Nevada Judiciary | Nevada Appellate Courts | State of Nevada | Administrative Office | Contact
 
Statuses

Law Library Policies

Behavior in the Law Library

The law library is intended for the use of those doing legal research. Users are expected to respect the rights of others who require a quiet environment in which to research and write.

1. Users who, by their behavior, persist in harassing or annoying patrons or staff and thereby disrupt their ability to concentrate on research or perform their duties will be given one warning regarding the specific behavior. Upon a second occurrence, the offender will be required to leave the library for the remainder of the day. Upon a third occurrence, the offender will lose library privileges and must successfully petition the Court to regain access. Petition is by letter to the chief justice, with copies to all justices and the law librarian.

Behavior which is considered disruptive to the normal use of the library is similar to the following:

  • Sexual harassment (unsolicited words, gestures or other unwelcome contact that has sexual overtones).
  • Loud outbursts of speech or laughter, talking or singing to oneself.
  • Belligerent or threatening behavior towards staff or other users.
  • Repetitive noise making, such as tapping a pencil on the table, rapping fingers or knuckles.
  • Repeatedly slamming books down hard or slapping the covers shut repetitively.
  • Persistent staring at another person.
  • Following another person about the library or persistently asking another person questions.
  • Playing of audio equipment.
  • Other untypical behavior which could reasonably be expected to disturb other users or interfere with the library employee's performance of their duties.

2. Users whose bodily hygiene is so offensive as to constitute a nuisance to other persons shall be required to leave the building for the remainder of the day.

3. Users shall be engaged in normal activities associated with the use of a public library. Persons not engaged in reading, studying, or other use of library materials, or persons sleeping, will be required to leave the library for the remainder of the day.

4. Bathing is not permitted in the restrooms. A person using the restrooms for more than ordinary hand or face washing will be given a warning on the first offense, required to leave the library for the remainder of the day upon the second, and will lose library privileges and must successfully petition the court to regain access upon the third offense. Petition is by letter to the chief justice, with copies to all justices and the law librarian.

5. All wheeled devices (bicycles, shopping carts, handcarts) except those required by the disabled shall be left in the west foyer or outside, and may not obstruct the traffic entering or exiting.

6. No animals are allowed in the building except service animals with a vest or proper paperwork.

Use of Computers, Copiers, and Printers in the Law Library

There are two computers available for public access to the Internet. Word processing is not available on these computers.

There are four computers available for legal research. These computers are dedicated to the online services which the Law Library makes available to the public.

A copy machine is available for public use. It is coin-operated and has a bill changer. The cost is 10 cents per copy page.

Library patrons may print from each of the public access computers. The cost is 10 cents per printed page. Payment is due at the time printouts are collected.

Room Use

The law library has rooms that can be scheduled by nonprofit groups and attorneys for small group meetings such as mediation or settlement conferences. Rooms can be scheduled for times between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Please call (775) 684-1640 to schedule.

Fees and Other Charges

The library charges for photocopies, laser prints, and telefacsimile services (sending of library materials only), as well as for replacement costs of lost or damaged books. Users must reimburse the law library within thirty days of receipt of written notice of charges incurred. After thirty days, use of services for which there is a charge will be withheld until full payment has been made. If the charge is for a lost or damaged book, no additional books may be checked out until payment has been made. Users who fail to reimburse the library may be subject to additional penalties as provided by law.