## RULE 3D. JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE: RIGHT TO APPEAL; HOW TAKEN; RULES GOVERNING

- (a) Appealable Decisions. Any Supreme Court justice, Court of Appeals judge, district judge, justice of the peace, or municipal court judge or referee, master, commissioner, or other judicial officer ("Judicial Officer") who is the subject of any disciplinary or removal proceedings instituted before the Commission on Judicial Discipline ("Commission") may appeal to the Supreme Court:
- (1) From an order of suspension from the exercise of office under NRS 1.4675.
- (2) From an order of censure, removal, retirement, or other form of discipline.
- (b) Notice of Appeal. An appeal to the Supreme Court from a Commission order must be taken by filing a notice of appeal with the clerk of the Commission and serving a copy of the notice on the prosecuting counsel, if any. Filing and service of the notice of appeal must be made within 30 days after service on the Judicial Officer of the Commission's formal order of suspension, censure, removal, retirement, or other discipline, together with its formal findings of fact and conclusions of law. Upon the filing of the notice of appeal, the clerk of the Commission must immediately transmit to the clerk of the Supreme Court a file-stamped copy of the notice of appeal.
- **(c) Applicable Rules.** An appeal from a Commission order will proceed in the same manner as a civil appeal except that:
- (1) the provisions of Rule 4(f) for expediting criminal appeals will apply to all appeals from orders or actions taken by the Commission.
- (2) any request for all or part of a transcript must be made in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Commission.

Other provisions in the Nevada Rules of Appellate Procedure apply to appeals from a Commission order, unless this Rule expressly provides to the contrary or application of a particular rule is clearly impracticable, inappropriate, or inconsistent. All references to the district court in applicable portions of the Nevada Rules of Appellate Procedure must be deemed references to the Commission.

(d) Interlocutory Orders. Review of interlocutory orders of the Commission, which are considered either by the Judicial Officer or the Commission's prosecuting officer to be without or in excess of jurisdiction, may be sought by way of petition for an appropriate extraordinary writ pursuant to Rule 21.

## **COMMENT**

The amendments to this Rule are intended to be stylistic only, with the exception of subsection (b), which changes the Rule to only require one file-stamped copy. The Procedural Rules of the Nevada Commission on Judicial Discipline Commission, which were amended in 2018, are available at <a href="https://judicial.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/judicialnvgov/content/Discipline/Rules/June 2018 Revised Procedural Rules of the NCJD FINAL.pdf">https://judicial.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/judicialnvgov/content/Discipline/Rules/June 2018 Revised Procedural Rules of the NCJD FINAL.pdf</a>. Notably, the Commission's procedural rules provide a 15-day timeline to appeal, whereas this Rule provides a 30-day window. We recommend either a change to this Rule or the Commission's rules to ensure both deadlines are the same.