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SCOPE REQUIRED TRAINING TIME TO FULLFILL REQUIRED TRAINING STATUTE OR ORDER 
Supreme Court Justice 
and Court of Appeals 
Judge 

National Judicial College (NJC) 
ethics course with substantial 
content based on the American 
Bar Association’s Model Code 
of Judicial Conduct or the 
Nevada Code of Judicial 
Conduct* 

Within 24 months of election or appointment. This 
does not apply to individuals who hold one of the 
enumerated judicial offices at the time of the original 
order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12/8/99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

District Court Judge – 
General Jurisdiction Only 

NJC “General Jurisdiction” 
course (2-week course) 

Within 12 months after taking office. NRS 3.027, Section 1,(a) 

 NJC ethics course with 
substantial content based on the 
American Bar Association’s 
Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct or the Nevada Code of 
Judicial Conduct* 

Within 24 months of election or appointment. This 
does not apply to individuals who hold one of the 
enumerated judicial offices at the time of the original 
order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12/8/99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

Family Court Judge 
(Second & Eighth Judicial 
District) 

National Council of Juvenile 
and Family Court Judges 
(NCJFCJ) “Institute for New 
Juvenile & Family Court 
Judges”  (4.5 days) 

Within 12 months after taking office. NRS 3.028, Section 11. 

 NJC “General Jurisdiction” 
Course (2-week course) 

Within 24 months after taking office. NRS 3.027, Section 1.(b) 

 NJC ethics course with 
substantial content based on the 
American Bar Association’s 
Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct or the Nevada Code of 
Judicial Conduct* 

Within 24 months of election or appointment. This 
does not apply to individuals who hold one of the 
enumerated judicial offices at the time of the original 
order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12/8/99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

District Court Judge with 
concurrent 
General/Family 
Jurisdiction  
(all District Court Judges 
outside Second & Eighth 
Judicial Districts) 

NJC “General Jurisdiction” 
course (2-week course) 

Within 12 months after taking office. NRS 3.027, Section 1.(a) 
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 NCJFCJ “Institute for New 

Juvenile and Family Court 
Judges” course (4.5 days) 

Within 24 months after taking office. NRS 3.028, Section 2. 

 NJC ethics course with 
substantial content based on the 
American Bar Association’s 
Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct or the Nevada Code of 
Judicial Conduct* 

Within 24 months of election or appointment. This 
does not apply to individuals who hold one of the 
enumerated judicial offices at the time of the original 
order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12/8/99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

Justice of the Peace NJC “Special Court 
Jurisdiction” for non-law 
trained judges; or, NJC “Special 
Court Jurisdiction: Advanced” 
for law-trained judges (2-week 
course) 

Must attend first offering after election or appointment 
or seek deferral. Failure to attend, or failure to obtain a 
written order from a district court judge in and for the 
county to defer taking the course, will result in 
forfeiture of office, pursuant to NRS 4.036. 

NRS 4.035, Section 1.; NRS 
4.036 

 NJC ethics course with 
substantial content based on the 
American Bar Association’s 
Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct or the Nevada Code of 
Judicial Conduct* 

Within 24 month of election or appointment. This does 
not apply to individuals who hold one of the 
enumerated judicial offices at the time of the original 
order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12/8/99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

Municipal Court Judge NJC “Special Court 
Jurisdiction” course (for non-
law trained judges); or, NJC 
“Special Court Jurisdiction: 
Advanced” course (for law-
trained judges) (2-week course) 

Must attend first offering after election and/or 
appointment or seek a deferral. Failure to attend, or 
failure to obtain a written order from a district court 
judge in and for the county to defer taking the course, 
will result in forfeiture of office, pursuant to NRS 
5.026. 

NRS 5.025 and 5.026 

 NJC ethics course with 
substantial content based on the 
American Bar Association’s 
Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct or the Nevada Code of 
Judicial Conduct* 

Within 24 months. This does not apply to individuals 
who hold one of the enumerated judicial offices at the 
time of the original order, dated 10/2/97. 

S.C. Order filed 10/2/97; 
S.C. Order filed 12//99; 
S.C. Order filed 07/20/18 

Juvenile Court Referee 
and/or Master 

NCJFCJ “Institute for New 
Juvenile and Family Court 
Judges” (4.5 days) 

First occasion when such instruction is offered after 
appointment. The cost for training as a juvenile master 
is paid for by the county, not by AOC, pursuant to NRS 
62B.100. 

NRS 62B.020 
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All District Court Judges, 
Justices of the Peace, and 
Municipal Court Judges 

13 hours of continuing legal 
education, including at least 
two hours of ethics, and one 
hour exclusively in the area of 
substance abuse, addictive 
disorders, and/or mental health 
issues that impair professional 
competence. 

Annually S.C. Rule 210 (law-trained 
judges) 
Judicial Education Policies, 
Section V. B.1. 

 At least one NJC, NCJFCJ or 
AOC-sponsored course. 

Every 4 years. Judicial Education Policies, 
Section V. B.2. 

All District Court Judges, 
Justices of the Peace, 
Municipal Court Judges, 
and Domestic relations 
Masters 

Continuing judicial education 
on the causes, effects, and 
dynamics of domestic violence. 

Continuing S.C. Order filed 08/17/06 

 
*Or alternative course as described in ADKT 251, filed July 20, 2018 
 


