant/Defendant prays for a hearing in this court NRS Chapter 40, and that this matter be dismissed at the hearing because I a legal defense to the alleged unlawful detainer Request for a Stay. In the alternative, if the court concludes that I have not raised a legal defense, I request a stay of execution under the authority of NRS 70.010(2) of days (up to 10) in order to move. I need the additional time because		

I swear the above is true. Sign	nature:
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to	o before me this day of,
20	
NOTARY PUBLIC	
OR DEPUTY CLERK	
	OR THE FOLLOWING:
Pursuant to NRS 53.045:	
"I declare under penalty of per foregoing is true and correct."	jury under the law of the State of Nevada that the
Executed on,	20
Signature	
Print Name	
Apartment Tenant Affidavit/Declaration (Other than Nonpayment Rent, Private Housing)	6 of 6
Form #16	©2006 Nevada Supreme (