• Goldfield Court House
  • Lyon County Court House
  • Pershing District Court
  • Lincoln County Court House
  • Humboldt County Court House
  • Eureka District Court
  • Eureka Justice Court
  • Alamo Justice Court
  • Elko County Court House
  • Las Vegas Regional Justice Center

Judicial Branch Legislation

During the 2019 Legislative session members of the judiciary will be able to monitor proposed legislation that will impact the judiciary by going to 2019 Legislative Tracking.  This website requires a username and password.  Please contact Vicki Elefante, elefante@nvcourts.nv.gov to obtain the username and password.  This website will allow you access to a report of all the bills that the judiciary is tracking.  The report will be updated several times a day and will provide you the latest information on the bills we are tracking. 


The Legislation and Rules Committee is a standing committee of the Judicial Council of the State of Nevada.  The Committee is responsible for developing a coordinated strategy before and during legislative sessions; propose and review legislation affecting the judiciary as well as review and analyze proposed legislation submitted by the judiciary, executive branch, and local governments and other entities. 

The committee consists of 14 members seven (7) members who are members of the JCSN, included in those seven (7) members shall be the chief justice, two district court judges, two limited jurisdiction judges, and two court administrators.  The Presidents of the Nevada District Judges Association and the Nevada Judges of Limited Jurisdiction Association or their designees and the State Court Administrator shall be ex-officio members.  The remaining members of the Committee shall be selected from the courts at-large insuring appropriate representation from rural and urban courts and limited and general jurisdiction courts. 

Per Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 218D the Supreme Court may request the drafting of not more than 10 legislative measures including measures from the Commission on Judicial Discipline.  Before submitting the measures they must be approved by the Supreme Court on behalf of the Judicial Department. 

The 10 measures submitted by the Supreme Court for the 2019 Legislation Session are:

  • AB9 - Revises provisions governing justice courts.  (BDR 6-491)
  • AB14 - Revises provisions governing court orders for protection when certain children are involved.  (BDR 5-499)
  • AB17 - Revises provisions governing bail in criminal cases.  (BDR 14-495)
  • AB20 - Revises provisions governing judicial discipline.  (BDR 1-494)
  • AB43 - Increases the number of district judges in certain judicial districts  (BDR 1-498)
  • AB46 - Increases annual base salaries for certain justices and judges.  (BDR 1-500)
  • SB5 - Revises provisions relating to court rules of practice and procedure.  (BDR 1-496)
  • SB6 - Makes various changes relating to courts.  (BDR 1-497)
  • SB20 - Revises provisions relating to guardianships.  (BDR 13-493)
  • SB74 - Revises provisions governing eviction actions.  (BDR 3-492)