Nevada Judiciary | Nevada Appellate Courts | Law Library | State of Nevada | Contact
  • Goldfield Court House
  • Lyon County Court House
  • Pershing District Court
  • Lincoln County Court House
  • Humboldt County Court House
  • Eureka District Court
  • Eureka Justice Court
  • Alamo Justice Court
  • Elko County Court House
  • Las Vegas Regional Justice Center

Overview of the Commission on Statewide Rules of Criminal Procedure

The Nevada Supreme Court convened the Commission on Statewide Rules of Criminal Procedure in early 2015 to address a lack of uniformity of criminal procedure rules across the state. Commission membership is comprised of experienced legal professionals and members of the Nevada judiciary; the Commission is focused on examining key, criminal procedure concerns and making recommendations for improvement on a statewide level.

On October 15, 2020, after numerous meetings, extensive research, and thorough review and discussion, the Commission filed its final report and recommendations, including Proposed Rules of Criminal Practice for the District Courts of the State of Nevada. The Nevada Supreme Court sought comment on the proposed rules from the bench, bar, and public on December 2, 2020. The Nevada Supreme Court adopted the Statewide Rules of Criminal Practice on December 29, 2020 and ordered that the Commission on Statewide Rules of Criminal Procedure remain convened to address any impacts of the rule changes that may require future consideration and/or action. 

Justice Lidia Stiglich and Justice Abbi Silver assumed co-chairmanship of the Commission in February of 2021.

Contact Information:

Jamie Gradick
Administrative Office of the Courts
201 S. Carson Street, Suite 250
Carson City NV 89701-4702
Phone: (775) 687-9808
Fax: (775) 687-9850